We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Times Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This place is a hidden treasure. food in main restaurant fantastic! local pub food and atmosphere really nice. the whole of old Harwich is like a time warp in a very enchanting way. we would recommend to go for a few nights if poss to recharge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMonkey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a most enjoyable overnight stay in a harbour-view room on one of the hotel's special deals which included bed, breakfast and dinner. Service throughout was impeccable (the staff are excellent, being well-trained, approachable and helpful) and our evening meal in the Harbourside Restaurant was superb. The only disappointment was the toast at breakfast (dull pre-sliced bread) but this hardly detracted from an excellent visit. We only hope that if we stay again the weather might be kinder so we can make the most of the views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed on a weekend deal in the Mayflower Suite which included breakfast and three course evening meal. Every detail in the suite was perfect. Excellent care to add those little treats you really appreciate. Staff were welcoming and always friendly and we left truly relaxed and refreshed.

Room Tip: Mayflower suite is above function room, you may hear noise from parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justus4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

stayed here for one of thier one night special deals, room lovely and clean food fabulous, we had bed breakfast an evening meal we paid the extra an ate in the upstairs harbour resturant but down stairs bistro the food is just as nice,,,,,

Room Tip: rooms at back were very comfy but boook early an ask for sea view rooms,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Pier Hotel was perfect! We had room 8 which was in the boathouse next door. It was spacious with a small living room great and comfortable bed, and spacious bathroom. The meals were delicious and the breakfast (included) was amazing, full english breakfast, with a continental buffet. We were there for 2 days prior to a cruise. There isn't a whole lot to do in Harwich but our stay at the Pier made it all worthwhile!

Room Tip: Room 8 is on ground level (no lifts at the hotel) and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Business trip with a colleague. He was very impressed with hotel as was I. Bar meals were excellent as was breakfast. It's a great location and very handy for working in Harwich, Clacton or anywhere within a 10 mile radius.

Room Tip: Sorry no fitness or pool but I couldn't turn off the buttons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A beautiful meal in a lovely setting with great friendly staff. We had a main course fish curry and the sea bream both well cooked and perfectly served. Two delicious desserts to follow treacle tart with the best stem ginger ice cream I have ever tasted and a plum pudding. Thoroughly enjoyed our day out to The Pier.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
0.9 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 6 in Harwich
246 reviews
0 mi away
Alma Inn
Alma Inn
#1 of 6 in Harwich
94 reviews
9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
544 reviews
15.1 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
737 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bottle Kiln
The Bottle Kiln
#5 of 6 in Harwich
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel at Harwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel at Harwich

Address: The Quay, Harwich CO12 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range: £132 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pier Hotel at Harwich 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We thank you for your feedback, however we do not respond to individual comments. Following on from a 1.5 million reinvestment over the last 5 months, The Pier at Harwich is once again open and set to become East Anglia's number one coastal destination for food and drink. The redefined brasserie is located on the first floor of the completely modernised 1860 listed building in historic Harwich. Experience all-day dining (all-year-round) and outdoor dining - whenever the sun shines - with a menu celebrating modern classics, an exciting grill menu and wonderful fresh fish and shellfish landed on The Pier's doorstep. Guests can select from a predominantly European wine list or enjoy Prosecco-based cocktails, craft beers and cask ales. The stripped back and raw textured interior, designed by Geraldine Milsom, makes reference to the industrious and hardworking Harwich port, but achieves a balance between function, luxury and glamour. The harbour wall is only 20 metres from the door and The Pier's newly extended first floor balcony (for drinks and outdoor dining) overlooks the water, ships and working docks. With estuary views from every table, The Pier, only a stone's throw from the confluence of the Stour and Orwell estuaries is a very special destination for lovers of great food and drink. NAVYÄRD on the ground floor is a continental bar and terrace adjacent to the working harbour, the ideal place for fun and relaxation. Cask ales, craft beers, a great drinks list, Prosecco-based cocktails and one of the most carefully sourced and extensive gin lists makes the NAVYÄRD 'the' go-to bar for The Pier's neighbours, friends and welcomed guests. The NAVYÄRD is undeniably and unashamedly a 'love letter to the continent' - celebrating and championing the influential and historic links that Harwich holds with Scandanavia and wider Europe. The wines, beers, ales, drinks list and a gin library have been sourced from across Europe and are complemented throughout the day by Nordic-inspired small-plated food. Great coffee, fresh pastries and the simplest tastiest late breakfasts (think eggs, rye bread and avocado) through to open Scandinavian sandwiches, sharing platters and fresh oysters. The 14 bedrooms are individually styled to match the seascape and take full advantage of the brilliant light that you only get when staying on the coast. Harwich enjoys glorious sunsets with molten coloured horizons and the setting sun on the Stour estuary is a special feature of staying at The Pier. All bedrooms are equipped with complimentary soft drink mini-bars, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Sky In-Room and free Wi-Fi making The Pier an exceptional small hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pier Hotel at Harwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier At Harwich Hotel Harwich
Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel At Harwich Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing