We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for walkers”
Review of Underhill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dursley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Underhill House
Ranked #2 of 6 Dursley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2013

For those walking the Cotswold Way, Underhill House B&B is ideally located on the route as you leave the uninspiring town of Dursely. The room was basic, but spacious, this was appreciated after many very small rooms. Gill Howard is friendly and helpful, and this accommodation is good value for the cost, and recommended for walkers. The breakfast was good and plentiful, and the B&B is next to the famous Old Spot pub, with an excellent Italian restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WisconsinMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Underhill House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Our first glimpse of the exterior made us nervous--although we'd been driving for hours so were a bit jumpy. But we fell in love with the B&B and with Gill, the proprietor. We had the attic room, which was fabulous--beautiful light, a nice couch, shelves of interesting books, the ability to make our own tea and coffee. My husband found the bed to be rather hard. There is a gorgeous bathtub, no shower, but as there was no one else staying at the time, we were able to use the shower in the room below us. Gill is a terrific landlady--helpful in every way, from recommending places to visit and places to eat, offering to book us reservations, and making whatever we liked for breakfast. Lovely breakfast room and great food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjdRochesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

If you're walking the Cotswold Way, this is a great place to stay. A cosy house with only 3 guest rooms (I think). We had the cheapest room, which was supposed to be a slightly smaller value option. It was one of the roomiest rooms we had on our way, with a recently refurbished ensuite bathroom, and spotlessly clean. Excellent value for money - in other places in the Cotswolds we paid £10 more for smaller, colder and less comfortable rooms.

Another great factor when staying here is that the building next door is The Old Spot, a fantastic little pub with a fireplace and great selection of real ale. (It won CAMRA' s National Pub of the Year in 2008). It's also close to Dursley's main street and surroundings for shopping or eating, and the Cotswold Way passes right by the house.

Solid breakfast and friendly service - we could use the computer in the breakfast room for printouts before we headed off. Very convenient. Would easily recommend for walkers or others visiting Dursley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stesath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Underhill house B and B, the bedrooms are clean, newly decorated and had personal touches. the owners of the b and b were able to adapt the bedrooms to my family needs by adding beds for the little ones, also offered an outstanding service ensuring we had everything we needed. The breakfast was brilliant and we will re visit and recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

It was a family visit so we only wanted to stop overnight but we will go back. Both rooms are immacculate. The top floor 'attic' room is very roomy and bright, with a large bathroom with bath. My mother had the lower floor room which had a shower (a large shower). The breakfast was excellent - cooked to order. As we weren't there to do any walking or anything I only had scrambled egg on toast but the scrambled egg was lovely. My partner had a full breakfast, and if you are there for the walking or other activity it will set you up nicely. Gillian is very welcoming and we would heartily recommend the B&B to anyone.
The Old Spot pub next door is also recommended - it's a proper pub with good ales, and a very good selection of malt whisky (unusual in a pub so far South).
The only drawback in Dursley is it's lack of eateries, unless you want Indian, and there was an Italian in the process of being fitted out whilst we were there. Although The Old Spot only does Monday Suppers, if you are after something else it's sister pub in Eastington (The Old Badger Inn) - about 10 minutes drive - does lovely food.

Room Tip: The attic room en-suite does only have a bath, no shower. It's a lovely bath - no complaints; it...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

What a find! We happened on Underhill House after a couple of so-so nights walking the Cotswold Way. Jim was a very gracious host and even went next door to the Old Spot pub to book us a table for dinner. Side note: if you're lucky enough to be staying on a Monday night, do yourself a favour and dine at the Old Spot. It's the only night of the week they do dinner and it was superb.

We stayed in the double room on the top floor and it was divine. Large, quiet and private with a nice bathroom. We had a lovely breakfast and were given full access to the computer and phone to book the next night's accommodation in Little Sodbury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BCsmileyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at Underhill for one night in order to attend a family gathering in Dursley. There are two rooms available, both en suite and we had booked both. The room in the attic was large and airy and the bathroom had a fabulous, large bath, the other room was a bit smaller but nevertheless very comfortable had a nicely set out shower room.
The house is set out in a most beautiful walled garden.
Underhill is situated right next to a real ale pub - the Old Spot - we heard quite a bit of hubbub at night but only background chatter so not too disturbing - it is not a loud party pub.
Breakfast was tasty with lots of tea and coffee and top ups as required.
We enjoyed the stay sufficiently to book again for another family event in July - we would definitely recommend Underhill to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobbysGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dursley
3.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
437 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
432 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
5.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underhill House

Address: 4 Hill Road, Dursley GL11 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Dursley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dursley
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Underhill House Dursley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing