We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was here to attend a wedding at the hotel and stayed for one night.

The hotel is very picturesque and in a lovely location, a short walk from Nailsworth and also a pleasant walk / ride along a National cycle route to Stroud.

Our room was large and very usefully had separate shower room and toilet. I was impressed with the large mirrors with nearby power points so I could actually see to do my hair for a change (so few hotels think of this). The bed was very comfortable.

In fact the only problem with this particular room was it's very close proximity to the main road which has a surprising amount of traffic in the night.

The Wedding was lovely and I think the hotel did everything very well. It makes a lovely venue especially if you are lucky enough to have nice weather so that guests can spend some time in the grounds.

Breakfast was very generous indeed and efficiently served.

We spent some of the next day in and around Nailsworth and then came back to the hotel for our roast lunch. To be fair we were all still pretty full from breakfast so it was hard to do it all justice! Most of the food was excellent, although some of the meat was rather fatty. Service was cheerful and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Absolutely fantastic venue. Excellent accommodation. High standard throughout. Picturesque setting. Highly recommended for special occasions or for a relaxing break. Superb service. Clean and tidy throughout.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeBakerLegion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a converted mill with an easy walk into town which has a number of pubs and places to eat. The rooms are very nice and well laid out. Very nice bathroom and a real home from home. We were attending a party and stayed the night but we plan to stay for a long weekend soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 16 century Mill next to the main mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Daytime fine dining this ain't but restaurant value for money it certainly is (until 6pm).Generous portions of fish and chips,sausages/mash and onion gravy and gammon steaks all at £6.50.Little wonder the place was rammed on Friday lunchtime.Speedy service and,deep joy,piping hot plates.Third time we have been there and will go again.Bar prices a little full,but with food prices at the current levels,it's to be expected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have stayed there for 3 nights and this was are 3rd year very good value rooms are very nice,food excellent good value,good choice of breakfast staff very accommodating ample parking ,shop in close proximity so everything you need

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingo69x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I took my parents here at the weekend after it had been recommended to me and wow, what a beautiful place to chill out and relax in. Lovely restaurant, very comfy and not crowded and to be able to sit outside with the ducks swimming very close to you is just a real treat. So peaceful and picturesque. I will be returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeca69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had my first visit to Egypt Mill this weekend. It’s a lovely place right on the river with loads of ducks to entertain you but the room I had wasn't good. The bathroom was grim with chipped tiles, a grimy old bath and sink and dirty grout. The toilet couldn’t flush unless you took the lid of the cistern because the flush mechanism had been taken from another larger bathroom set. I paid £120 for one night in small room with a bathroom that should have been replaced years ago (and the worlds softest most uncomfortable bed). Breakfast was included but the breakfast room was understaffed so it took 40 minutes to be served.
Egypt Mill is in a beautiful location, so go for drinks and maybe food but I would not recommend paying £120 to stay the night.

Room Tip: Give rooms in the 20's a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0Callmewhatyoulike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

I am pleased that you liked our lovely Mill but I am sorry that you felt the condition of your bathroom was not acceptable - we have a full time maintenance team and it should have been in excellent working order. I hope you brought this to our attention at the time of your visit. Although not to your liking, the bed you slept in was purchased recently and has a high quality mattress. Our weekend room tariff is based on 2 people and includes an excellent full Cotswold breakfast which we believe represents extremely good value. I am sure you will agree that our unique 16th Century Mill is beautiful and full of character and I hope you will give us another opportunity to look after you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
260 reviews
4.9 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range: £83 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing