We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further for a charming B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Northleach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look no further for a charming B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

On our visit to the Cotswolds in October, my husband and I stayed at the Yew Tree Cottage B&B situated in Turkdean. Vivien’s B&B is a charming stone cottage located on a quiet country road surrounded by rolling, sheep-filled meadows and across the street from All Saints Church. It is very conveniently situated for visiting other Cotswold villages. Vivien's cottage gardens, including the playful topiaries, are delightful. The house is clean and comfortably furnished and has a giant Aga in the kitchen that kept us toasty. Vivien welcomed us with hot tea and delicious cakes and homemade preserves. We stayed in the large Beams Room which is quiet and cozily furnished with pleasant views onto All Saints Church and beyond. The bathroom is two steps down the hall and is a large, pretty room that is modern and well-equipped. Our first night we stayed in for a relaxing home-cooked English dinner. Vivien cooked homemade tomato soup, carmelized pork cutlets with her scrumptious“burnt” green beans, and a fruit crumble for dessert. Delicious! She serves a wholesome breakfast - coffee, tea, juice, cereals, preserves and fruit from her own fruit trees, eggs, bacon and sausage to order. We had a great time with Vivien, she is such a relaxed hostess and has a wicked sense of humor. Vivien, thanks again to you and your precious puppies for sharing your wonderful home with us!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmv1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
You still remember your stay at Yew Tree in detail - thanks so much for taking the time to Review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    10
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
150
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Yew Tree Cottage is everything you could want from a B&B, beautiful house on both the outside and the inside, idyllic village setting, quiet, warm, comfortable, with warm hospitality.
The breakfast in the lovely kitchen next to the Aga was a delight, with home made preserves and garden fruits.
Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Many thanks for your most appreciative Review- I hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Yew Tree Cottage is quite simply the most quintessential B&B experience we've had the pleasure of enjoying.

A warm welcome was provided by Vivien and her beautiful dogs, and tea and homemade cake was offered upon arrival. We opted to stay in the 'beamed bedroom', which is beautifully kept and affords views across the country lane.

The included breakfast was sumptuous. We could choose from various fruits from the garden, as well as homemade jams and breads. However my personal favourite was the cooked breakfast!

We opted to spend our last night having dinner at the cottage - an experience I'd urge any potential guests to try. The food was simply fantastic and we were very full by the end!

Overall, a fantastic home, a very welcoming hostess, and a great base from which to explore the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Get the beamed bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Your lovely review is much appreciated - I hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Yew Tree Cottage is one of the loveliest places you could wish to stay- in my case, the perfect peaceful break from London and hectic family life. All the good stuff that others before me have said is entirely true so I won’t regurgitate, other than to say that Vivien’s warm and relaxed approach to hosting is no doubt what gives this place its special charm- not to mention her wonderful cooking and delightful homey, kitchen complete with Aga and those divine dogs. Worth saying the location is ideal for anyone wishing to avoid the more hectic tourist spots but within easy reach of all you would wish to see- and has some absolutely wonderful circular walks right from the front door, with breathtaking Cotswolds views.

Thanks so much Vivien, hopefully see you again before too long!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredMumofMany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Many thanks for your most generous Review . Hopefully I will see you again when you need a RandR booster with "me" time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

On a 2 week UK trip from US, we had been in London for a week & looking forward to getting into the country. Not knowing much about the Cotswolds, we arrived in Northleach somewhat late & called to get directions. A few miles from the village is a much smaller village of Turkdean which seemed very isolated. We were welcomed by Vivien with a beautiful cottage & warm fire. What a nice oasis after London & driving for hours. Our room & bath were impeccable & nicely furnished & stocked. The bed was a dream after a lumpy, hard bed in London flat. And it was so quiet we could finally sleep well. The breakfast was perfect mix of fruit, cereal, toast, juice & homemade jams. Vivien offered to make eggs & bacon as well. Northleach is central to a range of sights in the area so we were busy visiting villages, Blenheim Palace, and stately manors. We stayed for 3 nights & were sad to leave. We can't wait to get back to England & hope to stay here again. Thank you Vivien!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel-de-peche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Many thanks for your l,ovely Review and memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We read the great reviews of Yew Tree Cottage on TripAdvisor and decided to book for two nights. We were not disappointed!

Yew Tree Cottage is very well appointed and cosy. It has two bedrooms. We chose the one with exposed beams as it was the largest and we had a lot of luggage. It does not have ensuite facilities but this was fine as the modern bathroom is just across the corridoor. The other bedroom is slightly smaller but does have ensuite.

Vivien is a delightful host and made us feel very welcome. She provided a great breakfast, including fresh plums from the garden. We have no hesitation in recommending Yew Tree Cottage in the peaceful village of Turkdean. We are sure you will love it.

Room Tip: The room with the exposed beams is really lovely and looks out to the old village church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wehousesit4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Many thanks for your great Review which is also helpful for potential guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Yew Tree Cottage B&B was one of the nicest places we stayed at, in our 3 week tour of England and Wales. It is a charming, renovated cottage full of character - the quintessential “English cottage” as imagined by most Australians. Set in a lovely, quiet location with birds singing at your windows in the morning, and surrounded by immaculate gardens. It has an ideal central location for touring the Cotswolds. Our helpful host Vivien knows the area so well. She gave us great advice on the best places to visit, based on our interests, and she leant us a handy detailed map. Vivien cooked a traditional English Breakfast that used fresh, local produce including tasty mushrooms and tomatoes that were to die for. Note that the village of Turkdean is just a Church and handful of cottages - we deliberately chose it for its ‘remoteness’ and enjoyed the solitude, and yet the nearest main-road towns are only 10 minutes drive away, so we had a choice of places for evening meals etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topiarist, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay while escaping from the madding crowd and visiting the best of the Cotswolds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northleach
15.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Central (West/A40) Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#1 of 6 in Northleach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Turkdean, Northleach GL54 3NT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Northleach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Northleach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottage B&B in the heart of the Cotswolds. This cottage B&B is a quintessential Cotswolds home providing every modern comfort in a very traditional setting. A perfect 'cottage break'! Located in a small village in the beautiful rolling countryside between Cheltenham, Stow-on-the-Wold and Bourton-on-the-Water, Yew Tree Cottage serves as an ideal base from which to explore the Cotswolds. Recently refurbished, Yew Tree Cottage provides new age comfort with old world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Yew Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Cottage Hotel Northleach
Yew Tree Cottage b&b
Yew Tree Cottage Bed And Breakfast Northleach, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing