We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Underhill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dursley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Underhill House
Ranked #2 of 6 Dursley B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very central in the village, parking in free local car park across the road from B&B. Rooms are large and welcoming, well equiped too. Our room also had a settee, massive bed and the room had loads of windows that make it light and airy, plus a new shower/bathroom. Next door to The Old Spot pub which is worth a trip to Dursley alone. Made very welcome at Underhill House, breakfast was taliored to what you wanted to eat too. Hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you can plan around this town while doing the CW, do it. The town is not quaint like the others in the CW and the food choices are terrible. We had an Indian and an Italian restaurant to choose from and selected the Italian. It was probably our worse meal in the CW. The B&B is next to a pub,so be prepared to her notice until 11:00 PM or so.the rooms are spacious and new. The hosts tried reluctantly to be accommodating with our 7:00 AM departure, which seems to be a common issue.

Room Tip: Few rooms they all appeared OK. Try to stays way from the one next to the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkeronearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The B & B was wonderful. We were greeted in such a friendly manor. The room was big and comfy. We asked if there was laundry facilities in town and she offered to do it for us for a nominal fee. What a joy to have clean clothes to continue on our journey on the Cotswold Way. We were walking in July when the temps were in the 30s C or 90s F. Her kindness was much appreciated! I've given this a five star because she deserves it. However, the B & B is right next to a pub and it is noisy at night. She has no control over this, so she still deserves 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

For three adults and child walking part of the Cotswold Way this place was great. Spacious and comfortable rooms with tasteful decor. Loved the high ceilings and white walls combined with a few pieces of art work and antique furniture as well as having mod cons such as TV and tea making facilities. There was a bath with shower in one or our rooms and large shower in the other we had. The bubble bath and biscuits provided were also welcome treats and we appeciated the good quality linen and towels. Great breakfast too served on lovely china. The Italian restaurant nearby was excellent and a cosy character real-ale pub is right next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I feel almost mean not giving this the five star rating when the welcome and the hospitality was so good, but there were a couple of things that might be better. The good things....a big room (the top floor attic), well decorated/furnished, very free atmosphere, big hearty breakfast, really pleasant host. The niggles.... no lock on the room door, no shower in the bathroom (not even over the bath), and maybe the bed/mattress could be better - also no blinds on the Velux windows so it got light early! Also note Dursley isn't over-blessed with restaurants. The pub next door does a great pint or five and had a great atmosphere but only serves Monday. The Italian - San Remo - was a great find however and a bit of an oasis in desert. It might look a bit questionable, but was really very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bertiembingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Underhill House is right on the Cotswold Way path and very near shops and restaurants so very convenient. We arrived drenched and the lovely owner didn't turn a hair and had pegs over a radiator so our waterproofs could dry. The room was beautiful, with an excellent shower, though a bath would have been nice after our long wet walk. The beds were very comfortable and the refreshment tray in the room generously supplied. Breakfast was excellent and my friend's special diet well catered for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

For those walking the Cotswold Way, Underhill House B&B is ideally located on the route as you leave the uninspiring town of Dursely. The room was basic, but spacious, this was appreciated after many very small rooms. Gill Howard is friendly and helpful, and this accommodation is good value for the cost, and recommended for walkers. The breakfast was good and plentiful, and the B&B is next to the famous Old Spot pub, with an excellent Italian restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dursley
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
5.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stinchcombe Hill House Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in North Nibley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underhill House

Property: Underhill House
Address: 4 Hill Road, Dursley GL11 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Dursley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dursley
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Underhill House Dursley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing