We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stingy on the extras...£100+ pn, 1 towel per person!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Stingy on the extras...£100+ pn, 1 towel per person!”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I stayed in a modern double room inside the hotel itself - this was a premium room

Okaaay....rather tight on the "luxuries"

The media equipment (included ipod dock) was fantastic.
Shampoo was the only toiletry provided (no conditioner?)
Only 1 towel per person ...thats just ridiculous
Room very stuffy on a hot night as only small windows
(it is a listed building which was an old grain mill) this is of course part of the charm...but the only bedlinen was a duvet.......a 17.0 TOG RATED duvet ..........my tip take the duvet cover off and use it as a sheet!
There was not a top sheet.......this is standard in any good hotel.
Breakfast was very disappointing in comparison the very wonderful food we had in the restaurant during our stay.
Fruit was stingy, no yoghurt, no cheeses or cold meats. Boring.

I live locally and would visit again for a meal, but I will NOT be staying overnight again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    168
    69
    28
    12
See reviews for
115
215
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We had a two night stay here with family and friends to celebrate our daughter's marriage which took place in The Mill. We had a wonderful stay, even more so as the weather was glorious. The staff here are extremely helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble. The setting is perfect for a wedding and we were delighted to find this little gem. The food was good; excellent breakfasts and we would recommend this hotel. The rooms our guests stayed in were very nice indeed - spacious and all slightly different depending in which building you stay. Only gripe - Room 17 in the main Mill which my husband and I were allocated on arrival and on seeing, declined to take, needs updating and is rather tired and gloomy and is right next to the main road. As parents of the bride we were not too happy but on taking this up at reception we were promptly moved to a far superior room which I think we should have been allocated in the first place. A wonderful time was had by all.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieLymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We had a wonderful stay, from check in to check out the staff couldn't have been friendlier. The breakfast was one of the best we have had (we have stayed in some luxury hotels in London but yours was by far best!) The hotel room was spacious and had traditional features with a modern twist wand was airy and clean. It's just a shame we were unable to stay a few days longer to explore the village.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenPWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Good afternoon,

My boyfriend and I booked a two night break at the Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, GL6 OAE.
We were visiting the Area for the Badminton Horse Trials and this was our first stay at the hotel which was pleasant upon arrival and we were happy with our choice and location.

We checked in around 7pm and went straight to our room to change for dinner. We left our room at 8pm drawing all of our blinds, leaving our TV and lights on and locking the door behind us.
We returned to our room at 10.45pm and noticed that our room was much colder than when we left but assumed this was just a draft due to the buildings age.
We woke in the morning to notice our blind ‘swinging in the breeze’ – upon checking, our room window had been broken into, the glass smashed and the lead window frames attacked. We then noticed that my boyfriends business briefcase had gone along with £1000 cash, his laptop and its carry bag.

We reported this to the front desk who didn’t seem alarmed at all. We then called the police. Later, my boyfriend found a majority of his belongings in the Hotel garden/grounds but the laptop and cash had been taken. The police came and conducted a full crime scene investigation – the hotel brushed us to one side as they had a wedding on – we felt like complete criminals ourselves with the police following us around. It took 3 hours for the hotel Manager to arrive on site – despite being notified that there had been a burglary on his premises and on his watch!

We asked to be moved to another room as ours was no longer secure and there was glass everywhere. They offered us a family room which was certainly no where near the standard of our original room – it was like a sweaty dungeon. They then offered us another room above the wedding disco. It was only after I expressed my extreme dissatisfaction that they offered us an equivalent room in the old mill where we had stayed the previous night!
They didn’t even ask if we were ok, they didn’t offer us the use of their phone. They didn’t apologise or even save us a breakfast.

We left the hotel and went to Badminton but most of the day and event had passed.

We returned to the Hotel at 7.30pm and asked to speak to the Manager again – mainly to discuss insurances etc – he was reluctant to see us as he had the wedding to oversee. The conversation was pointless. He was the most insincere man I have ever met. Totally unsympathetic and sat with a wry grin on his face the whole time.
My concern was that they had no policy or procedure in place for this type of incident. They had a wedding going on with lots of guests / valuables / cash / possessions and they didn’t even warn them to be vigilant with their belongings as they had had a break in the night before. The whole thing was swept under the carpet.

We had an OK nights sleep and breakfast the next morning. Upon checking out we were presented with a full bill. My boyfriend was picking up the cost but I think the total was £125 for each night - £250.
I immediately demanded to see the hotel manager again – he was not available but they sent a deputy manager to see us. My boyfriend explained what had happened to us and the way in which we were treated and the hotels poor handling of the whole situation.

My boyfriend stated that he was more than happy to pay good money and full price for our second nights stay with them – we did not dispute the £125 for the second night at all.

We could not believe that they were trying to charge us for our first nights stay – the night that we were burgled. They wanted to charge us for the privilege of having our room broken into, our belongings / money stolen, poor treatment, terrible customer care and poor management handling. We couldn’t believe it.

They didn’t even give us the correct insurance details – they gave us their employers liability insurance and we were sent on our way.

We have since been told that the hotel / loss adjusters can’t help us and that we have no way of getting any money or compensation back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CandABedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 May 2010
In 25 years of trading this is the first occasion involving the loss of cash and personal belongings taken from a guest’s room staying at our hotel.

What can we say? We were naturally very sorry that the incident took place. However the security and safety of guest’s belongings and cash is not the responsibility of any commercial establishment and valuable belongings should remain in the personal safe keeping of the owners. To leave a valuable laptop and £1000 cash in one of two ground floor rooms is perhaps not a thing most of us would do. Had the guests deposited the cash with us in our safe we would have been totally responsible.

The safety and security of guests staying in our hotel is paramount but on this occasion our insurers have advised us that we cannot be held responsible for these losses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Wanted to write a quick review after attending a Wedding at Egypt Mill over the weekend. The staff were great, nothing seemed too much trouble. The rooms were clean, roomy and characterful and the setting wonderful for a Wedding. Nailsworth is a lovely spot with the town centre only being a few minutes walk away.

The only slight negative comments I would make would be the noise from the road - I live on a road myself so am quite used to it and it didn't cause me a problem but if you aren't used to road noise it may affect your sleep and there was quite a lengthy delay with the restaurant providing sandwiches for the bridal party but when they did come, they were delicious!

Other than that Egypt Mill is a really nice venue and it's nice to visit a privately owned establishment that puts so much into ensuring the guests are made to feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeezeandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I recently stayed at the Egypt mill hotel with my wife for the weekend and I have to say everything about the hotel is 1st class. From making the booking, through to the dining room staff everything was perfect. I have never come across such well trained and polite staff so well done to the management team for making our weekend. We will be back.

Mr C Taylor

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigpetepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Poor Welcome. Food poor and overpriced. Same menu, should have specials. Complained about loud music in dining room, nothing done. My wife said no toilet paper on holders in toilets in dining area, though paper was there. Matthew, (front office Manager) made a not of our comments. This hotel lacks attention to detail and real 'hands on' managment. Colin Senior

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurAuchterarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egyptmill, General Manager at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
This gentleman did raise the above issues with us on departure. Naturally we were sorry to hear his concerns and acted immediately. We are a privately owned hotel and take pride in providing a personal service and we are sorry this gentleman was not happy. We have reviewed his comments with our staff and can only apologise for his disappointment and hope that he will return to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
4.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
639 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
236 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
8.4 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Stroud Road, Nailsworth GL6 OAE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nailsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming Cotswold town of Nailsworth, Gloucestershire, the 16th Century Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant provides the ideal setting for a memorable stay. The uniqueness of Egypt Mill is realised in its delightful, full of character, bedroom accommodation. Your stay could be either in the charming Mill House, with it's 28 rooms wonderful atmospheric antiquities and furnishings, or the rustic comfort of the adjoining converted Jones railway building. All rooms are fully appointed with en suite facilities. Egypt Mill itself boasts 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms offering stunning traditional Cotswold detail making a wonderful environment for that very special romantic weekend away. Egypt Mill's restaurant offers some of the best food around and provides a great setting for that business lunch or special celebration with family and friends. While staying at Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant you could discover the Cotswolds wealth of treasures and cultural attractions, explore the many Cotswold villages and towns such as Stratford upon Avon and Cheltenham or visit the Roman towns of Bath and Cirencester. Egypt Mill is only a short drive away from the M5 (J13) and M4 (J18) Motorways. Need a function room? Egypt Mill's fantastic ambiance and beamed function suites are perfect for that special Christening, Wedding or Birthday celebration. Egypt Mill is highly favoured as a place for holding conferences and business meetings. Our comfortable conference rooms offer wireless broadband access and enjoy the benefit of natural daylight. We can provide packages to include full refreshments and accommodation throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egypt Mill Nailsworth
Hotel Egypt Mill
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing