We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding base” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Swans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Three Swans Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wedding base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed at the three swans as were attending a wedding in the location, great room. Very clean, spacious and huge bed and was the perfect place to be after a fantastic wedding. Would recommend if visiting Market Harborough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlindajen2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    387
    130
    54
    26
See reviews for
223
364
37
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed last December for a family do and all was well and came back again on Saturday 15th December 2012.

I personally think that this hotel is very good value for money. We checked into room 88 for one night on the 15 th December for a Xmas family do which was held in the Pen room, same hotel.

Room 88 was in an annexe behind the hotel and the room was absolutely fine for the £70 we were paying for the night (inc breakfast). A fairly basic room but clean and tidy with tea and coffee facilities plus a good shower over the bath.

A huge problem ruined our stay and it was not directly the hotel's fault -

We went back to our room at 12 midnight, and at 3am woke to our lovely neighbours in room 90 who, at 3am came back and had a party in their room. In all fairness to the hotel, we rang at 3.30am and the night porter asked them to turn their music off and threatened the police. However the noise continued through the night to 6.45am when the four (male) occupants must have fallen asleep. Shouting, yelling, flushing the noisy toilet, slamming wardrobe doors etc etc - all I can say, it's a hotel guest's nightmare! They were smoking too.

I must admit I left a note on their door! The sad thing is, that I stopped my husband from knocking on their door because you never know what sort of psycho might answer it.

As it turned out, the culprit was a local guy whose company had paid for the night and happily for me, the hotel got the guy's boss down the next morning - made him pay the bill and, as he'd been smoking in his room with his pals, and made him pay £50 for extra cleaning!

This is really not the sort of stay I relish but I must say Rosemary on reception on Sunday morning was furious that this had happened to us and kept me informed of events later in the day.

Although breakfast was included in the price, there was a long wait for a breakfast table and we went to Weatherspoons instead.

I really do think that after our night from hell and no breakfast, the hotel should have reduced our bill by a few pounds?


Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Noonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
181 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We liked our stay very much. The rooms were very clean.

The parking is free and there is plenty of space.

The internet was well working.

The breakfast was TOP.

The restaurant in the envening had a very good price/quality, we took the menu and it was perfect.

The bar at the street side is nice to drink a beer after business.

Ant most important the price is VERY OK.

I can only strongly recommend this BW.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BossErpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel is right in the town centre and offers a wide varity of rooms some of which date back to the 17th century. It was our 3rd visit to this hotel and 3rd stay in room 101 the largest suite.we feel the room is getting a bit tired in places and may be ready for an update. Also the bedroom is over the function room and the disco did not finish until 12.30am We paid £125 for b/b so we do expect very high standards. The spa bath was excellent,the breakfast was full English buffet style service was spot on. Check in and out was smooth and efficient.
Would we return? Probably yes but would try to get the rate reduced next time.
Steve and san

Room Tip: Room101 but try get rate reduced as it is over priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrasedmum54
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at the Three Swans to attended a family party locally.
I have stayed in a number of Best Westerns but this one has tons of character a quite a history.
It has obviously been a coaching house in past times and it is even rumoured that Charles I stayed here during the civil war. The accommodation is spread over a number of separate buildings which could be a disadvantage to some - but we found it added to the quirky character of the hotel.
The rooms were exceptionally large, clean and nice and warm on what was a very cold night. The décor is a little dated but nothing that hinders your enjoyment of the hotel.Worth a mention is the breakfast - excellent value for money. And the service was excellent.

Room Tip: If you are in a large group request rooms near each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrasedmum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Just returned from a lovely three night stay, the staff were extremely helpful (thanks Joe!), the room was warm, clean and comfortable and breakfast was as good as anything we've ever experienced. Whether you choose to dine in the bar or the restaurant the same standards apply and the food is delicious. Definitely recommend the lunchtime beef sandwich! We stayed during the art and craft weekend which was an extra bonus, the big conference suite was filled with an amazing variety of talented people exhibiting and selling their work. Market Harborough itself is a lovely little town to browse around. Thank you 3 Swans - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel has historical roots allied to a modern 'conference' 'celebration' annexe that is really state of the art. The staff are real human beings and one is well looked after by people who are well motivated and genuinely intent on a 'good guest' experience. There is good choice of eating options from pub grub to imaginative and interesting menus professionally served with crisp white linen and unobtrusive, friendly and attentive staff. Rooms are fine and beds comfortable. The town is charming with a good sense of community and maintains an interesting old market hall with 'antiques' and 'collectables' at the weekend. All in all a relaxing and stress free place to stay whether it be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room in the 'old' building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha40, General Manager at The Three Swans Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Harborough
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Market Harborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 5 in Market Harborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
10.4 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
11.6 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Swans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Swans Hotel

Property: The Three Swans Hotel
Address: 21 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Swans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Three Swans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The 3 Swans Hotel
Best Western Market Harborough
Market Harborough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing