We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular but not exciting”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Britannia Inn

Britannia Inn
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Warm bar and dinning, friendly staff, relax and comforting!!
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Popular but not exciting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A pub asking restaurant prices, the tables are close to the bar which can be noisy. Food is average. Not a great experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BJohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    88
    38
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Burger”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I visited last week with a friend and had the worst pub burger I've ever had (I had one bite) Nothing to do with cooking skills, rather a proprietor satisfied to serve cheap meat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevinjhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner a couple of nights ago. The food is superb. I had an absolutely delicious goats cheese and walnut salad (and it's not often I get that excited about salad, but I devoured this one!). Husband had the seafood linguine which he said was delicious also.

They didn't have a separate children's menu, so we just ordered an adult pizza and chips to share between the kids. They did say afterwards that they can do child portions of food which I didn't realise.

It was a shame we had to wait so long for our bill at the end (especially when you have children that are getting restless!) so the service was a little slow. But that could just be a one off and we would definitely come back here if we are in the area again. The food really was delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Incambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food great, service poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We visited The Brittania on a lovely Bank Holiday Sunday. We decided to have a late lunch & the pub was quite quiet at the time with plenty of empty tables and several waiting staff.
We both had the roast beef which was simply delicious and my other half had his cooked slightly more to his liking. All the vegetables were beautifully cooked and I particularly lived the red cabbage.
Puddings were an over priced for what we got and rather disappointing compared with the main meal. I've never seen panna cotta served as a slice from a slab before!
I also had a proper Pimms made with fresh fruit and mint.
Service, however, was really pretty poor in that it was slow and we felt like we were being encouraged to keep going up to the bar to order. I like a restaurant where you are given plenty if time to make up your mind but this was ridiculous, even though there were around 4 members of staff around in a nearly empty pub. When I eventually have up and went to find someone to pay some of this became clear from the advert behind the bar looking for experience bar staff. Much needed I would say as front of house was letting down the back of house.

Helpful?
2 Thank Worcester_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Evening meal with the family. Staff happy to accommodate our 9yo's dairy allergy with a cheese free pizza and checked with the kitchen to be sure. Friendly staff, would definitely come again. Free parking just around the back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britannia Inn also viewed

Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing