We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel”
Review of The Saffron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saffron Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saffron Walden
Chester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Love this Hotel”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Overall the stay was amazing, central to a very quaint town. Loved the food and the atmosphere! Upon arrival we were taken to our rooms with the staff helping with our luggage upon arrival and leaving. Older hotel with no lift but were accomadated upon arrival and departure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiamo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    58
    44
    27
    33
See reviews for
36
64
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed with my husband for our anniversary, we stayed for 2 nights and we were delightfully surprised with our stay after seeing some of the other reviews of this hotel. It was a beautiful 16th century building that kept the charm and style of the town while offering a modern service that we couldn't have asked more for. The staff were very friendly and made our stay wonderful, we had a delicious meal in the restaurant on our anniversary night and ventured into town for the second night. We stayed in the Ashdon suite, which is on the second floor, it was a large room with a great bathroom and had everything we needed. There were some very tasty biscuits in the room that we enjoyed in the morning before coming down for breakfast where we had a choice of hot food as well as a full continental buffet. Service through out was excellent and we shall definitely be returning and will recommend to all our friends.

Thank you Saffron hotel for a lovely anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel is one of the last things along the main street, but it's still close to all the shopping/dining (a 2 minute walk downhill).

The room we had was a fine size, but was pretty outdated and didn't seem super clean (it was musty/dusty and worn in). The floors were squeaky and the walls were thin, so we could hear every guest walk up the stairs and through the hallway. Not to mention the room faced the street and was EXTREMELY loud, especially in the morning when the trash was getting taken out and there is very heavy traffic.

The bathroom was sooo small. There is no shelf or place near the sink to set any toiletries. The shower was literally a 2x2 foot square, with no shelves. So to shower you have to set everything on the floor of the shower where it gets soaked and floats around (the shower drained so slowly that within a minute or two you were ankle deep in water). There is no place in the shower where you aren't getting sprayed by water, which made it hard to soap up and impossible to shave legs. Just overall a very unpleasant showering experience.

The room got hot/stuffy but all we could do was crack the window and pray for a breeze (no A/C or fan).

Wasn't impressed by the front desk staff. They asked what newspaper we wanted, then when we checked out we were charged for the newspaper (no one mentioned we'd be charged, and NO other hotel on our 10-day trip charged for a morning paper). Other hotels showed us to our room but not this staff.

Breakfast wasn't included but that was fine because the restaurant/bar looked outdated/old, dark, and deserted. Better off walking into the market area for breakfast or down to the Cross Keys hotel for dinner/drinks.

The wi-fi did work in the rooms so that was a plus.

We chose the Saffron Hotel based on price, but if I could do things over I'd spend the extra to stay at the Cross Keys down the block.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the stairs because our room by the stairs was so noisy. Also, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psiloveya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saffron Walden hotels

Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed in the Saffron Hotel as part of a business trip - it was a Wednesday night, the town was quiet and their were few guests. As a consequence my stay was very good and I couldn't fault either the service of the staff or the general ambience of the place. However, my gut feeling is that Saffron Walden is almost a Jekyl & Hyde when it comes to the weekend: come Friday and Saturday and the town itself plays hosts to the younger elements coming in from the outlying villages and the Saffron Hotel itself is used as a venue for parties. I have sympathy for the staff in situations where one guest is trying to get a good night's sleep while the inebriated are intent on staying up until the early hours.

The hotel itself is old and the décor and state of repair have to be factored in - expecting slick, purpose built for the 21st century traveller wet rooms, big screen TVs and air con is just silly. What you do get is a traditional hotel with a layout, decoration and furniture to match the surroundings. If your preference is character over modernity this is the place for you.

Location is excellent for the town centre. Parking at the hotel is very limited but there are usable parking spots for overnights outside the Church 50 yards away.

In summary, I liked this hotel and would stay there again because I had a good experience - but it was mid-week

Room Tip: Others have commented on the rooms at the front but that is only an issue at weekends. Parking is pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanhamvillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It has been a while since I visited The Saffron Hotel as my last visit was a disaster and I visited only because my group had arranged their dinner there. The food was lovely, it was tasty and hot. There was plenty of it and the vegetables were replenished very quickly. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I did like the fact they left pots of coffee on the table at the end of the meal so one could help themselves and there was more if required. Much better than the standard one cup of coffee.

Room Tip: I did not sleep here only ate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomsGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Great location in centrally located Saffron Walden. Rooms at front of building do get impacted by road noise but the room I stayed in was spacious and bed comfortable BUT bathroom urrrrrrrrrrr. Food was well presented but service is always stretched due to not having enough staff. Eg night we were staying had 2 people for the whole place (checking in, bar and waiting in restaurant ) and parking is limited.

Room Tip: Anything at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoobyDoo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel has poor staff in the day and no staff at night, so when a large group of guests held a party playing loud dance music and climbing onto the fire escapes to talk and smoke until 03:30 there was nothing to be done. In the morning the staff didn't apologise they simply told us that "we used to have a night porter but he didn't like working nights". The cross keys down the road is much better.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kilmory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saffron Walden
5.6 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
259 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
173 reviews
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
5.7 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
323 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saffron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saffron Hotel

Property: The Saffron Hotel
Address: 8-12 High Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saffron Walden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saffron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffron Walden takes the second parts of its name from the threatening fortification of Walden Castle, erected by the Normans after the Conquest, and the first from the rare and precious saffron crocus, for which the town became famous, used in medicine, cooking and as the source of a rich yellow dye. The hotel has 16 en-suite bedrooms (all 100% non smoking) which all have tea/coffee and ironing facilities. The hotel also has a paneled Restaurant and Lounge/Bar area. We also cater for functions including parties and weddings in our Saffron Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Saffron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffron Hotel Walden
The Saffron Hotel Saffron Walden, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing