We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Egypt Mill Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Nailsworth
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I went for lunch whilst passing through Nailsworth. My husband had chicken,leek and ham cobbler with potatoes and cabbage. Pie was nice but very small portion of potatoes and cabbage which was cold. I had the smoked haddock with parsley sauce, potatoes and veg with 2 poached eggs. Fish was nice but very little parsley sauce, veg only warm and one of the eggs wasn't cooked. Price was ok for main course but the desert was £6.50 for a small amount of apple pie with small amount of rhurbarb compe and 2 raspberries and half e a strawberry, custard was in the pie, deserts very over priced. Would I go back. Don't think so.

    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noddy504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    94
    44
    25
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Exceptional value and quality”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Revisited after a gap of a few months.Fairly quiet Friday.There was a big wedding reception on the first floor.We thought the kitchen would be challenged and lunchtime patrons might suffer,but were wrong !

Lunch was fish pie and lambs liver.Both at the exceptional (normal lunchtime) discounted price of £7 each.The quality was exceptional with my fish pie being loaded with,well,fish ! So many other establishments pile the dish with mash,but not this time.My wife had her favourite of lambs liver which she declared as "best for ages"and was better than a recent lunch at The Gumstool at Calcott Manor,which cost double the price.Drinks were Stroud brewery Co Budding (£3.75) and a medium size Sauvignon Blanc (£4.00).

Remarkable value and quality and highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food ”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I came here for a business meeting and I have to say the gourmet burger was the best I have ever tasted. It was also served with a smile. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Bloomingben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Family Meal”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a family lunch at Egypt Mill last weekend. Our table was in the Wheel Room so we had a view of the working water wheel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, they were very busy and there was a bit of a wait between courses, but as we were not in a hurry this wasn’t a problem. Also, as the portions were very generous the gap between courses worked well and we were ready for the next dish when it arrived. All of the food was of a high quality and well presented. There was a good selection on the menu, with several roasts and plenty of non roast options. Two of us had roast lamb which came with thick slices of very tender lamb and a large bowl of vegetables. I’ve already recommended it to a work colleague who will be visiting the area and would recommend it to anyone else looking for a restaurant in Nailsworth.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BristolCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“dont go here!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

the hot chocolate was nice.(that's it)

service was absolutely appalling! rude waitresses and rude bar man thinking he was correct when actually he wasn't. in the end i didn't pay the full price. food was poor. wont be returning and would definitely not recommend it !!

it has potential because lovely building in a brilliant place

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ak e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Egypt Mill Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing