We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John T”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“John T”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stopped for one night on the way home. We were allocated a room in one of the adjoining buildings which was fine but was up three flights of stairs with no lift which is no fun with heavy luggage - no assistance with luggage was offered. The room was perfectly adequate but when will hotels learn that it is nice to have a shelf or similar in the bathroom for your toiletries?
Food in the somewhat rustic restaurant was good and no problems with the service.
Would stay there again but would be a bit fussier about which room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    175
    74
    28
    13
See reviews for
123
222
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evian
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The food was excellent. The service quite the opposite. Waitresss banged down the plate saying "there you go". We are from France, and although we do not expect "bon apetit' we do perhaps expect "enjoy your meal". One of the waiters stomped around in steel-tipped shoes on oak floors making a racket each time he passed. Above waitress left the dessert menu then went off to chat with the boys in the bar and never returned! After 15 minutes, called another waitress. Was a big birthday treat too, marred by awful service. Pity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandSEvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. The service issues you raised do give cause for concern and will be followed up with the restaurant team here.
Thankyou for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend. Our fifth visit over the last ten years. We stayed in room 28 this time, not the most spacious room but more than adequate. We did have a problem with the pipes "banging" on the first night. When I reported it to the reception I was offered a change of room straight away !. I declined as it did not seem worth the hassle to move, As it turned out it was fine the next night. The staff we found to be excellent in all ways. The Sunday lunch was amazing......again !. Breakfast was once again first class with plenty to choose from, and once again excellent service. The location is all you need for a relaxing break. We will be back !!.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was here to attend a wedding at the hotel and stayed for one night.

The hotel is very picturesque and in a lovely location, a short walk from Nailsworth and also a pleasant walk / ride along a National cycle route to Stroud.

Our room was large and very usefully had separate shower room and toilet. I was impressed with the large mirrors with nearby power points so I could actually see to do my hair for a change (so few hotels think of this). The bed was very comfortable.

In fact the only problem with this particular room was it's very close proximity to the main road which has a surprising amount of traffic in the night.

The Wedding was lovely and I think the hotel did everything very well. It makes a lovely venue especially if you are lucky enough to have nice weather so that guests can spend some time in the grounds.

Breakfast was very generous indeed and efficiently served.

We spent some of the next day in and around Nailsworth and then came back to the hotel for our roast lunch. To be fair we were all still pretty full from breakfast so it was hard to do it all justice! Most of the food was excellent, although some of the meat was rather fatty. Service was cheerful and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 876 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Absolutely fantastic venue. Excellent accommodation. High standard throughout. Picturesque setting. Highly recommended for special occasions or for a relaxing break. Superb service. Clean and tidy throughout.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeBakerLegion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a converted mill with an easy walk into town which has a number of pubs and places to eat. The rooms are very nice and well laid out. Very nice bathroom and a real home from home. We were attending a party and stayed the night but we plan to stay for a long weekend soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 16 century Mill next to the main mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Daytime fine dining this ain't but restaurant value for money it certainly is (until 6pm).Generous portions of fish and chips,sausages/mash and onion gravy and gammon steaks all at £6.50.Little wonder the place was rammed on Friday lunchtime.Speedy service and,deep joy,piping hot plates.Third time we have been there and will go again.Bar prices a little full,but with food prices at the current levels,it's to be expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
383 reviews
3.1 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing