We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly”
Review of Tea Amo

Tea Amo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Came here for afternoon tea with girl friends. A small cosy jewel with friendly staff in Cross Street Saffron Walden.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018

A friend and I were cycling out from London and back and stopped here for an early lunch of sausage sandwich and a coffee - so much choice but glad we stopped here! Fantastic service from a range of excellent people. We only had time for a quick stop, sadly, and both went for the sausage sandwich - fantastic local sausages and beautiful hand-cut bread that was exceptional. Fabulous coffee too! A flying visit but would definitely come back as the other food looked great - especially the cake!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 25darrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

Cafe was not busy but we had to wait too long to be served soup, although the staff were pleasant. Soup was good served with delicious bread, and wished we hadn't then ordered cake - bought in and over-sweet. Then we were treated to the very noisy clearing up in the servery area and staff converstions. Too expensive.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rapolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

We booked a afternoon tea at Tea Amo, with a voucher supplied by Activity Superstore , and given to us as a gift.
On the day concerned it was extremely bad weather (torrential rain) . We rang Tea Amo and cancelled and was assured that was fine.
Tea Amo claimed the full amount of two teas from Activity Superstore even though we did not have the teas.
Activity Superstore paid the claim even though we still have the vouchers in our possession.
Both Tea Amo And Activity Superstore say we cannot re-book.

We think customer services from these organisations is very disappointing to say the least, and Tea AMo received payment for a service they did not provide.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester1, Owner at Tea Amo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Barrie, it is correct that you did book an afternoon tea with us. However the booking was never cancelled on our booking system so we had no evidence to prove that you had not in fact taken this afternoon tea. You may still have the voucher however we do not necessarily take the voucher from the customer as the voucher details are taken over the phone during booking and this is what is used, not the physical voucher on the day.

We explained all of this to activity superstore and it was their decision that your voucher was no longer valid, not ours. I suggest you take up your complaint with them, not us!

I would suggest that you may be unhappy because you have tried to use your voucher twice but got ‘caught out’!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely time here with my mum for afternoon tea. The shop was very busy but staff were on top of orders, however, the young girls working here didn't seem to know what was going on and had to keep asking the manager lots of questions. The afternoon tea itself was really nice. The sandwiches are made to order of your choice and you can also mix and match which scones you have (they were massive). You get a nice big slice of cake but mine was too rich and I couldn't finish it. We had been given a voucher and I'm glad we used it here. One annoyance though, neither of us liked tea so asked if we could swap for hot chocolates and we would pay the difference, we were then charged full price for them both even though we didn't have a pot of tea with our food. Would probably go back if we were in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mrsrlb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tea Amo also viewed

Saffron Walden, Essex
 
Saffron Walden, Essex
Saffron Walden, Essex
 
Saffron Walden, Essex
 

Been to Tea Amo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing