We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mill pond setting and good food”

Egypt Mill Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Nailsworth
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful mill pond setting and good food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel/restaurant has a wondeful setting on the edge of Nailsworth with its own mill pond, there are several tables out on a patio overlooking it, and lots of wildlife to see. The interior has some huge working parts of the mill revealed, very interesting. There is ample parking and access to the hotel is over a small bridge. The hotel does weddings, my friend who had his there was very pleased indeed. I've eaten there on many occassions both lunch and dinner. Mid-week there is a good lunch deal for £6 main course £3 for desert. Dinner also has a two course menu for £12.50, but often desrt is free too, with sufficient choice but you can go a la carte. The menus are on the internet. Food is good, I'd say particularly for the price, and the venue is quite atmospheric. Service is friendly and helpful. The menus are good but sometimes there is neither a rice dish nor paste so check the menu on the internet if that is important. I'd say it is a very good restaurant for the price and atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    95
    44
    25
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue for a special lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was celebrating one of those 'special' birthdays. At my age (late 60's) every birthday becomes special. I am not of the generation that eats out somewhere special every day (or week or month) but I've got enough accumulated 'stuff' and really don't need any more so, a consumed present is most welcome.
Nailsworth is a pretty little Cotswold town and the journey from our Bristol home only crosses over the M4 making the journey on the Stroud road very interesting with its variety of vegetation and dwellings.
Egypt Mill sits above a very pretty, clean, fast-flowing river - the word Mill being a clue to the former use of this interesting building. Easy parking and across the bridge down a couple of steps and you enter the bar area. All the stonework internally and externally is in excellent condition as is the rest of the building.
Having been invited to order our drinks we were immediately shown to our table and provided with the menu. The offerings are identical to the evening menu but the bonus to this pensioner couple is instead of £10+ (still reasonable) for the evening fare all mains (except steaks) are £7. As it happens we chose the house special faggots. These came with onion gravy, mashed potatoes, mushy peas and a green garnish - delicious and hot. Puddings were also reduced provided you ordered a main course. Lemon meringue sundae and treacle sponge with custard completed a very pleasant assault on our taste-buds. We don't drink alcohol so were very pleased to note that the cups of tea we requested were priced very favourably and came with a selection of quality biscuits.
Staff attention was just right. Not intrusive but 'there' when required.
Overall a very pleasant experience and one that we will be repeating. Good food, good prices, beautiful venue. What's not to like.
I have eaten at this restaurant/hotel on previous occasions and standards are being well maintained.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food-service even better!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Victoria (duty manager) and her staff were fantastic! Very competent,polite and hardworking team. Menu had good variety- all excellent prices too. Good wine menu. Food delicious-compliments to the chef. Ordered pudding to find that desert is 'on the house' Monday-Thursday evenings when ordering a main-BONUS! Fantastic evening in great surroundings! Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank KatieR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Regular lunch venue”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I have visited on many occasions, usually for lunch. The most recent visit was again for lunch where our party of 9 took advantage of the £7 main course special (usually £9.50 to £12.50). Wine, a very good Viognier, was £16 and for mains the majority had the lambs liver (excellent), the burger (very good but not warm enough) or the fish (v good). The chips were lovely too . The building is beautifully quirkily decorated with old mill parts and other interesting items. If the weather is good you can sit outside and enjoy the mill race. We look forward to our next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We got married at the Egypt Mill and have seen it's ups and downs over the years and we think it is definitely on the up at the moment - we had excellent Sunday lunches all round and the new decor is much better - also very good service - would definitely recommend this place if you are in Nailsworth!

Helpful?
Thank Donteattoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Egypt Mill Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 

Been to Egypt Mill Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing