We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
29
20
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
20
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toilet block fishing lake kingfisher lodge fire pit shop on site great site nice lake gliding club reviews mention lovely campsite on arrival good size caravan chalet noise facilities gliders
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

second time staying at brook meadows, great chalet nice and comfortable nice views from chalet, staff brilliant and warm welcome, good place to stay as to explore the surrounding area, on the border of Leicestershire and Northamptonshire, good fishing lake.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This is a tricky review to write and I nearly gave 4 stars. We stayed at Brook Meadow over the August Bank Holiday weekend.

Easy booking, very friendly welcome on arrival. The location is beautiful, out in the countryside but near a gliding club so there are occasional aircraft but they are fun to watch and didn't bother us at all. 10 minutes drive to Market Harborough and loads of little villages nearby to explore. It's a lovely area of the country. There's no WiFi but the phone signal is ok.

Our pitch was number 3 with electric hookup and was ok if a little small and on a corner so people continuously took shortcuts across it.

The pitch was on the lake side of the the campsite which was lovely. The lake is large and apparently well stocked. Pitches are well spaced around the lake and there are areas between where children can play.

The down side was that the pitch was near the main toilet block and it's septic tank which was OK when we arrived but after 3 days the smell was noticeable.

As mentioned in some of the other reviews the toilet block would be fine for the lake side pitches but when you add in the large camping field it's nowhere near big enough.

The gents had 2 sinks, 2 showers, 2 toilets and 2 urinals. They were kept clean throughout the weekend but for the number of campers it's just not enough. There are more toilets in the fishing lodge near the lake but this is away from the camping field so very few of those campers venture over to it.

Hot water was sporadic to say the least. Cold showers seemed to be the only option in the mornings and the water pressure was pretty poor too. There seemed to be plenty of hot water in the afternoons so we couldn't work out what was going on except sheer weight of numbers. The campsite needs to build another block next to the existing one really.

The campsite was quiet after 10 no problem. The other campers we met were very friendly.

We stayed until the Tuesday and the campsite emptied during the Bank Holiday Monday. What a change. We asked to move pitch due to the septic tank smell and the lady apologised and let us relocate without any issue.

Monday evening and Tuesday morning showed how lovely this site is when not too busy. It was bliss. We would go again but not at a busy weekend. With a bit more investment this place could be 5 star but the owners need to decide what size / type of site they want it to be and either reduce the number of campers or build more facilities.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank jstanton8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We try and get at least 3 or 4 weekends away camping local to where we live so that we can load up the car Thursday evening and go straight to the chosen campsite straight from work close of play Friday. Dodwells Park just outside Stratford and Rutland Campsite at Greetham are the usual spots. We fancied a change so I did an internet search and Brook Meadow came up. looked OK and facilities sounded good so booked for a Friday and Saturday night. Arrived at 6.30pm, very nice lady and her little boy on reception, gave me a map to the pitch and outlined the facilities and features of the site. Drove to the pitch with electric hook-up, it was massive and enclosed on two sides by a nice hedge. After the tent was up, dinner cooked, eaten and washed up we went to explore the site. There was lots of space, it wasn't crowed, children could play freely and safely and the facilities were great. There is a fantastic lake where people were fishing and lots of wildlife. I would thoroughly recommend this site to both couples and families alike. We even tried our hand at fishing and managed to catch a couple of whoppers! Great site, great location, great people and booked again for September while we were there!

Room tip: If you need electric hook-up ask for pitches FL1 or FL2
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPriceLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Family camping reunion, 7 families in all. The campsite is well maintained, reasonably level and well drained. There was plenty of space for the children to run around and for us to play rounders and other games. The management could not have been more helpful. There are not a huge number of shower cubicles but I didn't have to queue and I only saw one other person queuing - that might be different at bank holidays and school holidays. We would definitely go back again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We were camping with friends over the Whitsun bank holiday in three pitches.

On arrival we had the peace, quiet and tranquility promised by the website. The location is stunning, very pretty and a lush green field to camp on that was well drained, even though there was torrential rain one night.
The booking in was quick, efficient and very friendly.

That's where the good ended for me.

The field filled and filled and filled and soon there were probably 100 units on site. 100 units to share three ladies toilets and showers and two in the gents.

There were children washing shoes in the sinks, throwing water at each other and screaming and shouting in the toilets, using it as another place to play.
People were really inconsiderate, we had footballs and frisbees hit our caravan more than once or twice.
There were a few piles of dog muck on the field too, probably what the children were washing off their shoes... Lovely.

The ladies toilets ran out of hand soap on Saturday morning and it was not replenished until Sunday afternoon. Hygeine not given a thought to.

The owners made no check of the site that we saw over the whole weekend, other than to quickly clean the toilets.

The "no noise past 10.30pm" rule was not enforced and the field didn't really settle down until around midnight.

I think this would be a lovely little retreat out of the school holiday season, but if the owners want repeat business, they need to up their game during the school holidays to avoid putting people off.

This site is probably

That's where the good ended for me.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews