We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal but slow”
Review of The Museum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Museum Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal but slow”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Went for meal day before Good Friday. Staff all very friendly and welcoming. Food expensive but very nice.

Food took long time to arrive but they did not appear busy

Did not stay overnight so rooms not reviewed

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    62
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
44
117
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was a business trip and the guys at the museum inn were great...rooms were very clean and pleasant.
Food was excellent , with some lovely local elements ...local asparagus ...dorset apple cake with the cheese...delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthT340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I cannot praise the hotel itself enough, a lovely place with the friendly helpful staff and service second to none. The rooms are very good, comfortable and contain all your needs and the whole place is welcoming. It has a good bar area. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and enough for the hungriest of people. A little off the main through roads but in a superb village setting with places to stroll. WiFi is problematical and mobile phone reception is poor to none existent in places. Nevertheless a joy to stay!

We stayed on a B & B basis but decided to stop there for dinner although in truth, there are no alternatives in the near vicinity. It was a big disappointment I am afraid. The food on offer was nothing more than pub food really and priced very high, far too high for the portion sizes and not very well cooked at that. It was just about acceptable. All the side dishes were at £3.00 per portion but were minuscule. I do not mind paying for good food of adequate portion but we felt just a little “stung”. We stayed at other Hotel/pubs around the county and found them much better value for money with superior food. They really are stingy portions.I would stop here again if the food/value improved.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJA950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Judging by quite a few of the other recent reviews, either we went to a different place or The Museum was having a very bad day!

I had lunch here last week with 2 friends and we were all looking forward to it as we hadn't been for a couple of years. We were offered a drink at the bar then shown through to our table by a friendly waitress. I had scallops with chorizo and pea puree to start followed by the fillet of salmon. My friends both had soup then sirloin steak. Starters came out and were good, although perhaps only 3 scollops is a touch stingy (especially at a cost of £9.95).

Main courses arrived and my salmon was still completely raw inside, I promptly asked the waiter to kindly get it re-cooked. When the new one came it was better but still on the undercooked side. Now i am no Gordon Ramsey but even I can cook a fillet of salmon! How did the 'chef' let it leave the kitchen pretty much raw?! Both my friends ordered their steaks medium rare and both actually came more well done than medium..

We quickly came to the decision that we should have eaten elsewhere. When you're paying £18 for a salmon fillet and £27.95 for a sirloin steak it really needs to be done properly. Sorry The Museum, simply no where near good enough......

Incidentally, there were a couple on a table next to us and we overheard the waiter apologising to them as they had completely forgotten their order.

We will all certainly be leaving it another 2 years or so before we return....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaylou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finchampstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The food was very good and the restaurant was fantastically decorated. Does need a bit of work on the service sadly however I am sure it will get back to scratch very soon. Lovely room but a little noisy above the pub.
Great breakfast. Lovely location with good walks and a picturesque church. Worth a visit! Clearly very popular with the locals

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It was our 3rd year anniversary so couldn't afford much but wanted to celebrate it. My husband found this little retreat and it was lovely. The evening meal was delicious, lovely country style atmosphere in the pub area, we stayed in 'The Catch' room, which was very clean, huge bathroom, again a lovely country feel. The sunday lunch was the best, huge portions and the beef was delicious. Friendly and relaxed staff, good value for money made our night away one to remember!! will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had heard about the Museum Inn through recommendations and, looking for an Anniversary treat, the Inn certainly lived up to our expectations. On our arrival, the atmosphere was very welcoming and dinner that evening was superb, both in quality and quantity, with excellent service throughout. Our well appointed room was spotlessly clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable. The cooked breakfast was delicious, the quality of the ingredients plain to taste, and again served with friendly conversation.

Whilst this was only a short stay, the Inn could not be faulted. We have stayed in a number of quality venues and this would come highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKPJP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
4.0 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
297 reviews
24.7 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
902 reviews
17.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
196 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cashmoor Inn
Cashmoor Inn
#2 of 3 in Sixpenny Handley
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Museum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Museum Inn

Property: The Museum Inn
Address: High Street, Farnham DT11 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Museum Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Inn is a superb 17th Century country inn situated in the delightful village of Farnham, Dorset, on the glorious Cranborne Chase, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a renowned countryside pursuit's destination. The pub has eight beautifully appointed double en-suite rooms, four in the pub itself and a further four in the old Stables. If you want to add an extra luxurious touch to your stay, choose our General's room which comes complete with floor-to-ceiling French windows, darkwood antique furnishings and a stunning four poster bed. Each of our bedrooms come with luxury Feather and Black bedding, flat screen digital television, direct dial telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, and tea & coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits. Our 2 Rosettes restaurant serves seasonal British food and you can expect that every plate on the Museum Inn menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With low ceilings, flag stone floors and a roaring log fire, the Museum bar has a cosy, traditional feel with a relaxing ambience that ensures a steady stream of local clientele. It offers a wide selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list. Salisbury and its cathedral are only a 30 minute drive away whilst the beautiful hillside town of Shaftesbury is only 20 minutes. The Museum Inn also sits 2 miles away of the historic Rushmore Park, an area of lawn and open woodland home to the Rushmore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Museum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Museum Hotel Farnham
The Museum Inn Farnham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing