We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kilcot Inn(Newent)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
11
16
17
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
16
17
18
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned from a roadtrip around the south of England. We stayed here on our return leg. We rolled up on our bikes (the motored variety) & shown a fairly secure place to leave them, out of view and quite satisfactory. We were greeted by a young, very friendly & warm manager who showed us our room, a twin! Not their fault, my husband doesn't know the difference between doubles & twins! It was an en-suite situated right at the top of this very quiant, typically English, old hostelry. It was clean, un-cluttered (important when you have leathers, helmet & other biking gear) with a selection of shampoo, hair conditioner & shower gel. We enjoyed a reviving shower & went down to have a refreshing beer & food. Both were excellent! I would have liked the stuffed chicken breast off the specials board, only to be disappointed as they had just sold their last portion so I decided to have a Sirloin & my Husband ordered Scampi. The meals came in record time & were spot on. I like my steak rare but rarely (excuse the pun) get it rare, as far as I was concerned the steak was beautiful & I had it on good authority the Scampi was the same. We sat outside in the little beer garden which is a lovely chilled area with music playing & enjoyed the quiet time just chatting.

I'm sure readers of this review are waiting for the 'But' considering some of the previous reviews, well there isn't one. We both slept like logs, enjoyed our breakfast which we booked at 9am (we had a choice of times when we would like to have it) packed up and hit the road having had a thoroughly good stay. To comment on the breakfast, it was served in a relaxed atmosphere, there was a choice of cereals with juices that you could help yourself to. We ordered a cooked breakfast with toast, when it arrived it was huge but gorgeous & served by a friendly chef who was interested in where we had been & were going.

Newent itself is a fascinating Tudor market town with friendly people who are clearly proud of their town & to sum up the George Hotel, if you want good, honest accommodation at a very reasonable price stay here but if you are looking for something more sod off to Gloucester! At the end of the day it is a pub with fascinating history, it is what it is! Your choice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gee2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

We went in for the BBQ they had yesterday (9th) and it was lovely. Sat in the beer garden which is a little sun trap, yet could do with a sweep to get rid of the cig butts on floor as people obviously cannot use the many ash trays provided!! The regulars were very friendly. The chef doing the BBQ was also very friendly. Both me and my partner had the George burger which was delicious and for £4 you can't go wrong!! It was what I considered a bargain as it was thick and juicy and flavoursome! All in all a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hannahlouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We arrived on Sun night (5 May, Bank holiday weekend) and was greeted by a loud disco. A waiter found someone to check us in, we were shown to our room which the owner said "luckily it's on the top floor, because the disco will be going on until 12.30 am". Room was clean, 3 single beds with nice clean duvets in there (we booked a double), TV, kettle - perfectly adequate for the £50 we paid. Wardrobe smelt like it hasn't been opened for months though and there was a dirty blanket scrambled up in there. Bathroom was at the end of the corridor, but clean and spacious with towels provided. We went out to eat to escape the loud disco and drunken shouting. We came back and as promised, the disco ended just after midnight. Unfortunately the drunken shouting, rows and swearing outside continued for an hour longer - well past 1am. Since there is no double glazing - we could hear every word. We finally got to sleep only to be woken up by almighty row in the hotel itself around 4am. The drunken shouting was so loud, we could hear every word. A drunk man was shouting at the top of his voice that he is going to kill the woman, there was a lot of swearing and banging. We were wondering if we should call the police, when another male voice appeared trying to calm the situation. It was extremely unpleasant and almost scary. This went on for over an hour. After that was hard getting back to sleep, plus by then I couldn't wait to leave! We went downstairs for breakfast at 9am to find a single guy in the kitchen trying to cook breakfast for about 10 people at the same time. It took good 20 minutes to be served and I felt sorry for the guy, as he clearly was hardly coping. Breakfast was too greasy, there was juice provided, coffee was good. All in all - not a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBL247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodri Y, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

We are effectively a pub with rooms and we do try to put on entertainment in the main bar area for both the local community and for the residents (Quiz nights, Oen Mic nights, Bands, DJs, etc). With it being a bank holiday a few of the locals may have been enjoying their extended holiday which may have caused it to seem slightly 'rowdy' but it is very rare to experience any fights and would certainly not class it as a 'rough pub' however some raised voices from the street may be heard as we are located within the hub of the town.

In regards to the arguement within the hotel it is quite hard for us to control what is happening in other residents rooms at 4am in the morning and we can only apologise that you regrettably had to witness this unfortunate event during your stay.

With the breakfast, in a high percentage of our reviews and personal feedback the breakfast is highly praised and often specifically complimented upon. Furthermore the customer can order whatever they would like for breakfast, be it a full cooked breakfast, cooked sandwiches, a selection of cereals, homemade museli, toast with a selection of jams and marmalades, selection of fruit juices, tea and coffee, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Earplugs were not enough. Scary place. Drunks milling around outside mooning people & shouting until 1:30am. Avoid room 1 as you won't get much sleep as it's right above the bar.

Food is good for the price.

After 6 nights of little sleep I left & went elsewhere to get a decent night's sleep as I was completely exhausted.

Room Tip: Try another town
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gothitjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed in family room during Cheltenham races week together with 2 friends.We really enjoyed our stay ..the room was nice and clean and cleaned every day..breakfast was very good and the pub part of the building was nice warm and friendly with quality ales at reasonable prices.it really is a very friendly place with no pretentiousness and we have paid a deposit to come back next year.Can thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews