We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Break away ruined”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Choirs Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 5 Newent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Break away ruined”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Very stuck up staff bad manors. Food was not very high standard on this day won't go again they must of been having bad day.the wine we chosen would of been better on the chips sadly can't recommend this place to anyone

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayrep1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    100
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
23
279
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I bought this through a discount website (not sure which one) for a lunch and tour for two. Didn't know what to expect but it was such a great day out. We arrived for lunch and the restaurant is nicer than it looks on the website. We were offered to go straight to our table or to have a drink first. At the table, the food was absolutely delicious - so much nicer than we had expected and fantastic by any standards. With the tour we had a bottle of wine included and we could choose to have with our lunch, take home, or start it and take the rest home.

After lunch we met in the shop to begin our tour. The weather was pleasant and our tour guide was fantastic... can't remember his name, but he had a great sense of humour. We wandered along the edge of some vineyards then went into the winery. It was really informative and enjoyable, sampling wine along the way with our complimentary glasses. We ended up back at the shop and had the choice to go off into the (summer house / pavilion?) to watch a DVD which finishing our wine, or go back to the restaurant for coffee etc. It was a fab day out and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimsby_Girl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a wonderful weekend (May 2014) staying in one of the three lodges with our other 2 groups of friends who also stayed in the other 2 lodges. The rooms were excellent, clean and warm, in fact better than some 5 star hotels! The surroundings and views were outstanding. The Restaurant, Staff and Food and of course Wine, were first class and again worthy of a 5 star rating. We were treated impeccably. The wine tour and tasting afternoon was very interesting and good fun to. Bart was very informative!

I would recommend this wonderful break for yourselves or as a special treat for someone. It is well worth it and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you can, book the Lodges as they really are great rooms, especially if you go with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We decided to visit Three Choirs Vineyard today for my husband's birthday with the intention of taking the tour and buying a case of wine. As this was an impromptu outing we had not booked a table in the restaurant. The journey took longer than we had anticipated owing to delays on the M5 and so we arrived at the restaurant at 14:03. It was clear from the expression on the waiting staff/manager's face that we were not welcome. Indeed there was a distinct look of 'what are you here for? I hope you don't expect to get a table', written all over her face.

We were told that last orders was at 14:00 but she offered to away and ask if they could squeeze us in.

Although the restaurant was by no means full and we had arrived only 3 minutes after last orders we were told they could not offer us a table.

Because of the frosty reception we left the vineyard without going on the tour or buying a case of wine. I gather from other reviews that the vineyard and its wine are lovely and so it is a pity the restaurant staff and particularly the Welsh manageress aren't interested in giving a little bit extra to help make the vineyard a success.

I am not a professional complainer but I felt compelled to write of our experience mainly so the owners of the vineyard are made aware that visitors aren't receiving a warm welcome in all areas of the business.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Familyof5Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The Travelzoo offer was too good to miss so we took advantage of the deal of wine tasting and bed and breakfast. As it was my birthday we upgraded to a lodge for the night. We also had to take our 10 week old baby with us and they we're very welcoming and accommodating. The vineyard is very pretty and the staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. The lodges are very nice, although a little walk from the restaurant and bar which is not great when raining which is was when we were there (and you can't drive as you've been tasting wine!), could do with a golf buggy for each lodge! Only slight negative was the bedroom/living space in the lodge was quite dusty, bathroom was very clean though! Breakfast was nice. All in all a nice stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hayrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We were given a voucher for a meal and a tour of the vineyard as a gift for our 25th wedding anniversary. The food and the service was superb. The staff were very attentive. The tour given by Bart was really interesting and informative combined with tasting 4 of their wines, which were all so good, despite my scepticism, that we bought a few bottles in the shop afterwards. A great experience all round and one that has changed my view on English wines forever.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BungleZip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We took advantage of a Travelzoo offer for wine tour, tasting, accommodation and breakfast. From the moment we arrived it was ilke beingon a vineyard in France (the glorious weather helped). Wine tour great, room large and spacious and well appointed. Really enjoyed the bottle of wine on the patio overlooking the vineyard. Restaurant prices are a bit high but the food was superb and the service. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldfinch51a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newent
15.7 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
7.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Choirs Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Choirs Vineyards

Property: Three Choirs Vineyards
Address: | Glouchestershire, Newent GL18 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Newent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Choirs Vineyards 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated to explore the beautiful Cotswolds and the Forest of Dean. If you're planning a short break, a romantic retreat or just a quiet weekend away from it all, we'd be delighted to welcome you at our vineyard. Our rooms are situated in an idyllic location overlooking the vine clad valleys and our lodges are perfect for those who are looking for something closer to nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
3 Choirs Vineyards
Three Choirs Vineyards Hotel Newent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing