We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Rockingham Castle

Rockingham Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Lovely castle and grounds with excellent restaurant. Well worth a visit. The "wild garden" is perhaps a bit too wild and overgrown, but the formal gardens "elephant hedge" and castle are lovely. The restaurant is waitress service, but not too expensive, and the food is freshly prepared and high quality. Fabulous views from the castle ramparts and towers. Nearby village of Rockingham is also worth a visit and can be reached by walking down through the churchyard. We didn't take a castle tour so can't comment on the inside of the castle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank i4quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, Manager at Rockingham Castle, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. I definitely recommend seeing inside the castle next time too! The wild garden is certainly a contrast with the elegant hedge, but I think it is wonderful that we have two such extremes in our gardens here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    89
    16
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great Day Out”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Rockingham Castle is a fantastic place to visit. Went with my wifes 74 year old uncle. It is tradition that we take him somewhere special each year for his birthday.

It was his choice to go as he is a fan of Dickens and there are several letters from Dickens to the owners of the castle on display.

The castle grounds are beautifully tended and well worth a stroll around.

I would definitely recommended the guided tour around the gardens and the outside of the castle BEFORE going in to look at the inside. Our guide was superb and extremely knowledgeable.

The tea room (Walkers House) provided a small selection of cakes, pastries, soup and the usual tea/coffee.

We had a cream tea. Hot scones, strawberry jam and Cornish clotted cream - scrummy!

I understand they also cater for private parties of 20+ in the evenings, with 3 course meals.

Everyone was so friendly here and it was well worth the visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, Manager at Rockingham Castle, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
What a fantastic idea for a birthday outing! I definitely agree that doing the outside tour first is a good idea as it gives you a sense of context before you go inside. We are also very lucky with our guides here as they are all very knowledgeable and enthusiastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rockingham Castle, garden and castle tour, and candle lit meal”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Minimum number I think is 20, met at 6 for wine or soft drink, with wonderful canapés.
Guide explained the history of the buildings and family, and continued as we toured the house, all extremely interesting (the castle is still a family home so some parts are out of bounds)
7.45 in for candlelit meal, all cooked to perfection and very tasty. All staff very friendly and efficient.
A great night out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MR_DMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, Manager at Rockingham Castle, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
So wonderful to hear you enjoyed your evening. Our candlelit tours are spectacular! They really help you to get a sense of the castle before the introduction of electricity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fairy-tale castle”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

You can see the castle from some distance away, perched atop a hill overlooking the pretty village. When you get there, there is easy parking a short walk from the entrance. This is a beautiful home with all the trappings of a castle, situated with wonderful views across the countryside. Informative staff and fascinating furniture, décor and everything. Stunning gardens, nice tearoom with exquisite scones. Shame you can't see more but this is a family home as well, so one must accept some compromise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, Manager at Rockingham Castle, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Thank you. I believe you are right; the fact that the castle is still a family home adds to the fairy-tale feel of the castle. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The gardens are lovely”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

As the house is still a home, the access to the inside of the house is quite limited. However the garden tour is well worth hanging on for. The lady who showed us round was very informative and was just the type of person you would imagine had been showing visitors round for years. The rose garden was delicious when we looked round. The cafe staff were very friendly, although I did think the price of a sandwich with a few crisps was over the top. But as the upkeep of this historic home must be huge I am sure they need every penny they can get. Had a very calm and refreshing afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, Manager at Rockingham Castle, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
The gardens are indeed beautiful and they change with the seasons wonderfully too. I will pass on your kind words to our hard-working gardeners!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockingham Castle also viewed

Foxton, Market Harborough
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Rockingham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing