We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food again”
Review of The Bulls Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulls Head
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is one of our local pubs which we use on a regular basis for lunches. Food always good and a good range of real ales. Friendly staff and good service. Nice log fire in the winter. No knowledge of the accommodation as we live too close to warrant staying..

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter3197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Set in the quiet village of Arthingworth within two miles of Kelmarsh Hall and Market Harborough this pub is probably 18th century with a modern separate build to the rear comprising of several double and single en suite comfortable rooms with separate parking facilities. A real ale pub member of CAMRA, good food and plenty of it,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. Accommodation basic but clean and comfortable in a separate block to the pub. Appreciated the small teapot on the hospitality tray. Very quiet room ensuring a good night's rest. Wi-Fi available in pub only. Excellent breakfast with juice, cereals and fruit, cooked full English breakfast and toast, cafetiere of coffee/teapot of tea. Very good for the price.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor twin room if possible but were told on arrival that all the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed several times and the accommodation is basic but comfortable but fantastic value for money with a cooked breakfast. Staff always very friendly and the cooked breakfast was great with really good quality ingredients being used. Evening Pub food again really good quality for the money. Only downside not Wi-Fi in rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having stayed for 3 days a week from the end of Jan to mid April 2014 whilst working in Market Harborough I have to say if it were not such a good place to stay, we would not have been there so long. The breakfast is consistently good, plentiful and you can have your eggs done the way you like them. The evening meals are quite often far superior than one might expect from a village pub, the specials board is always worth investigating. I tried everything they had to offer and enjoyed every meal especially the venison and the famous Steak & Ale pie. The staff are friendly, very attentive and helpful, the cellar is well kept and real ales are available. Rooms are always clean well provisioned with tea and coffee and MILK. Any issues such as light bulb failure are dealt with quickly Parking is off road and plentiful. I would recommend this establishment as a good base for the whole area and those who enjoy good food and a very quiet night’s sleep. Regards Jeff Randall Cardiff

Room Tip: I have stayed in all the twin rooms and they are all comfortable and warm and the 3 bed family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank partyhartyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went as a family for a meal on Saturday evening, arriving at about 7:30. The place was busy and felt cosy so our expectations were set high. We were seated in the dining room to the front of the pub, which is not very cosy, but at least had space.
Unfortunately, the wait for our food was ridiculous, it was well over an hour and a half between ordering and being served. We had been warned that he meal would take 'a little time' to prepare, but this was silly! Food was OK once it arrived, but not great (my son's beef Lasagne was awful, but we didn't dare complain in case it took more time). The table before us had a long wait, but they had left before our meal arrived, in fact they wished us 'good luck' as they left. The place was nearly empty by now, so the kitchen could hardly have still been busy.
I'm sorry to say that on paying the bill as we left (over 2 hours after we arrived) not the slightest apology was offered for our delay.
I had hoped that we had found a little gem, but I'm afraid we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were celebrating a family birthday and stayed here because it was a location we could all get to.
The three rooms we booked were clean and comfortable enough. We had a meal at the pub on the first night, no frills and reasonably priced. Breakfast was fine.
Perhaps we went on the wrong day but our party of 7 didn't find the staff we dealt with particularly friendly, helpful or approachable. It didn't spoil our stay though.
Market Harborough is worth a visit although it is several miles away from the pub.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplestar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Harborough
4.0 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#1 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,198 reviews
4.0 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 5 in Market Harborough
276 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Market Harborough
Travelodge Market Harborough
#3 of 5 in Market Harborough
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothwell
78 reviews
6.8 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head

Address: Kelmarsh Road, Market Harborough LE16 8JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Market Harborough
Price Range: £69 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulls Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Bulls Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing