We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fourth visit - just as good”
Review of mark@street - CLOSED

mark@street
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fourth visit - just as good”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Went there on a Wednesday night for our fourth time. The restaurant was running a celebration menu for their 3rd anniversary. I was initially worried because this menu only gave three choices of starter and three mains. Normally the A la Carte has more options. I have to say though that the food was exceptional as ever. The chicken terrine starter was full of surprises such as a wafer of crispy chicken skin and the most outstanding chicken liver quenelle. Probably the best starter I have had anywhere. Main courses were just as good. The sharing desert was superb, particularly the chocolate fondant - again probably the best I've had.
We also opted for cheese to follow. The dairy that produces the cheeses is only a couple of miles away and their produce is as good as you can taste anywhere.
Lovely wine and great coffee too.
If this restaurant was in Cheltenham or London it would be packed all the time. I keep spreading the word and it seems to be getting a serious following now.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shagnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    27
    4
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High quality dining”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Contemporary menu with a light touch; delicious combinations of foods, beautifully presented. Great wines available. Low key but professional staff. A real find and to be recommended for anyone looking for seriously good food. We were a party of 14; the unanimous verdict: WOW!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rufustfirefly_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Diamond”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

By far the most outstanding meal I have tasted. The service was professional and the standard of food was beyond believable.
Ambience was pitched perfectly with a friendly atmosphere. Mark is an inspirational chef and I will be going back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy scrummy in my tummy”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was the second time I've eaten here and both times have been left impressed and full to the brim. Have had the tasting menu on both occasions. 5 courses, an amuse bouche and petit fours with coffee. Washed down with 3 fantastic glasses of wine all for £60 per head. The tasting menu provides the anticipation of not knowing what is coming next which all adds to the experience. Each course was presented beautifully and packed full of flavour. The lady front of house is very pleasant and knowledgable. The wine was just delicious and all so reasonably priced. It felt like a special meal but one that didn't break the bank. I very much look forward to going there again. Give this man a Michelin star, stat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McFlozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Will not get my vote”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

When we said the main course pork was dry and tough, to be told that it was cooked in water and therefore it should be fine was an unacceptable response. We were offered a desert as compensation despite our decision not to have desert and we ended up being presented with a bill without any recognition of our complaint. Nevertheless the issue was that the main course was unacceptable - dry, tough and salty. We paid the full bill and left never to return.

All such a shame as the starters were fine and the wine was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed mark@street also viewed

Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing