We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Choice for a Surprise 50th Celebration!”
Review of The Museum Inn

The Museum Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Museum Inn is a superb 17th Century country inn situated in the delightful village of Farnham, Dorset, on the glorious Cranborne Chase, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a renowned countryside pursuit's destination. The 2 Rosettes restaurant serves seasonal British cuisine and you can expect that every plate on the Museum Inn menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With low ceilings, flag stone floors and a roaring log fire, the Museum bar has a cosy, traditional feel with a relaxing ambience that ensures a steady stream of local clientele. It offers a wide selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice for a Surprise 50th Celebration!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am so glad that we booked the large, private, function room (The Shed) at The Museum for 9 family members as part of my partner's surprise 50th weekend - we were not disappointed - first class! My partner had no idea where he was being taken to, in rural Dorset and as we arrived, he mentioned about The Museum Inn, so the surprise was 'thumbs up' from him!
The Shed offered a large, rustic-style oak, kitchen table, so there was plenty of room for 9 of us. Our docking station was allowed to be used, giving us background music. The room looked like it could have been a library, with wrought iron chandeliers and very rustic. We did not feel that we were 'cut off' from the rest of the restaurant, as the staff came into The Shed many times to check if everything was alright with the room, if we were ready to order, with no hurry if we had not decided, if we required any more drinks, to take our food orders, if our food was satisfactory. There are rooms available that are full of character, but I have entered this review as a restaurant.
The food was fabulous, with great combinations of flavours and the service was outstanding. My partner was very impressed with our choice for his second night of his 50th weekend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suesawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, General Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
I wanted to personally thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted you all enjoyed the evening- especially the Birthday Boy!
It was an absolute pleasure looking after you all and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,
With kind regards
Christina and all the Team at The Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    55
    33
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food..Great atmosphere and service...tell your friends!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We used to go the museum quite regularly but the food and service went downhill but we heard that it has turned over a new leaf due to new management and chef. We had been out sailing and wanted a relaxed meal on our way home so we thought we would give it another try. So glad we did. I commented to the new manager that the welcome we received from her was so warm and friendly and the food served complemented the excellent service. Nothing too much trouble and very attentive but not over the top. We had the sea bass special and lamb shin which was fantastic! I have already called all my friends to tell them to start going back again! We will be back- and very soon!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthonybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We, as a team, were delighted with your comments and thrilled that you enjoyed your experience especially after having been disappointed in the past.
We have been so fortunate that many of our past regular clients are choosing to come back and sample our new menu whilst enjoying the friendly atmosphere that all the team work so hard to create.
Thank you for spreading the word and we look forward to welcoming you all in the future.
From all the team at The Museum Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
755 reviews
506 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Called in for Sunday lunch. Menu a la carte. No Table d'hôte. The starters were around £6.00 each and the ones we had were very nice (rabbit on toast and pate). Main roasts were £16.50 each. The portions were ample but there was no Yorkshire pudding with the beef, the veg excellent, with roast potatoes to die for. Desserts were promising (extra cost of course) but we had no room left to try them. Lovely atmosphere and pleasant and attentive staff. Worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we were delighted that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch, with the exception of the Yorkshire Pudding! Apologies about this, can only be put down to human error.
Please note our Roasts change every Sunday and as we do not have a TDH menu we have increased the number of specials on our daily specials board to offer a wider variety to all.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and we promise to give you an extra Yorkshire Pudding!
With kind regards
All at the Museum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always enjoyed going here but............”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

....on this occasion it was not a £47 lunch experience.
Drinks slow to arrive had to ask twice, drinks well overpriced. £2.70 for a pint of lemonade then 50p on top for a shot of lime.
Lamb rump with baby new potatoes!!! Just 3 new potatoes, ham and eggs OK. The above with a couple of glasses of wine was £47, needless to say there are comparable food establishments with better prices.
The manageress, whilst reasonably attentive was also very forgetful!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we apologise if you felt disappointed with your visit.
Since the introduction of the new Management all the team have been working very hard to ensure exemplary service and food and we would of welcomed the opportunity to deal with any issues you may of had on the day.
We remember the issue of the charge of cordial and lemonade and we also agreed that this was a tad excessive and offered to remove this off your bill but the offer was declined.
Perhaps you could visit us again one day whereby you will experience the changes that have been implemented and will therefore be able to leave having experienced a more enjoyable visit.
With kind regards
All the team at The Museum Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cracking food and service!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

During a regular visit down south to see relatives in Christchurch decided to look for The Museum as had eaten there some years ago. Unfortunately arrived too late to have lunch so settled for a drink and a packet of peanuts and was well entertained by Stacy behind the bar. We loved the atmosphere, Stacy's banter and felt so at home there that we booked a table for the next day and took my mother out for a surprise lunch.

We were not disappointed. The food and service were both excellent and Stacy not only looked after us very well but really made our visit fun and memorable - she is a gem.

Will definitely be going again the next time we are down and my mother couldn't wait to tell all her friends about it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C4rlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum2014, Manager at The Museum Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and that Stacey looked after you so well.
The team here at The Museum Inn aim to ensure that all our guests enjoy a relaxed and friendly atmosphere coupled with great food and service- just what a traditional British Pub should be all about!
Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.
From all the team at The Museum Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Museum Inn also viewed

Tollard Royal, Wiltshire
 
Swallowcliffe, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Museum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing