We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous food with great service”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience of both dining and drinking at The Pier Hotel. The service is superb with friendly staff who are extremely polite and attentive. The food is delicious with good sized portions. I highly recommend the pan fried hake with wild garlic mash and clam veloute - I had this twice and thought it was amazing. We also visited a couple of times during our break to Harwich for a drink in the evening and were greeted with the same welcome we had whilst dining. The air conditioning was also an added bonus as the weather was very warm. We were very impressed with everything on offer at The Pier - great atmosphere, good wine selection, helpful staff, delicious food - fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameButterfly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    134
    51
    22
    14
See reviews for
74
229
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Everything you want from a hotel, it stayed for a few nights on business but I'd happily go back in my own time and pay my own money for a stay here. The rooms in the main house are a little more cramped than the newer annex, but that's what you get from a traditional property. The rooms are well decorated, clean and comfy. The staff are extremely friendly, I had an issue with my shower and they were very quick to offer to call a plumber out, even though it was late in the evening. I ate in both the bar and the restaurant, the food in both is excellent, the restaurant isn't cheap but you get what you pay for. Breakfast was a treat, the chef even did me a couple of slices of fried bread (which wasn't on the menu). The friendly Scottish lady who always seems to be working simply cannot do enough for you and always gives a warm welcome. My only complaint is the quality of the TV reception, but I've yet to find a hotel which really excels in that department.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravellerTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fabulous fish and chips and excellent grilled halloumi veggie option. not cheap but fantastic service and food. worth visiting. Didn't use the hotel as fully booked.
Lovely setting. Will visit again when in area for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncasterdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

For those familiar with the Milsom Hotels and the “Talbooth” in Dedham, nr Colchester, you might like to experience The Pier in Harwich.

If you drive down to the Quay you will pass the container and ferry terminal and wonder what your letting yourself in for, fear not, you will
not be disappointed. The Restaurant and Hotel are in different buildings separated only by a narrow side street. We went for the Mayflower
suite which has the amazing view out of the large Georgian window. The room was excellent and extremely spacious. The bass “working”
telescope a nice nautical touch.

The restaurant upstairs was excellent, a nice pre dinner area for drinks and the food was some of the best seafood I have ever tasted.
A decent wine list and excellent service, the combination of the room, food and service, excellent.

Well done guys, a real gem of a place. Would defiantly recommend and hope to be back soon with friends.

Room Tip: Try the Mayflower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We are regular visitors and always made to feel welcome even if its only for a bite to eat.
Service and food quality is always great, nice changes in menu keep the choices interesting, but if we are honest the fish and chips are to die for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Had lovely fish and chips here - a little pricey but worth it . The wine is overpriced for the quality tho . The little Scottish lady who waits on tables is a little gem. Don't settle for eating in the bar area tho it's too noisy and crowded with people standing at your elbow while you try to eat . A little rough around the edges for a Milsom place but there's little else in town, the desserts are nice especially the pannacotta with orange .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tovfonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with interesting views. We booked a room in the main hotel overlooking the harbour. The room is decorated to a very high standard and very tasteful. Staff couldn't do enough for you and the whole place has a very slick, professional vibe.
Breakfast was good and we much appreciated the veggie sausage (a lot of hotels don't bother with this). Lots of pastries and fruit too. A nice leisurely breakfast, not at a all rushed.
A lovely night away :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
1.0 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 6 in Harwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Harwich Hotel
0.0 mi away
Alma Inn
Alma Inn
#1 of 6 in Harwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
24.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
13.0 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel at Harwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel at Harwich

Property: The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Address: The Quay, Harwich CO12 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pier Hotel at Harwich 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We thank you for your feedback, however we do not respond to individual comments. Following on from a 1.5 million reinvestment over the last 5 months, The Pier at Harwich is once again open and set to become East Anglia's number one coastal destination for food and drink. The redefined brasserie is located on the first floor of the completely modernised 1860 listed building in historic Harwich. Experience all-day dining (all-year-round) and outdoor dining - whenever the sun shines - with a menu celebrating modern classics, an exciting grill menu and wonderful fresh fish and shellfish landed on The Pier's doorstep. Guests can select from a predominantly European wine list or enjoy Prosecco-based cocktails, craft beers and cask ales. The stripped back and raw textured interior, designed by Geraldine Milsom, makes reference to the industrious and hardworking Harwich port, but achieves a balance between function, luxury and glamour. The harbour wall is only 20 metres from the door and The Pier's newly extended first floor balcony (for drinks and outdoor dining) overlooks the water, ships and working docks. With estuary views from every table, The Pier, only a stone's throw from the confluence of the Stour and Orwell estuaries is a very special destination for lovers of great food and drink. NAVYÄRD on the ground floor is a continental bar and terrace adjacent to the working harbour, the ideal place for fun and relaxation. Cask ales, craft beers, a great drinks list, Prosecco-based cocktails and one of the most carefully sourced and extensive gin lists makes the NAVYÄRD 'the' go-to bar for The Pier's neighbours, friends and welcomed guests. The NAVYÄRD is undeniably and unashamedly a 'love letter to the continent' - celebrating and championing the influential and historic links that Harwich holds with Scandanavia and wider Europe. The wines, beers, ales, drinks list and a gin library have been sourced from across Europe and are complemented throughout the day by Nordic-inspired small-plated food. Great coffee, fresh pastries and the simplest tastiest late breakfasts (think eggs, rye bread and avocado) through to open Scandinavian sandwiches, sharing platters and fresh oysters. The 14 bedrooms are individually styled to match the seascape and take full advantage of the brilliant light that you only get when staying on the coast. Harwich enjoys glorious sunsets with molten coloured horizons and the setting sun on the Stour estuary is a special feature of staying at The Pier. All bedrooms are equipped with complimentary soft drink mini-bars, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Sky In-Room and free Wi-Fi making The Pier an exceptional small hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Pier Hotel at Harwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier At Harwich Hotel Harwich
Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel At Harwich Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing