We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast at Hobbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobbs House Bakery

Hobbs House Bakery
Ranked #12 of 27 Restaurants in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our Bistro menu celebrates British food and produce of the South West, making best use of Hobbs House Bakery's handmade bread and wood fired oven. We have a focus on the carefully sourced; everything is bought directly from the producers and cooked with real care and imagination. We put a a strong focus on the traditional cuts of meat from our butchery alongside fish that may have fallen from favour, but lack nothing in flavour. We serve great teas and coffee from local roasters Extract. This is all complemented by a selection of local ales and ciders as well as our comprehensive wine list, put together by Nailsworth-based Raffles Wine. "Hobbs House has become one of the jewels in Nailsworth's crown", Gloucestershire Echo
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Hobbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great place for breakfast! Yummy cakes for afterwards! Friendly staff - lady from Melbourne especially!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 124Irish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bakery to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Their cakes and bread are marvellous ... they do however make rather a large cappuccino, much to my horror. Still, this is not to take away from the awesomeness of their scones, rolls and other pastries.
Do be careful if you buy something that looks like a beautifully soft pecan Danish - nearly broke all my crowns as I bit greedily into its luscious brown centre this morning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DohaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“In 10 years of visiting - just had a poor experience - management needed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is a great place and very popular. I've been going for years. Sadly, had a disaster this week and its important that its just a blip and hopefully not a trend! So, there were lots of staff and no excuses, but service was dopy and slow. I ordered the burger and asked to pay extra for gherkins, whereby I was told no need to pay extra, as it comes with lots of gherkins. You can guess what happened, whilst reading the paper the burger arrived, when I started, I noticed no gherkins!! After ages trying to get attention (three staff talking gossip and not looking!!!), eventually going to the counter myself, and asking for the promised and assured gherkins ........ to my horror and amazement the intelligent looking lad brought me sliced cucumber in a dish!!!! Well that's a 1st!!! Never had this before ..... a Bistro with staff that don't know the difference between Gherkin and cucumber!! What's amazing the chap assured me it was a different type of Gherkin and not Cucumber, so being the placid shy person I am, I reluctantly accepted and allowed him to go back to his corner and fall asleep, to find it was Cucumber!! The helpful bemused lady apologised when I ordered pudding - their famous bread & butter beauty. When this arrived it was stone cold when I specifically asked for it to be hot! So, a poor experience which suggests some management focus and training required. In fairness the lady was very embarrassed and did not charge me for the 'not eaten' pudding - I couldn't be bothered to ask once again for an error to be corrected - so read the paper and saved the weight gain instead!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great bakery but horrid burgers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The bakery is wonderful and there is lots to recommend this little cafe, nice position, friendly atmosphere, BUT the burgers we had really were not nice, they were dense and tasted a bit old.... Green chili mayo to accompany was pretty tasteless. A pity. Lovely custard tarts though and the service was nice. Noisy chairs on the wooden floor too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sriv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict gone wrong, disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Okay, I know this place is famous and does some pretty good stuff. The take-away bread and butter pudding is a thing of sheer beauty. But...

I breakfasted there with a friend and ordered Eggs Benedict. The first thing wrong was the ham, seemed to be of the supermarket style thin sliced variety. The portion I had was extremely fatty with lots of gristly bits in. It was extremely unpleasant.

Secondly, the hollandaise sauce was far too thick. In an EB it should be runny but it had the consistency of clotted cream. If it had been served with smoked salmon or asparagus it would've been great, but not in an Eggs Benedict.

I won't be rushing back, which is a shame because it certainly promises a lot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SanClemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hobbs House Bakery also viewed

Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 

Been to Hobbs House Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing