We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location but poor customer focus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely location but poor customer focus”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We ate here as a group of 8 on a Sunday night in early May. The location is delightful and we imagine it would be pleasant in the summer to sit outside overlooking the water. We phoned about 7pm on the Sunday evening to book a table and were told that one would be available by 8.30pm. Sunday evening is the "Sunday Roast" evening. We arrived about 8.15 pm and were shown to our table. We had to ask twice for the menus and then waited about 15 minutes for our orders to be taken. When several of us ordered roast meal options we were then told "so sorry, the roasts were all gone before 8pm"!! why not tell us when we were given the menus...or when we booked. Things went downhill further. The menu options other than roasts were limited. The meals took an age to arrive and when they did were very ordinary or worse - the Caesar salad consisted of an overcooked chicken fillet over the top of tired, brown edged lettuce.

It took constant requests to get wine and soft drink refills. In fact, one wine was ordered, the wait staff asked twice when it would arrive - it never did but was still on the bill (it was taken off the bill, but no apology given) The restaurant didn't seem over busy by that time, and there appeared to be plenty of wait staff - however, it just seemed poor in terms of customer focus and organisation overall. What a pity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Naturally we are sorry you have had cause to write this review. You mention your visit was in May and it is a little difficult to pinpoint the staffing situation at that time without knowing more. With regard to the menu choice, we introduced a completely new Sunday Menu concept during early May and we had a short blip judging demand on the launch! That doesn't help you I know but I can assure you we have got it right now. All our staff are aware of your comments and we can only apologize for the experience you had with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    169
    73
    28
    13
See reviews for
121
216
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here for one night for a family wedding. Our room, number 30,was in an outbuilding and was very spacious with a huge bed! It was on a lower floor and was quite dark but on one of the hottest days of the year stayed really cool. The hotel setting is wonderful, we had a drink on the patio and watched the ducks playing about in the water. We had a very good breakfast - there was plenty of choice and the food was very good. The only complaint would be about the wait to check out - the receptionist seemed more interested in her phone call than seeing to the long queue of people trying to pay. However, we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan190722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Egypt Mill, lying alongside the Nailsworth Stream, is a delightful setting for coffee on one of the hottest days of the year, more especially sitting by the waters edge watching the ducks and moor hens floating by; but, oh what a shame that the service is so poor. On arrival we ordered a pot of coffee and biscuits then went to a table by the waters edge. We waited, and waited then, after twenty five minutes with no sign of the coffee, though three sets of other customers had arrived much later than us and received theirs, we asked after ours. At first the waitress denied that we had ordered it. We said we had and had paid in advance. She departed and eventually came back with our order. No apology, no excuse given for such poor service. We were not best pleased.
Our table, a wooden affair, was mucky, underneath lay cutlery from the night before. The place was littered with cigarette butts. There was no indication that this was a smoking area i.e. no notice announcing a smoking area nor sign of ashtrays. However we had to suffer from one person lighting up and stinking out the morning’s fresh air. Had we known that the only respite from smokers would have been indoors we certainly would not have stayed for coffee!

So beware, the staff appear to allow the anti-social habit of smoking out of doors; a great shame on a very hot summer’s morning; an even greater shame on such a delightful ancient Cotswold mill.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I am sorry that there was a mix up with this coffee order and that the response from our staff member was not as it should have been. This will be followed up at a staff meeting. We do clean up our outside areas daily, unfortunately this weekend our handy man was off sick and the job was not done as thoughally as normal. There were a lot of cigarette ends which were cleared away on the Monday morning. We have on order a sign asking guests to respect other people when smoking and hopefully this will help on this matter. Most guests that enjoy a cigarette do so responsibly and we do our best to provide a comfortable environment for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

we recently here stayed for two nights for a family wedding. The place is absolutely beautiful with running waterfalls and amazingly pretty gardens, lovely food, massive bed. The staff were very attentive and helpful but that is where the good points end unfortunately . Both myself and my partner are disabled and this place has an unbelievable amount of steps bordering on ridiculous . in our room for example you had the toilet on one level and the sink on another level up and shower on another level . To get to reception you had to go up a flight of steps, to get to the bar you had to go down a flight of steps. Then to get outside to sit you had to go down another flight of steps this is how it goes at Egypt Mill. The outside steps as you leave the bar area were in my opinion shockingly dangerous . They were so badly worn they were almost diagonal and you could easily slip and twist your ankle. This was really dangerous for my partner who is blind and his guide dog really had a hard job helping him with all the steps. Another thing i should mention is the door leaving the bar area to the outside seating is really low. Im short so i was fine but anyone over 5 1/2 ft would have to bend down otherwise you would smack your head! Also some of the bedrooms have very low beams. I am only 4 ft 8 and i had to duck to get into my sisters room. While this place looks pretty and appears to have character it is not suitable to people with walking difficulties or poor balance.

Room Tip: Keep your wits about you in this place 3 people in our group had falls here due to the high number o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adele-andrew-daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
I am pleased to hear you have lots of good things to say about us and thakyou for these comments. I am tall myself and have survived working here for nearly 10 years! Whilst we do have a number of low doors and beams this is surely outweighed by the character of the building. As with the steps these are all features of a 16 Century Mill building which we can do little to change. We do our best with a sensible amount of health and safety signage and are conscious to help less mobile guests as much as possible within the constraints of a grade two listed building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently stayed in room 33 for 3 nights. It is set in a building in the gardens and was perfect for a relaxing break. It is a clean comfortable large room with views over the well tended gardens. Plenty of windows to let the light and breeze in.
We would recommend this room for a relaxing break. We chose it from the video tour on their website. Would certainly stay here again if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonBonGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and thought it was absolutely lovely. The rooms were very nice and a good size too.
Food was amazing and the service was spot on. All the staff were very polite.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have been to the Egypt Mill many times over the years for business functions, family dinners, charity events etc. It really is a wonderful place and has been converted very tastefully, thus preserving a piece of local history. The hotel overlooks a rushing stream originally used to turn a large water wheel used in the milling industry. I really enjoy the decor of the place and many artifacts from bygone days are on display to see. The food in the restaurant is very good and the prices are reasonable. Rob the manager has been there for a number of years and is very helpful and approachable.There is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
8.4 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing