We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The Pier is the front of house for Harwich and does lots of things very well.
Our room was clean, pleasantly decorated and had thoughtful welcoming touches for our arrival.
Their Harbourside restaurant is fish-based (as you might expect) and the food is excellent, though pretty pricey (think Central London).
Overall, stylish yet homely.
Recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlexMoreMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    140
    53
    24
    16
See reviews for
80
246
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely hotel in an unusual setting. Found this hotel after daily telegraph recommendation. It is at the end of Harwich Pier and you can see the docks and port from the hotel. Sounds unusual, but actually provides an ever changing scenery with the sea, ships, yachts and ferrys loading/unloading and moving. We were in room 3, at the front of hotel, overlooking the sea. The staff and facilities were excellent. The first floor restaurant provided excellent food and excellent service. We have no complaints at all and wold recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the main hotel provide excellent view. Room 3 has a double aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBurtfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just stayed at The Pier for two nights in the Mayflower Suite. Wow! is the only word to describe the suite. After a five mile walk in the morning we just sat in the window and relaxed. No need to read a book, the views of the pier are an ever moving picture. All amenities were top grade and everything needed was provided for.

The fine dining restaurant was closed the Monday and Tuesday nights and we ate both nights in the bistro. The food was so good we didn't feel we had missed out on not being able to eat upstairs. My husband's only niggle was that the vintages on the wine list were well out of date but this seems to be the practice in most hotels.

The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and professional. We have no hesitation in recommending The Pier and would certainly return, without hesitation, if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Mayflower Suite. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights celebrating a good friends wedding. Made to feel very welcome by the excellent staff. Couldn't fault anything - food was superb & room was lovely. Will definitely return for fish n chips one evening soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After our Uniworld Bordeaux and Chateau River Cruise we flew to Gatwick and were driven to The Pier Hotel in Harwich. It is very old and looks just like the pictures, right on the pier. It did not disappoint us at all. Of course our room wasn't ready, and the dining room had a long wait being Sunday but they sent us to a wonderful old pub around the corner. The Alma. We lucked out with a table right in the center of the action and there was plenty. We ordered burgers and pints of beer and just soaked it all in. Loved it. Everyone there seemed to be locals and were having a good Sunday afternoon.
The Pier had our room ready, the Mayflower suite and we were helped up with our bags. Lots of stairs so you do need help. The room was very comfortably contemporary in a Ralph Lauren way, very large with a very nice ensuite. We looked right out at the Pier with our telescope. The suite had coffee making facilities, complimentary drinks, and baby jelly bellies. I just loved it. It was the Sunday of the World Cup Grand Finals and we thought we'd go back to the pub to watch it, but our room was so comfortable and the tv so large, that we enjoyed it there.
Dinner in the upstairs dining room was excellent. Breakfast buffet was just ok, but we enjoyed it. The service was very good, especially an older lady that was so enthusiastic. There was no air conditioner in the room and they provided a fan, we also cracked the window open at the top. They were having a heat wave. The receptionist called and suggested that she arrange for a taxi the next day to take us to the Cruise ship pier and was very efficient and pleasant. I recommend staying at the Pier precruise or if you are driving around East Anglia. Book early.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience of both dining and drinking at The Pier Hotel. The service is superb with friendly staff who are extremely polite and attentive. The food is delicious with good sized portions. I highly recommend the pan fried hake with wild garlic mash and clam veloute - I had this twice and thought it was amazing. We also visited a couple of times during our break to Harwich for a drink in the evening and were greeted with the same welcome we had whilst dining. The air conditioning was also an added bonus as the weather was very warm. We were very impressed with everything on offer at The Pier - great atmosphere, good wine selection, helpful staff, delicious food - fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameButterfly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Everything you want from a hotel, it stayed for a few nights on business but I'd happily go back in my own time and pay my own money for a stay here. The rooms in the main house are a little more cramped than the newer annex, but that's what you get from a traditional property. The rooms are well decorated, clean and comfy. The staff are extremely friendly, I had an issue with my shower and they were very quick to offer to call a plumber out, even though it was late in the evening. I ate in both the bar and the restaurant, the food in both is excellent, the restaurant isn't cheap but you get what you pay for. Breakfast was a treat, the chef even did me a couple of slices of fried bread (which wasn't on the menu). The friendly Scottish lady who always seems to be working simply cannot do enough for you and always gives a warm welcome. My only complaint is the quality of the TV reception, but I've yet to find a hotel which really excels in that department.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravellerTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
9.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
456 reviews
15.1 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
281 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
23.6 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel at Harwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel at Harwich

Property: The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Address: The Quay, Harwich CO12 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pier Hotel at Harwich 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We thank you for your feedback, however we do not respond to individual comments. Following on from a 1.5 million reinvestment over the last 5 months, The Pier at Harwich is once again open and set to become East Anglia's number one coastal destination for food and drink. The redefined brasserie is located on the first floor of the completely modernised 1860 listed building in historic Harwich. Experience all-day dining (all-year-round) and outdoor dining - whenever the sun shines - with a menu celebrating modern classics, an exciting grill menu and wonderful fresh fish and shellfish landed on The Pier's doorstep. Guests can select from a predominantly European wine list or enjoy Prosecco-based cocktails, craft beers and cask ales. The stripped back and raw textured interior, designed by Geraldine Milsom, makes reference to the industrious and hardworking Harwich port, but achieves a balance between function, luxury and glamour. The harbour wall is only 20 metres from the door and The Pier's newly extended first floor balcony (for drinks and outdoor dining) overlooks the water, ships and working docks. With estuary views from every table, The Pier, only a stone's throw from the confluence of the Stour and Orwell estuaries is a very special destination for lovers of great food and drink. NAVYÄRD on the ground floor is a continental bar and terrace adjacent to the working harbour, the ideal place for fun and relaxation. Cask ales, craft beers, a great drinks list, Prosecco-based cocktails and one of the most carefully sourced and extensive gin lists makes the NAVYÄRD 'the' go-to bar for The Pier's neighbours, friends and welcomed guests. The NAVYÄRD is undeniably and unashamedly a 'love letter to the continent' - celebrating and championing the influential and historic links that Harwich holds with Scandanavia and wider Europe. The wines, beers, ales, drinks list and a gin library have been sourced from across Europe and are complemented throughout the day by Nordic-inspired small-plated food. Great coffee, fresh pastries and the simplest tastiest late breakfasts (think eggs, rye bread and avocado) through to open Scandinavian sandwiches, sharing platters and fresh oysters. The 14 bedrooms are individually styled to match the seascape and take full advantage of the brilliant light that you only get when staying on the coast. Harwich enjoys glorious sunsets with molten coloured horizons and the setting sun on the Stour estuary is a special feature of staying at The Pier. All bedrooms are equipped with complimentary soft drink mini-bars, Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Sky In-Room and free Wi-Fi making The Pier an exceptional small hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Pier Hotel at Harwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier At Harwich Hotel Harwich
Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel At Harwich Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing