We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Went here last night the food was outstanding you certainly get what you pay for, The staff with lovely and the view was beautiful,I can honestly say it one of the best meals I've had out very very impressed and I shall be booking to go again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmer19888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    168
    69
    28
    12
See reviews for
115
215
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Egypt Mill is great, so far I've been a guest there two times and don't think I'd consider another hotel in the area unless they were fully booked.

Staff is very kind and helpful and the restaurant is something else, not only they have excellent food but it is also an amazing atmosphere.

Room Tip: No elevators so if you are traveling with heavy bags ask for a room in a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo_gnzlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Beautiful stunning converted mill, I found it so relaxing with the water features outside. It still has some machinery displayed. I went there with a group of friends and ordered roast dinners, I can honestly say we all enjoyed the meal and the portions were large. I am going back soon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Busy lunch times with slow service. Need more staff familiar with the menu. Mixed up my order. Poor bbq pork. Cold cabbage when I asked for salad! Manager with abrupt attitude hadn't looked at new menu.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Saw this place featured in The Times and thought it looked like a gorgeous setting and I was right even though it was a cold February weekend. I reckon it would be amazing in the Spring/Summer. Despite the time of year they had 7 weddings in 10 days which shows how popular this place is. Even on the Sunday evening the restaurant was pretty much full with a mix of residents and locals. The place is quirky. I stayed in the Garden House so cannot comment on the other buildings but the room was okay. I had upgraded to an executive suite and there was loads of room but thought the decor was a little tired and attention to detail wasn't great for an executive room. However, I was wiling to ignore the little niggles as the place was so lovely and the staff were brilliant. The breakfasts were lovely as was the evening meal we had. The bar/restaurant was great as it has two water wheels in there with one of them in use which was a great feature.

Room Tip: The Garden House rooms were in a very quiet and peaceful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The building housing the reception, bar and restaurant is a sympathetically converted mill and retains some of the machinery, wooden floors, etc. The food is generally good and appropriately priced. Service in the bar/restaurant was good.
We have stayed before and enjoyed the setting beside the river and the spacious rooms in another converted building beside the main building - it's a refreshing change from identikit hotels. However, the setting also makes Egypt Mill popular for weddings and other events and therein lies the problem. There were weddings on both nights of our stay. Friday night was fine. Although there was music being played in the room above the bar while we were eating dinner it wasn't overly intrusive and there was no noise at all after midnight. The second night was hopeless. Drunken wedding guests were shouting at each other outside and thudding up and down the stairs inside until 2.30 am complaining that they could not get into their room. The old wooden staircase and floors that are so full of character unfortunately do nothing to reduce the din and we spent a largely sleepless night. It was not a great end to the relaxing weekend we'd hoped for. A comment to the receptionist on checkout was met with a shrug and vague comment about wedding guests.
Overall it's a good place to stay for the setting but weekends are possibly best avoided if you want to enjoy some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for one well away from wedding guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REHNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thankyou for the positive comments you have made about Egypt Mill. We are a popular wedding venue and we do our upmost to balance the mix of weddings guests and the needs of our guests not attending the wedding. On this occasion it appears we had some particularly lively characters that have impacted on your stay. We do shut the bar at midnight and do our best to encourage guests to leave quietly but on this occasion it appears that some of the wedding party were less than respectful, for which I am very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great find meals are more pub like but of very good quality.Just called for lunch enjoyed very much service & staff excellent, I had a very enjoyable burger while my friend had a gammon steak with fried egg,chips all in all will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
8.4 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing