We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Local Pub”
Review of The Eight Bells

The Eight Bells
Reserve with OpenTable
The Eight Bells is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$56
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Eight Bells Saffron WaldenWe've recently taken on this beautiful pub in this beautiful town with the aim of making it a really friendly place to meet for a drink or a bite to eat.We think that's what a great pub is all about – somewhere that's warm and welcoming where you're just as welcome to read the paper over a pint or meet friends for a drink after work as you are to sit down for a three course meal or come for a celebration dinner.Happily, you can do all of that here.We've taken the classic features of this wonderful original 16th century barn and sensitively restored them to make The Eight Bells a pub anyone can enjoy. Step inside and you'll find lots of cosy spots to sit back and relax, and, if the mood takes you, have a plate of good, honest home-cooked food. Behind the new-look Eight Bells is an award-winning team of people who have lots of experience in running really great pubs and making sure everyone has a good time. Our chefs are in the kitchen cooking the delicious dishes on our seasonal menu fresh every day, there's a friendly team, behind the bar and in the eatery and all of them are working hard to make your visit as enjoyable as it possibly can be. Join us soon for great food and drink and warm, friendly service.
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Found this pub when I moved to Saffron Walden, and it quickly became my local when I discovered its great, diverse menu and brilliant medieval barn conversion complete with half timbers. Staff are friendly too.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Andy3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018

We booked early so there were not many people in the restaurant. Service was efficient and friendly - the little blonde waitress was delightful. Our starters were delicious freshly cooked, full of flavour and thoroughly enjoyed by all. Mains were the same - my bream was heavenly - my partner commented that the portions were a good size and he loved his pork belly. My daughter loved her rib eye and her partner his burger. Her partner loved the peanut butter parfait! Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jak Jak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Late Sunday lunch - gluten free and vegetarian all catered for. Excllent food, actually exceptional. Excellent service too, lovely venue. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 406Clipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

It is hard to find somewhere half decent near the M11. We decided to take a detour & came across the Eight Bells. It was late Sunday lunch time & they managed to fit us in after a short wait. It was well worth it. We had the roast dinner, loads of lovely veg & great roast potatoes. Will be carrying their phone number to book in for future trips!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Came here from London with husband, our son and his girlfriend after a visit to see our sick puppy at a nearby animal hospital and it cheered us up enormously - the warm welcome by all staff, the excellent food and the beautiful venue were just what we needed. It was also one of the few pubs serving food at 9.15 pm. The staff and management clearly put customers’ needs before their own. We would highly recommend The Eight Bells and we’ll be returning, probably every night while our puppy recovers. Huge thanks to the staff for their excellent, professional and friendly service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank MHFERGUSON2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eight Bells also viewed

Saffron Walden, Essex
Saffron Walden, Essex
 
Newport, Saffron Walden
 
Great Chesterford, Saffron Walden
Saffron Walden, Essex
 

Been to The Eight Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing