We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Nailsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent the night in the rooms and our room was wonderful. It was comfortable and beautifully decorated. Every little detail had been thought out and the staff were helpful and friendly and made it clear we only had to ask if there was anything they had forgotten, but there wasn't. The choice for breakfast was very good. Thoroughly recommended and we hope to return soon.

We ate in the restaurant and had the taster menu and the wine flight. It really was an eating experience. Each course was a burst of complimentary flavours and the modestly named fennel sandwich was a revelation. The portions were just right because by the end of the sixth course I was beginning to feel full. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this meal and each choice of wine was perfect for the food we were eating. It is amazing how this menu is changed every month and my only regret is that I don't live close enough to return and try each one.

The restaurant looks welcoming from the outside and this is only confirmed when you enter. We sat in the window and I felt the whole atmosphere was just right. The staff were friendly and informative and gave us just the right amount of attention, filling our glasses or clearing plates and bringing the next course without making us feel as if they were hurrying us through.

A thoroughly excellent meal

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here last Saturday checking in at about 5 after a busy day and we were very impressed with it all, the room, the service, the glorious food in the evening and the good hearty breakfast. Nailsworth is a small town with two pubs, the Britannia and the Egypt Mills. Egypt Mills was lovely with its own watermill and duck pond. We had come from a visit to Burford so it was a bit of a change. Anyway the room was immaculate with a view from the front of the house and all you needed was in the room which had its own version of a monk's bench. The restaurant was full and we enjoyed the 6 course tasting menu which was delightful. It took a little while to come through from the kitchen but you can wait for perfection! Will return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

As a treat my partner booked us into the Wild Garlic for dinner then made the decsion to also book one of their rooms. We checked in at 6pm on Saturday evening and received a friendly and professional welcome. Our room 'Shortwood' was bright, beautiful and clean. It had a really relaxing atmosphere and everything we could possibly need. The seating in the bay window was lovely to sit and enjoy a good quality coffee/tea. The shower room was modern and clean with lovely fluffy towels and dressing gowns. There was plenty of space, a very good sized room and well worth the money.

Dinner was excellent, flavoursome food, attentive service, interesting menu choices, and scrummy cocktails. A real treat for the all the senses. And breakfast was the same, the quality was outstanding and we had to take a very long walk in the glorious sunshine to justify indulging ourselves as much as we did but it's very hard to resist such amazing flavours and every meal is served like a work of art, you can see the pride the chefs take in their creations and how passionate the staff are about their product.

In short, I highly recommend the Wild Garlic. A perfect place to stay and/or dine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Had a fantastic meal this week at Wild Garlic. It was a hot evening and I wondered if the restaurant would feel stuffy. It didn't! Food is so sophisticated, really first-class. We were a group of nine trying a tasting menu and our food was served all together, with great explanations from the v.friendly staff. In particular, the sweetcorn and parmesan ravioli we had as a starter was a tiny bit marvellous! So many little extras - dipping bread, pimms-style cocktail to start. All in all, a lovely, relaxed evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 159Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Access to these rooms is via external steps but once inside you are greeted by beautiful spacious comfortable rooms with every necessity including fresh coffee & milk, towelling dressing gowns, dvds and books to read during your stay. The modern bathroom had a large walk in shower and luxurious towelling to use.We left before we had chance to make an entry in the visitors book but it would certainly have been a favourable one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Ventured upcountry for a (significant) birthday treat. Had the June tasting menu and the "Chestnut" room for the night, which we found at a very reasonable price through Travelzoo.
The rooms are reached from a seperate staircase round the back of the restaurant, our room was more like a suite, nice comfy bed with good linen, fresh milk (not the dreaded UHT) was provided in a fridge on the landing to go with the tea making facilities in the room.
The restaurant was pleasant with a nice "classy but not stuffy" ambiance, only other diners on a Thursday night were a 2 and a 4 but I would imagine when busier it would have a nice buzz.
The June tasting menu was well presented and beautifully cooked, as well as the courses on the menu we were bought some little cheesy choux buns and a very nice wild garlic, extra virgin rape oil pesto with warm bread for dipping.
My wife had the matching wine flight, very nice, some wines we felt matched the courses better than others, but the dessert wine was a revalation for someone who thought they didn't like sweet wines.
The courses all went down well, the only criticism would be I could have lived without the Barley porrigdge that went with the pigeon (too sweet and cloying) and possibly the crayfish bisque was a fraction underseasoned (and there are no salt and pepper cruets on the tables)
We upgraded from the Continental to the full english breakfast, served in the restaurant, a very superior version complete with a field mushroom and many teapot top ups.
One small criticism, and really, when you have a room directly above a restaurant I suppose you should expect it, was about three in the morning we were woken by fairly loud banging (bread making?) and general kitchen noises from below, which carried on, intermittently, from then on.
Overall I would say 95%, very close to perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolfnbossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A friend of ours who lives quite near recommended the Wild Garlic for our yearly reunion. It describes itself as a
'Restaurant and rooms' which is about right as it has only three rooms. All three are spacious and beautifully furnished with up to the minute bathrooms. Ours was right on the front and we were concerned the there might be some traffic noise: there was none.
So far as the restaurant is concerned,we agree with other reviewers. The food is interesting and well presented. Their home made ice creams were amazing. The service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant itself was elegant and pleasant to be in. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms

Address: 3 Cossack Square | Chestnut Hill, Nailsworth GL6 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nailsworth
Price Range: £103 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the South Cotswold and a perfect place to relax and enjoy some fantastic British cooking downstairs at the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing