We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Nearby Hotels
Fryatt Hotel and Bar(Harwich)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swanhouse(Harwich)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alma Inn(Harwich)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orwell Hotel(Felixstowe)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lifehouse Hotel & Spa(Thorpe le Soken)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
275
152
57
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
152
57
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmayflower suitefishmain buildingkesgrave hallwaiting staffscottish ladycomplimentary soft drinksmusselsfirst floorshipping forecastducksea viewdressed crablovely hotelpuddingevening mealstaff could not have been more
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We spent one night at The Pier with family taking the front three rooms of the main hotel overlooking the estuary. Rooms and the hotel was comfortable and stylishly furnished. The only criticism with the rooms was that the beds were a bit too soft - roll in the middle together type.
As it was a special family occasion we splashed out in the restaurant for dinner, rather than the more economical bistro downstairs. The food was good but we felt that it was overpriced particularly for the portion sizes and you had to pay extra if you wanted more than one side/veg order. Service was a bit slow but then it was a very busy evening.
For breakfast we arrived just before the breakfast sitting finished. We had the continental breakfast which was within the B&B rate. The choice was adequate but we weren't very well attended to but when you asked for something it was brought out swiftly. The milk was room temperature as it had probably been out since breakfast began at 7.00am. All in all, a good stay but we wouldn't rush back to stay or eat in the restaurant in a hurry. We would give the bistro a try thought as looked a lot better value and a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BreezeofNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

I have stayed at The Pier a few times we always go in the winter post Christmas when it's cold and bleak outside because once we arrive in our superb room (no 3 or 4 in the main building at the front) we just don't want to leave it! It is SO comfortable big comfy bed, sofa, TV and its so warm and homely also has everything you need in the mini bar! Even crisps & chocs. So we just lie in late ...have never quite made it to breakfast yet! The evening meals in the harbourside restaurant on the first floor are excellent (although I have to say the "ultimate fish and chips " was a letdown but you are always made to feel well catered for. The bistro downstairs is great for lunch I like its vibe. But sometimes we just over the road to the cafe on the pier for a bacon butty!
Harwich is a bit of a mixed bag architecturally great nice to have a wander around but otherwise a bit rundown, we visited Jimmy's Farm not far from here. The Thorn at Mistley nearby worth a visit for lunch too.
I always think of it as a winter place to be for us.The hotel is magical at Christmas there deccies are fab.
I was suprised by some of the reviews to the point of have they got the right hotel?
I can't fault it at all maybe the experience is different for one nighters.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvagebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We had a weekend in Harwich to get away from London. The hotel was nice, and the food was very good (we tried both the main restaurant and the less formal bistro). We stayed in the building next to the main hotel which meant we were away from the bustle during the day and in the evening, but close enough just to pop over for food or drinks.

We had also stayed in another Milsoms hotel, and were paying about the same here as for a stay at Kesgrave Hall. We much preferred Kesgrave Hall where we had a lovely large bedroon room together with a large bathroom, both of which were very nicely decorated. The room at the Pier by comparison was medium sized and slightly less nice generally, and the bathroom was small - functional but nothing special.

Harwich also is a very quiet place - we were disappointed not to have much to do nearby during the day. We'd recommend this hotel if you need to be in the area, and particularly if you are looking for good food, but I doubt that we'll be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RS10675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

A lovely hotel. You will feel the history. A small but well organized hotel. We stayed at the Pier at Harwich for four nights during the Harwich Powerboat Festival. The staff are friendly and helpful, modern docorated rooms are lovely and the food is really good with portions on the enormous side.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmreGuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

130 pounds for ‘DeLuxe’ room is just ridiculous!
Neither the room nor the breakfast was ‘DeLuxe’.
Main complaints:
-dirty lavatory
-dirty towel
-mould in shower
-broken handle (just came off when we close the door)
-small breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a_gate001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews