We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch an expensive disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We took my mother in law to Egypt Mill restaurant on Sunday to celebrate her 70th birthday and had an unforgettable experience for all the wrong reasons. The starters were fine, some actually quite good, but we then waited 40 minutes for the main course. The very inexperienced waitress mixed up the plates so was one meal short. We all waited, someone else came out of the kitchen and swapped a couple of meals around and we waited again. Finally we were told that we all had the correct food (it was roast meat with gravy so hard to distinguish lamb from pork, apparently) but once we began eating we realised that two meals were still wrong. Rather than wait again and spoil the meal we decided to accept what we had been given! My daughter then discovered that her chicken was virtually raw (still red and could not be separated from the bone) so had to leave her food. 'Roast' potatoes were white and undercooked and our meals were almost cold. Not what you expect when a main course is at least £14.
We optimistically ordered puddings but once again the standard of the food was appalling. The 'Eton Mess' was never more aptly named, it consisted of a liquid mix of frozen fruit, large pieces of meringue and nothing else. Really revolting and inedible. I took it over to the waitresses, the chef took a look and shook his head but said nothing!
Although we did not pay for the raw chicken or the inedible puddings, the whole day was thoroughly spoiled by the extremely substandard food, not what you expect when your bill comes to £260! I was embarrassed by my choice of restaurant and certainly will not go again. There are so many excellent places to eat in Nailsworth and the surrounding villages, please don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheConstantTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

I have looked into the circumstances of your visit having spoken to the team who looked after you. Our staff did make every effort to put things right and whilst I realise it’s not much of a consolation to you, we made a substantial adjustment to your bill. I understand the rest of your guests were happy with their meal, indeed, thank you, a generous gratuity was left for our staff. We can only apologise for the events that took place and assure you that this was isolated occasion when things just set to conspire against us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip and all enjoyed our stay. We are of the sort that like to go out to try a local pub after work but because of the fantastic relaxing setting we never left the hotel! Would recommend to all! Lovely staff, very comfortable room, great food, A+ all around!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stunning converted mill in Gloucestershire, very popular for weddings and it's Sunday Lunch.

Open to all - cyclists, ladies who lunch, kids, actors (I've spotted several here in the restaurant) business lunches.

Lovely staff, but beware of the bar prices - £3 for a large Pepsi or £2.50 for a lime and soda.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stopped for one night on the way home. We were allocated a room in one of the adjoining buildings which was fine but was up three flights of stairs with no lift which is no fun with heavy luggage - no assistance with luggage was offered. The room was perfectly adequate but when will hotels learn that it is nice to have a shelf or similar in the bathroom for your toiletries?
Food in the somewhat rustic restaurant was good and no problems with the service.
Would stay there again but would be a bit fussier about which room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The food was excellent. The service quite the opposite. Waitresss banged down the plate saying "there you go". We are from France, and although we do not expect "bon apetit' we do perhaps expect "enjoy your meal". One of the waiters stomped around in steel-tipped shoes on oak floors making a racket each time he passed. Above waitress left the dessert menu then went off to chat with the boys in the bar and never returned! After 15 minutes, called another waitress. Was a big birthday treat too, marred by awful service. Pity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JandSEvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. The service issues you raised do give cause for concern and will be followed up with the restaurant team here.
Thankyou for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend. Our fifth visit over the last ten years. We stayed in room 28 this time, not the most spacious room but more than adequate. We did have a problem with the pipes "banging" on the first night. When I reported it to the reception I was offered a change of room straight away !. I declined as it did not seem worth the hassle to move, As it turned out it was fine the next night. The staff we found to be excellent in all ways. The Sunday lunch was amazing......again !. Breakfast was once again first class with plenty to choose from, and once again excellent service. The location is all you need for a relaxing break. We will be back !!.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was here to attend a wedding at the hotel and stayed for one night.

The hotel is very picturesque and in a lovely location, a short walk from Nailsworth and also a pleasant walk / ride along a National cycle route to Stroud.

Our room was large and very usefully had separate shower room and toilet. I was impressed with the large mirrors with nearby power points so I could actually see to do my hair for a change (so few hotels think of this). The bed was very comfortable.

In fact the only problem with this particular room was it's very close proximity to the main road which has a surprising amount of traffic in the night.

The Wedding was lovely and I think the hotel did everything very well. It makes a lovely venue especially if you are lucky enough to have nice weather so that guests can spend some time in the grounds.

Breakfast was very generous indeed and efficiently served.

We spent some of the next day in and around Nailsworth and then came back to the hotel for our roast lunch. To be fair we were all still pretty full from breakfast so it was hard to do it all justice! Most of the food was excellent, although some of the meat was rather fatty. Service was cheerful and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the road as possible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
733 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range: £80 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing