We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just passing through....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Nailsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stopped here on my way home to Wales.As a vegetarian it was a delight to find the veg.taster on the menu.Food this different and as interesting is a rare find indeed! Try it yourself!!
A delicious meal followed by a peaceful nights sleep in a beautiful room above the restaurant, a great end to my holiday.
thank you Matthew and Henry.

Room Tip: All rooms are good! Book in advance for choice, I had the only vacant one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 192mali192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We enjoyed a fantasic meal at the Wild Garlic on a Wednesday evening two weeks ago to celebrate two colleagues' going on maternity leave. The food was absolutely amazing - not only was it beautifully presented but the taste was out of this world! The service was extremely attentive yet friendly and informal and the staff really went the extra mile to make the two ladies feel extra special! A great evening...we will definitely be returning to the WIld Garlic in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank C2HairDesignLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We visited on a Saturday evening on a combined taster menu and overnight stay deal. Had to extend the date which the owner was happy to do, so good pre visit communications. Arrived late afternoon and we were shown to our room which was outside at the rear of the restaurant and up an external staircase. The room was a large size with a separate bedroom and lounge area, and a small bathroom area with a shower, sink and basin. The bathroom was separated from the lounge by opaque glass tiles, and the shower had a curtain instead of a glass door, but this would be my only criticism. The lounge and bedroom had a wooden floor, and there was no outside window. A good selection of tea and coffee and fresh milk was provided, along with bottled water. The bed was large and comfortable and there was plenty of storage.

The restaurant was full, always a good size, with nice spacing between tables, good temperature and lighting. The staff are very friendly and attentive, and explained the various courses well. The taster menu is a fixed menu and included a cocktail and 6 food courses. The menu is well designed and the portions are a good size. The food is of a very high standard and each course was delicious. There was a good, reasonably priced wine list. Coffee was extra. It deserves its rosettes.

Breakfast on the offer was a choice of cereals, toast and croissant with lemon curd and ginger marmalade made in the kitchen. English breakfast was extra.

The restaurant sells oils and preserves that are made in the kitchen.

We would definitely come here again, give it a try.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We_Love_Sun_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We visited on a Saturday evening and took advantage of the 6 course taster menu offer - £55 for two people. As usual the service was friendly, informal and unpretentious and the staff were knowledgeable about each course. Highlights were the pheasant with sage pudding and the lovely citrus sorbets, but the best course was undoubtedly the white gazpacho with a slice of toast topped with crab - just stunning. A great night and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scalliepallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Been here 4 times before - and this time was the best!
Wonderful food and incredible service every time!!! I have uploaded a few pictures of our meal
Had a special happy birthday written on my dessert plate!
Will return as many times as I can- I drive from Bristol for this place!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank leanne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Perfect place to have a nice dinner and enjoy some good food. We went with a Travelzoo voucher and love it. Plate after plate and in a timely matter, the taste combination was very excellent. The staff was very helpful and had very good recommendations for wine. We will certainly come back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RRios10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent the night in the rooms and our room was wonderful. It was comfortable and beautifully decorated. Every little detail had been thought out and the staff were helpful and friendly and made it clear we only had to ask if there was anything they had forgotten, but there wasn't. The choice for breakfast was very good. Thoroughly recommended and we hope to return soon.

We ate in the restaurant and had the taster menu and the wine flight. It really was an eating experience. Each course was a burst of complimentary flavours and the modestly named fennel sandwich was a revelation. The portions were just right because by the end of the sixth course I was beginning to feel full. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this meal and each choice of wine was perfect for the food we were eating. It is amazing how this menu is changed every month and my only regret is that I don't live close enough to return and try each one.

The restaurant looks welcoming from the outside and this is only confirmed when you enter. We sat in the window and I felt the whole atmosphere was just right. The staff were friendly and informative and gave us just the right amount of attention, filling our glasses or clearing plates and bringing the next course without making us feel as if they were hurrying us through.

A thoroughly excellent meal

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nailsworth
0.3 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms

Address: 3 Cossack Square | Chestnut Hill, Nailsworth GL6 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Nailsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nailsworth
Price Range: £102 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the South Cotswold and a perfect place to relax and enjoy some fantastic British cooking downstairs at the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Garlic Restaurant & Rooms Nailsworth, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing