We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming”
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Staines
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Having come to stay at The Castle Hotel for a family funeral, I'm glad I stayed here. The hotel is lovely, clean and comfortable but the staff are what really made this hotel. When we checked in, Karen was very helpful and looked after me, and other family members checking in, so well. And staying up for a few drinks after 11 we had the absolute pleasure if meeting Grace, who was fantastic. She did an amazing job of keeping us entertained and comfortable. Overall, given the circumstances of our stay, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    64
    27
    13
    15
See reviews for
65
105
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with facilities and shops close by. Set in a nice area. The rooms were comfy and clean and the staff were very helpful and polite. The gardens were lovely and there was a relaxed and friendly atmosphere at all times.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normandy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

stayed again for one night staff food and bedroom all superb ideal for just a short or long stay better quality than other much dearer hotels nearby staff couldnt do enough for us and the food was very good value and the quality was excellent

Room Tip: no advice you will have to try them all in case i miss out but the suites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyoneNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our son and new wife held their wedding reception at the Tower Hotel after getting married at the Electric Palace. It is an extremely well run hotel rooms, food and service both being exceptional. The rooms are all unique with suites being named after famous people with links to Harwich. Although no lift there are rooms on the ground floor well equipped for elderly or disabled guests.

The bar is named Rigby's, Background music seems to be just Beatles and lots of interesting memorabilia on the walls. Meals are also available in the bar which seemed to be well supported by local people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinewoodblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were married here in 2012 and occasionally go back for a bite to eat.
Staff very friendly, the hotel was nicely decorated for Christmas and even though it is winter the gardens looked tip top as always
Mum had a sausage and onion huffer, My wife had a coronation chicken huffer and I had a prawn baguette all with fresh salad.
The portion was generous, tasty and very good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I went here mid-week with a couple of friends to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant was very quiet with only another table taken. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated but as someone else has reviewed it looks a little like its in the 1980s. The menu was not huge but it had enough choice however I think the steak muffin, cheese muffin and a veg muffin was a little too many muffin starters for my liking!!..... Very unusual! We skipped the starters and I have to admit the food was very well cooked and well presented and the portions were just right. The desserts were really good with great choices and again cooked to perfection and you get a large portion. I would say that this is a good place to go for a meal but not for a special occasion, however it could be better at a weekend when there are more people around.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Parky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

a splendid-looking hotel with wonderful public rooms, good food and exceedingly helpful staff. But be aware the magnificent flight of stairs isn't by-passed by a lift. And the musak was ghastly. But it is very well situated for both Old Harwich and the port of Harwich. Oh and it is amazingly handy for Asda

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harwich
1.0 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
4.0 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
456 reviews
14.3 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
573 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
11.5 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Property: The Tower Hotel
Address: Main Road, Harwich CO12 3PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel Harwich, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing