We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and lovely beer garden ”
Review of Fleur De Lys

Fleur De Lys
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We visited the Fleur de Lys for a Sunday lunch. Very much enjoyed the garden. The food was good and portions very generous. Staff were lovely and helpful. We will definitely visit again!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Psychogoogje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

So glad I took the advice of fellow TripAdvisor reviewers who had rated the Fleur #1 in Saffron Walden. Visiting the area and looking for somewhere to have lunch with family members. Had a fabulous lunch in the garden. Pace was leisurely, service friendly and food excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed by all. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank R1777GFsusanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Regular visitor for drinks and meals. Always the highest level of service, best quality food and guest ales.

Chris and Ellie are the most perfect landlords you can meet, friendly, attentive and always go above and beyond to make the pub a brilliant place to visit. Their team are equally amazing!

Brought my dad and step mum here for Father's Day and they were equally impressed.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

If you want somewhere to eat, local, country and damn good food, then this place is a must. Have been here twice now and can't rate it enough.

Always busy in the evenings and Sunday lunch, so book in advance.

Food great, atmosphere just perfect, and when the log fire is roaring, its cosy. Staff excellent and a great Gin menu.

Wonderful garden and peaceful, so great for family get together's in the sun.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JBofStortford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

We called in for a light lunch after a morning's countryside walk. This is a lovely country pub in a small community setting.

We were immediately made very welcome by the staff on duty, in particular the lady who we thing might be the licensee. She was friendly and chatty to everyone who arrived and was keen to ensure everyone and everything was attended to.

Although partly operating as a restaurant this is also still very much a pub. We had a choice of interesting real ales enjoying those we chose. We each selected a sandwich (one sausage the other ham, cheese and coleslaw) and both came very well filled accompanied by chunky 'skins on (in places)' chips and some salad. This was almost a substantial meal in itself. Both sandwiches were well presented and delicious. Prices were very reasonable. Service was cheerful and efficient.

Everything about our visit suggested we should use this pub another time. I'm sure, based on this pleasant experience, we shall.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 524grahamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fleur De Lys also viewed

 
Newport, Saffron Walden
Saffron Walden, Essex
 
Saffron Walden, Essex
Great Chesterford, Saffron Walden
 

Been to Fleur De Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing