We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly, comfortable and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“friendly, comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days while visiting family. It is an old converted mill (hence its name) the water wheels work and are a feature of the lounge area (glassed in and lit at night) and also of the lovely garden areas where you can dine and have drinks in the daytime and evening, very pretty area, very relaxing and very helpful and friendly staff.
However this hotel is not suitable for anyone not able to managed steps, (one of our party has difficulties with stairs). There are steps everywhere in the hotel and even in the bedrooms to the bathrooms and in the bathrooms, as long as you are able this is not a problem.
Also the hotel does have wedding parties, and unfortunately for me there were two weddings on two consecutive nights at the hotel and my room was facing the garden area where the wedding parties spent the evenings, with music and song etc, it did quieten down after midnight, but for me I would have preferred a quieter room.
However, the breakfast was very nice and the meals of good quality and choice and my room was very clean and good service.

Room Tip: Only loud because of the location of my room and that wedding parties were in the area outside my ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    169
    73
    28
    13
See reviews for
121
217
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Decided on a short break for a couple of days, and after having stayed at the Manor House in Bradford on Avon, I picked out this hotel for our second night on Bookings.com.

Again was delighted by this place. Friendly staff and yet another upgrade. The building is very quaint set by the side of a stream, with a splendid patio area by a duck pond. The ducks are friendly (perhaps too friendly if you are eating!!) and the setting is perfect for late afternoon/early evening.

The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. It was interesting that there was a shower cubicle, but no bath! Would have been room for an olympic swimming pool! (OK - a bit of an overstatement). Nailsworth itself, is a bit too quiet with not a lot of pubs or restaurants. The restaurants that were there were a little bit pretentious for my liking. We therefore had dinner at the hotel and this was fine for decent straight forward food.

Would recommend this place if looking for a comfortable friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was larger than your standard hotel room, although it was in a separate buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Good folks, descent breakfast and diner. Too bad we had a few massive showers so sitting outside was no option. The ducks had a great time though...
The only comment on this hotel is the way its situated along the road to Stroud. We had a room on the second floor of the main building so we looked the lorries right in the eyes...not to mention their noise! Offcourse after 1am thats is nearly gone.... and so was my sleep!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel has a restaurant serving all day food which can be excellent and unfortunately sometimes not quite so good. Guess a lot depends on which chef is on duty.
The room was a little warm in the unusually hot weather we were experiencing but a good size , lovely fluffy towels, good shower and very comfortable bed.
Staff were very pleasant and always keen to please.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucelockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the end of July. Our room was in the main building on the top floor and whilst full of character was very warm with only a small window which offered limited ventilation. With no aircon, these rooms would be very uncomfortable in hot weather. Food was good but the inconsistency of approach by staff was disappointing. Some worked hard at being pleasant and helpful whilst others, and in particular one receptionist, offered the minimum in communication and responsiveness. Difficult I know to keep everyone on the mark but the few shortcomings do affect the whole team performance and guest experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came upon this lovely place by chance whilst searching for a 2 day break after our Sons wedding weekend to just chill out, well, we never expected what we experienced,
Room-
This was set in a building slightly away from the main Mill, very clean, very comfortable bed, en-suite was fantastic, the TV did not work in arrival, so we informed reception who immediately sent for a replacement,.. Good service.
Food-
We chose to eat on the first night, starters were 'cheese Garlic bread' & 'King prawn in tempura batter' with a chilli dip, then my wife had fish, I chose the chicken flatbread, all meals were very tasty.
Drink-
They serve a good choice of beers and lagers, including a real ale choice.
Local Area-
Nailsworth is a very lovely village, lots of antique shops and gift shops.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely place in the Cotswolds - hotel is a in an old Mill and has some lovely features like the mill wheels enclosed in glass panels and the features of the mill have been kept a within the accommodation buildings. The hotel staff were all excellent and gave excellent service in the reception, bar and restaurant. The evening meals we ate were well presented and we really enjoyed them. Breakfast was excellent too with plenty of choice and quality. It is palace we would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
8.4 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing