We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newent Golf Club and Lodges
Ranked #2 of 5 Newent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem...”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Just back from a few days stay at Newent Golf Club and B&B.I came across this place by accident 6 or 7 yrs ago due to the infamous floods in and around Gloucester,what a stroke of luck,this place is fantastic.The family are so friendly and welcoming and its set in beautiful surroundings in the Gloucestershire countryside.Stayed here about 8 times now and it feels like coming home when you arrive.There is a wonderful atmosphere about the place and you do feel like part of the family its magical.The rooms are kind of like your own little chalet with all the mod cons ect and powerful showers and so peaceful you sleep well no probs.The golf course is right on your doorstep,doesn't get any better than this.The breakfast is bang on you can have your fruit, cereal and yogurt ect and the full english is cooked to your liking,takes some beating.I'm always a little sad to leave here,what a place....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
41
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have just got back from spending a few days at the Newent Golf club and B&B with my dad. We went to play a few rounds of golf and shut off from our busy lives. We got exactly what we wanted and plenty more. A warm welcome, a lovely breakfast, kind and attentive staff, a friendly atmosphere and a challenging little 9 hole course that really caused me some trouble in some areas. (Though i am very much an enthusiast, doesn't stop me 3 putting my way to bogies with shocking regularity) Tom and Maggie were great hosts but also great company, the golfing community at Newent are relaxed and very friendly. We fully intend on making our trip to Newent a annual event and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed for the weekend here. It is a family owned and run place. Everyone is so friendly and helpful: I almost felt like I was one of the family! The breakfast is amazing. Great selection of food plus full English breakfast all included in the price. Lovely room with heating always on, perfectly clean, modern yet country surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnsmedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked on spec through laterooms when we had to divert our business trip.
Great value, clean and warm rooms and a hearty breakfast.
No evening meals at the time but the local pub was great value too.
The owners couldn't have been more accommodating.
Hope to stay again if we're passing that way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales uk
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stopped here for just one night but would have been happy to have stayed longer. The room was bright, clean and very warm, despite the icy weather. Very comfy beds and a well-equipped ensuite shower room. Located not far from Gloucester in a very quiet and peaceful spot at a golf club with a small courtyard surrounded by the bedrooms. Breakfast was plentiful and beautifully cooked, the hosts were friendly and I got the impression that nothing would have been too much trouble for them.
Will definitely stay here again if we are in the area!!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are of the same quality having been recently built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Rooms are simple but have everything you could need. Best of all - only about 20 yards from the first tee. Staff were delightful. I feel like you could ask for anything and they would do their best to oblige. The course is a nine-hole with wonderful views. Not too challenging, which makes a pleasant change for the less gifted golfers amongst us!!!
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had to cancel at the last minute because of illness. We were charged the full rate for the night, including two breakfasts we had not had. Newent is clearly very hawkish in applying its booking conditions. Take care!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewentGolfClub, Owner at Newent Golf Club and Lodges, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Our terms and conditions are clearly stated on our website; if cancelled or modified up to 2 days before date of arrival a fixed amount of 25 GBP will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no show, 100% of the first night will be charged. You cancelled 1 hour before your check in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newent
11.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
4.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
7.4 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kilcot Inn
Kilcot Inn
#3 of 5 in Newent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Newent
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.8 mi away
Malswick Mill
Malswick Mill
#4 of 22 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newent Golf Club and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newent Golf Club and Lodges

Property: Newent Golf Club and Lodges
Address: Cold Harbour Lane, Newent GL18 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Newent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newent Golf Club and Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are en-suite with remote control televisions, hairdryer and hospitality tray. Each room has its own entrance onto a landscaped courtyard. A full English breakfast is served in the licensed Clubhouse. Breakfast is served between 7.30 And 9.30Am. Whether you need a single, twin or double room for 1 night or more please do not hesitate to contact us for availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Newent Golf Club and Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing