We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed on a weekend deal in the Mayflower Suite which included breakfast and three course evening meal. Every detail in the suite was perfect. Excellent care to add those little treats you really appreciate. Staff were welcoming and always friendly and we left truly relaxed and refreshed.

Room Tip: Mayflower suite is above function room, you may hear noise from parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justus4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    131
    50
    22
    14
See reviews for
72
225
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waltham abbey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

stayed here for one of thier one night special deals, room lovely and clean food fabulous, we had bed breakfast an evening meal we paid the extra an ate in the upstairs harbour resturant but down stairs bistro the food is just as nice,,,,,

Room Tip: rooms at back were very comfy but boook early an ask for sea view rooms,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Pier Hotel was perfect! We had room 8 which was in the boathouse next door. It was spacious with a small living room great and comfortable bed, and spacious bathroom. The meals were delicious and the breakfast (included) was amazing, full english breakfast, with a continental buffet. We were there for 2 days prior to a cruise. There isn't a whole lot to do in Harwich but our stay at the Pier made it all worthwhile!

Room Tip: Room 8 is on ground level (no lifts at the hotel) and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Business trip with a colleague. He was very impressed with hotel as was I. Bar meals were excellent as was breakfast. It's a great location and very handy for working in Harwich, Clacton or anywhere within a 10 mile radius.

Room Tip: Sorry no fitness or pool but I couldn't turn off the buttons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

A beautiful meal in a lovely setting with great friendly staff. We had a main course fish curry and the sea bream both well cooked and perfectly served. Two delicious desserts to follow treacle tart with the best stem ginger ice cream I have ever tasted and a plum pudding. Thoroughly enjoyed our day out to The Pier.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Again my wife and I and two friends had a meal in the "downstairs" restaurant and as usual they
came up trumps. On the advice of "sweet Caroline" I had the venison and what a choice it was.,
All the staff were great and attentive (as usual). We all left the Pier feeling well "Fed Up" and
well satisfied.
Well done the Pier and its staff

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the night prior to leaving on a cruise from the Port of Harwich. We chose to have dinner in the Bistro and thoroughly enjoyed the meal with friendly and efficient service. The accommodation was excellent and found the front desk staff to be very courteous and helpful. The room was large with a comfortable bed and separate sitting area. The breakfast which was included in our room tariff included continental selection and boiled eggs with soldiers with several other choices. The young waiting staff were delightful and friendly. Would definitely eat and stay at this hotel when in Harwich again.

Room Tip: In room 8 where we stayed there was a step between the sitting room and the bathroom which was a tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramarama53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
1.0 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 6 in Harwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Harwich Hotel
0.0 mi away
Alma Inn
Alma Inn
#1 of 6 in Harwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
24.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
13.0 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel at Harwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel at Harwich

Property: The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Address: The Quay, Harwich CO12 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pier Hotel at Harwich 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We thank you for your feedback, however we do not respond to individual comments. Following on from a 1.5 million reinvestment over the last 5 months, The Pier at Harwich is once again open and set to become East Anglia's number one coastal destination for food and drink. The redefined brasserie is located on the first floor of the completely modernised 1860 listed building in historic Harwich. Experience all-day dining (all-year-round) and outdoor dining - whenever the sun shines - with a menu celebrating modern classics, an exciting grill menu and wonderful fresh fish and shellfish landed on The Pier's doorstep. Guests can select from a predominantly European wine list or enjoy Prosecco-based cocktails, craft beers and cask ales. The stripped back and raw textured interior, designed by Geraldine Milsom, makes reference to the industrious and hardworking Harwich port, but achieves a balance between function, luxury and glamour. The harbour wall is only 20 metres from the door and The Pier's newly extended first floor balcony (for drinks and outdoor dining) overlooks the water, ships and working docks. With estuary views from every table, The Pier, only a stone's throw from the confluence of the Stour and Orwell estuaries is a very special destination for lovers of great food and drink. NAVYÄRD on the ground floor is a continental bar and terrace adjacent to the working harbour, the ideal place for fun and relaxation. Cask ales, craft beers, a great drinks list, Prosecco-based cocktails and one of the most carefully sourced and extensive gin lists makes the NAVYÄRD 'the' go-to bar for The Pier's neighbours, friends and welcomed guests. The NAVYÄRD is undeniably and unashamedly a 'love letter to the continent' - celebrating and championing the influential and historic links that Harwich holds with Scandanavia and wider Europe. The wines, beers, ales, drinks list and a gin library have been sourced from across Europe and are complemented throughout the day by Nordic-inspired small-plated food. Great coffee, fresh pastries and the simplest tastiest late breakfasts (think eggs, rye bread and avocado) through to open Scandinavian sandwiches, sharing platters and fresh oysters. The 14 bedrooms are individually styled to match the seascape and take full advantage of the brilliant light that you only get when staying on the coast. Harwich enjoys glorious sunsets with molten coloured horizons and the setting sun on the Stour estuary is a special feature of staying at The Pier. All bedrooms are equipped with complimentary soft drink mini-bars, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Sky In-Room and free Wi-Fi making The Pier an exceptional small hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Pier Hotel at Harwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier At Harwich Hotel Harwich
Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel At Harwich Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing