We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Museum Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Langton Arms(Tarrant Monkton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
123
69
35
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
69
35
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsticky toffee puddingstable roompork bellyresidents loungelovely feelstable blockmain buildingpoached eggsnice roomlarge bathroomfollowing morningfull englishlovely locationstayed here for one nightcar parkfantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

An annual haunt for birthdays when in the UK.
Cannot fault service or menu, with a twist on food and delicious to boot!
Lemonade calamari.... My son wished his serving had been bigger!
Delicious Sunday roast and a vegetarian option, which was out of this world.
Too full for pudding, but we didn't let that get in the way of our eating it!
Will be back next year, for sure.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank JWandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, General Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your afternoon and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Country- double portion of squid on the cards!
With kind regards
All the team @ The Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice pub but to get a bill for over £20 for 2 sandwiches and 2 ginger beers is just daft-land-of-the-rip-off stuff that you don't expect in rural Dorset. OK the beef and horseradish sandwiches were great (I didn't need the chips) but thing that left a bad taste in the mouth was the service charge added just for someone to come and bring the sandwiches to us - not on. I know it can be hard to profitably run a pub in a comparatively isolated location but you won't get repeat business if you sting people on the first visit. We didn't stay as guests there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bridget G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, General Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and feedback.
All our sandwiches come on home made bread, filled with locally sourced produce and served with chips and salad garnish, all for £6.95. If we were to compromise on the quality perhaps we could reduce this slightly but quality is very important to us.
Having said that I am very disappointed that you were charged the Service charge for your lunch. Normal procedure is not to charge service charge to those customers coming to our pub to enjoy a nice drink or sandwich. I can only apologise as this was clearly an error.
We hope this has not deterred you from visiting us again.
From all the team @ The Museum Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Museum Inn is in a lovely location, in an idyllic Dorset thatched village and very quiet. My room (The General) was spectacular with a very comfortable bed and two balconies. The pub attached was always filled with happy regulars and well-to-do diners and all the meals I ate there were very tasty.

My gripes would be the prices. £16+ for mussels and chips is pretty steep for a country pub (or for a London pub for that matter). And I quailed at the prospect of spending £28 for an 8oz steak, however nice a cut of meat - without sides which came at extra cost. All my colleagues ate and were mostly satisfied with the quality but balked at the prices. (Apparently the Chicken Kiev was a bit bland and the room above the bar was very noisy until closing time).

The other little oddities are that there is no hot breakfast before 8am which seems odd in a b&b style hotel. And also that the staff seem to really struggle sorting out bills. Every evening seemed to be a new challenge.

Otherwise the staff were really pleasant and charming. It's not a pretentious place at all and everyone was very friendly.

There is no phone reception at all in Farnham - which is fine but it's something to note if you're there on business as we were.

Room Tip: DOn't get the room above the bar. The General is very luxurious.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair_on_the _Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, all your comments have been noted and appreciated.
We apologise that you felt our prices were inflated, this is because we pride ourselves on using only but the best local fresh produce and everything is home made. Although some dishes are perhaps on the higher end of the scale we have tried to balance the menu to ensure there are Main dishes available from as little as £9.95. It really does depend on the individual dish.

As we are a Pub with rooms we have a policy of asking our guests if they would like breakfast earlier than 8am and this can certainly be arranged. As this was a group booking and we were informed that on most days you would all need to leave very early this was not implemented. We do apologise though.

Regarding the mix up on the bills, this was totally out of our control as there was an internal error going on with the till systems which made it very difficult for the team during your stay.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and we promise a Full English Breakfast will be our first priority for you!

Kind Regards

All the team at The Museum Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having stayed at the Museum inn on a number of occasions both before it was bought out and now afterwards, I think I am on fare and mutual ground to be able to comment. And the comments arnt good if I may add.

Any sense of "ambiance" the place used to have has long gone, and so have the friendly pleasant staff. No wonder it was so quiet in the bar area the last two times I have visit.

Service dry and cold, food average (back to basics), and the venue now lacks its character and charm in my opinion. What a shame

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we apologise your stay was a disappointment.
We notice that you stayed in March 2014 when the Pub was faced with the unfortunate situation of having no Manager on site due to a temporary transition period.
Since June 2014 we are delighted to announce new Management coupled with friendly and helpful staff and a wonderful new menu crated by our new team of Chefs.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back where rest assured, you will not be faced with dry and cold service but a great British Pub filled with great atmosphere, great food and service.
Kind Regards
The team at The Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We booked last minute and had the Boot Room. Accommodation was clean and comfortable but for £130 a night I just don't think it was worth it. £80-90 would have been reasonable. Plus the noise from the pub comes up into the rooms so you can't sleep until all the guests in the pub have gone. Breakfast was great and we had dinner in the pub which was lovely. But the rooms just aren't worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceyForsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
Firstly, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast and thank you also for your valued comments regarding the bedrooms. Being a Pub with rooms can be difficult at times, especially with noise travelling from the Pub but we do try and respect our guests by calling last orders at 11pm.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and perhaps one of our lovely Stable rooms which are priced from £90 and located in the unique Stable block- away from the Hustle & Bustle of the Pub.
Regards from all the team at The Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews