We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Underhill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dursley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Underhill House
Ranked #2 of 6 Dursley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2013

For three adults and child walking part of the Cotswold Way this place was great. Spacious and comfortable rooms with tasteful decor. Loved the high ceilings and white walls combined with a few pieces of art work and antique furniture as well as having mod cons such as TV and tea making facilities. There was a bath with shower in one or our rooms and large shower in the other we had. The bubble bath and biscuits provided were also welcome treats and we appeciated the good quality linen and towels. Great breakfast too served on lovely china. The Italian restaurant nearby was excellent and a cosy character real-ale pub is right next door.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Underhill House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I feel almost mean not giving this the five star rating when the welcome and the hospitality was so good, but there were a couple of things that might be better. The good things....a big room (the top floor attic), well decorated/furnished, very free atmosphere, big hearty breakfast, really pleasant host. The niggles.... no lock on the room door, no shower in the bathroom (not even over the bath), and maybe the bed/mattress could be better - also no blinds on the Velux windows so it got light early! Also note Dursley isn't over-blessed with restaurants. The pub next door does a great pint or five and had a great atmosphere but only serves Monday. The Italian - San Remo - was a great find however and a bit of an oasis in desert. It might look a bit questionable, but was really very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bertiembingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Underhill House is right on the Cotswold Way path and very near shops and restaurants so very convenient. We arrived drenched and the lovely owner didn't turn a hair and had pegs over a radiator so our waterproofs could dry. The room was beautiful, with an excellent shower, though a bath would have been nice after our long wet walk. The beds were very comfortable and the refreshment tray in the room generously supplied. Breakfast was excellent and my friend's special diet well catered for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

For those walking the Cotswold Way, Underhill House B&B is ideally located on the route as you leave the uninspiring town of Dursely. The room was basic, but spacious, this was appreciated after many very small rooms. Gill Howard is friendly and helpful, and this accommodation is good value for the cost, and recommended for walkers. The breakfast was good and plentiful, and the B&B is next to the famous Old Spot pub, with an excellent Italian restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WisconsinMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Our first glimpse of the exterior made us nervous--although we'd been driving for hours so were a bit jumpy. But we fell in love with the B&B and with Gill, the proprietor. We had the attic room, which was fabulous--beautiful light, a nice couch, shelves of interesting books, the ability to make our own tea and coffee. My husband found the bed to be rather hard. There is a gorgeous bathtub, no shower, but as there was no one else staying at the time, we were able to use the shower in the room below us. Gill is a terrific landlady--helpful in every way, from recommending places to visit and places to eat, offering to book us reservations, and making whatever we liked for breakfast. Lovely breakfast room and great food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjdRochesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

If you're walking the Cotswold Way, this is a great place to stay. A cosy house with only 3 guest rooms (I think). We had the cheapest room, which was supposed to be a slightly smaller value option. It was one of the roomiest rooms we had on our way, with a recently refurbished ensuite bathroom, and spotlessly clean. Excellent value for money - in other places in the Cotswolds we paid £10 more for smaller, colder and less comfortable rooms.

Another great factor when staying here is that the building next door is The Old Spot, a fantastic little pub with a fireplace and great selection of real ale. (It won CAMRA' s National Pub of the Year in 2008). It's also close to Dursley's main street and surroundings for shopping or eating, and the Cotswold Way passes right by the house.

Solid breakfast and friendly service - we could use the computer in the breakfast room for printouts before we headed off. Very convenient. Would easily recommend for walkers or others visiting Dursley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stesath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Underhill house B and B, the bedrooms are clean, newly decorated and had personal touches. the owners of the b and b were able to adapt the bedrooms to my family needs by adding beds for the little ones, also offered an outstanding service ensuring we had everything we needed. The breakfast was brilliant and we will re visit and recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dursley
3.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
437 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
432 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
5.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underhill House

Address: 4 Hill Road, Dursley GL11 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Dursley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dursley
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Underhill House Dursley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing