We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cross Keys Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Saffron Walden B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good find!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Another great lunch washed down with a delicious glass of Australian Riesling. Good facilities with function room, large restaurant and nice terrace area. Good quality food and great, knowledgeable service. Would recommend to anyone visiting Saffron Walden what ever time of the day, for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea, for dinner or simply for a nice glass of wine or a pint of ale!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank R-J-7589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    87
    31
    19
    15
See reviews for
58
98
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Cross Keys. This ancient inn has been nicely modernised to create very comfortable , clean and well appointed rooms. The bathroom was esepcially well set out with great shower and plenty of space. It's located right in the middle of this lovely market town, close to all amenities, but still quiet. The breakfasts were light and delicious and beautifully cooked. In-room N'espresso was a great touch!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally962014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are staying in Saffron Walden or thinking about then you have to stay at the Cross Keys Hotel. As soon as you walk in the door the staff are professional, courteous and very friendly and accommodating. I arrived very early at 11am and they still let me check in! There are currently 2 Hungarian girls working there are you are very friendly and helpful and the hotel manageress/supervisor is extremely helpful. In fact all the staff I encountered on a weeks stay here were extremely friendly and professional. If any hotel/inn wants to improve itself then they should take lessons from the Cross Keys. Yes its that good!

There are 6 rooms. I stayed in room #4 and #3 and saw #5. Room 3 is the best - large, quiet and like all the rooms very clean, modern, excellent bathrooms/shower. Breakfast is also included and having had most of the items on the hot food menu I can say its very good typical English breakfast items. The coffee is well made and great pride is taking in making it! Try the cheescakes for morning tea or the crumble and custard for dessert and you wont be disappointed.

The location is excellent right in the centre of town and the pairing of the coffee shop (Mollys) with the restaurant with the upstairs accomodation and the outdoor back patio PLUS parking in the barn next door makes this the ideal place to stay in Saffron Walden.

If you are looking for the authentic small town inn experience with modern touches and highly professional friendly staff then stay here. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here overnight for a wedding and had a very relaxed, comfortable stay. The room was on the small side but nicely decorated with original timber beams, lead windows and built in cupboards. The bed was very comfortable and the en suite bathroom was newly tiled and very clean, with a good sized double shower. Each room has a Nespresso machine and complementary teas and biscuits. Downstairs the restaurant was warm and welcoming and had a nice, local buzz about it. Cross keys seems like a popular place to meet and eat for residents, which is always a good sign. The food and wine were reasonably priced. Next morning we ate a hearty breakfast, included within our B&B deal - eggs florentine for me, full English for himself - and a double helping of good quality coffee. Only niggles? Our room faced out over the High Street so there was a little traffic noise during the night, though nothing too disturbing, until the road resurfacing for Le Tour De France started up in earnest at 08.45am outside our window. Car Parking is very limited so we had to park in a nearby overnight car park (The Swan), which is fortunately free after 5pm and all day Sunday but could be problematic for people staying midweek. Also, the free WiFi was very erratic, although I think that this is a wider problem in Saffron Walden. All in all, a nice place to stay for couples (might not be roomy enough for a family with kids) and I would definitely stay there again if we were visiting Saffron Walden.

Room Tip: Check if there are any rooms in the rear of the building away from the street. Also, some rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeisegirlWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I ate at the Crosskeys with some colleagues last week and ordered the Steak Burger. Our order was completely messed up from the start, wrong food, wrong drinks.... no apology either! Then, I bit into a burger and it had a rolled up rubber band in it!!!! No apology from the chef, just a very inexperienced Assistant Manager who looked as if she was going to cry and a completely clueless waiter! Very very poor service, customer relations and down right dangerous food!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perranporth Cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotelwas clean enough. Rooms were small thoughbeds was very comfortable. Very little hangin space for clothes and virtually no shelf space. The CCTV camera on the opposite building was offputting when it appeared to be pointing into the room! We waved.
Details fail to mention that it fronts a busy road next to traffic lights so there is a great deal of traffic noise which the double glazing and shutters do not block out adequately.
However it does have a central locaiton and it is a short stroll to almost anywhere you would want to see.
Restaurant food was good and reasonable value though drinks were slightly expensive (see later). Breakfast service was poor. You have to go to the cake shop to order breakfast rather than the staff noticing you are there and coming to serve you. Add this to the cleaner working round the bar (where you have to eat) with vacuum cleaner and mop at the same time and you get the picture of lack of thought for the customers.
Parking was just adequate but very useful.
Note that if you arrive on Market day, King Street where the car park is, is closed off all day.
My major complaint was the price of Becks Blue which retails in shops at about 60p a 275ml bottle, has no alcohol so no tax and was being sold (we only bought one!) at £4.00 per bottle - unjustifiable!
However, all in all we would rate the hotel as a worthwhile experience and reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Try room 3 - it is at the back and does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Appealing at first sight, this place has a lot going for it with a central location and parking (except being inaccessible on market days Tue/Sat). It needs to make up it's mind whether it is a pub, a restaurant or a hotel. Rooms are small as one would expect from this age of property, but reasonably well appointed. Mine was quiet but others were disturbed by traffic noise. The big downsides for me were high prices(a bottle of non-alcoholic Becks Blue was slated at over 4 quid for 275 ml!), pretty average restaurant food and the exceptionally poor organisation of breakfast. Never likely to go back and wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Back rooms are away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saffron Walden
3.4 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.5 mi away
Queens Head Inn
Queens Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Littlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Hotel

Property: The Cross Keys Hotel
Address: 32 High Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saffron Walden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross Keys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys Hotel dates back some 650 years and is one of the most important buildings architecturally and commercially in the centre of Saffron Walden. This beautiful Grade II* listed building was fully restored and renovated in 2012, re-opened on the Diamond Jubilee weekend. Now offering 6 wonderful en suite bedrooms in the main period building plus 3 new luxury en suite boutique bedrooms in The Cobblers Barn, offer handmade pocket sprung mattresses, duck down toppers, crisp bed linen and are loaded with old characterful beams and charm. All the comforts of today are here as well - in each room you will find a flat screen television , Nespresso coffee machines, free wifi, phone and iPad charging points and some rooms with air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cross Keys Hotel Saffron Walden, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing