We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel this weekend to celebrate our friends wedding. Gorgeous grounds with ponds and wildlife. A huge water wheel is featured behind a wall of glass in the resturant. Talk about a water feature! The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was very clean and the period features were great. Modern bathroom which I really liked. Breakfast was nice but I felt it was a little disorganised because I didn't get my cup of tea. But everything else was great and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Well done to all the staff for a great weekend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CoopsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    161
    68
    28
    11
See reviews for
112
210
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at Egypt Mill as we were attending a wedding in the area and I have to say I was really impressed. Rooms are in different buildings within the grounds as well as the mill building itself. We were in one of the converted buildings in a semi lower ground floor, we thought it might be dark as there were only smallish windows that were at outside ground level, but although not masses of natural light it had the added benefit of being really cool on a hot day. The room was huge with a 6ft double and a 3 seater sofa bed. The grounds are lovely with pretty gardens at the back and a large pond with weir at the front. The ambiance outside is lovely, ducks swimming in the pond, plenty of outside seating both in the shade and in the sun, there is also a lovely raised terrace with open fire that I think is lit in the evenings. We had a very pleasant meal outside, all freshly mad and very tasty. Breakfast in the morning was very nice, a cold Buffett selection and hot food bought to order. The inside of the mill building is very quirky, lots of the old mill fittings still there and the water wheel incased in glass in the restaurant still works. Upstairs is the reception area and this also has a function room. The hotel does host a lot of weddings and events so a tip for a quieter stay would be to ask for rooms not in the mill building as some of these are above the function room. All in all a lovely stay and I would definitely come back again for a leisure weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband suprise me and took me down to the cotswolds. Our first nite stay was here. They had given him an upgrade to the garden house. Beautiful setting lovely rooms. The staff were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The food was gorgeous! !! We sat outside too was just so perfect. At night they light a log burner was a lovely way tofinish of our drinks after our lovely meal. would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmawalker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel prior to a visit to Highgrove gardens which is only a 15 min drive away. The hotel rooms 1 & 2 given to us were perfect. Very spacious and clean and quiet even though there was a wedding disco going on.
The staff were great and the food even better.
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 on ground floor albeit down half a dozen steps were perfect for our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasminn225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Cheating on this review title as this is the hotel's own but I really felt I couldn't beat it. This is quite a unique property with lots of history, the setting is very attractive and it is just a very short walk into Nailsworth. It's a real plus that they serve food all day and there is a slightly less formal setting for lunch. We needed to eat mid afternoon rather than traditional dinner time and that was no problem. There is a good choice of menu and some nice light desserts to tempt you. Food is reasonably priced and well presented but did think the drinks a bit on the pricey side. Our room was a good size and seemed even bigger with the wall to wall mirror wardrobe. We loved the creaky and uneven floors. We only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer and would definitely return if we were in the area

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our stay at Egypt Mill was brief but I would definitely like to spend more time here. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were full of quirky details as befitting such an old building. However there was no lack of comfort as all 3 rooms were clean and comfortable and the sound of the water in the mill was very relaxing. Breakfast was superb and served efficiently.

Room Tip: The Mill house was lovely all three rooms were beautiful. Beware room 3 if you get vertigo the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just spent 3 fantastic nights at this hotel. All the staff are helpful cheerful polite and approachable. They obviously enjoy working for the management. One barman told me that this was the best bunch of staff he had worked with. Everyone was happy as far as I could tell./ We have stayed here before and it is always a very enjoyable experience. The food is excellent and well presented. Certainly ample portions. The real ale is well looked after!! Butty Bach excellent.
Room clean and tidy. Only comment as that it as quite warm even with the window open. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were impressed.
.

Room Tip: The traffic can be a slight distraction so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room distant from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing