We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit like a 70s theme hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Three Swans Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit like a 70s theme hotel”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for one night when in Market Harborough for a family event. We had a room in the annex so the rooms in the main hotel might be a bit nicer. It's perfectly pleasant, the bed was really comfortable (though standard double and no bigger) and because it overlooked a carpark and not a road it's fairly quiet. The staff are really friendly - we lost our room card and they immediately got us another and didn't seem to mind that we'd just foolishly misplaced it. The staff at breakfast were also lovely and chatty.
The entrance is nice and welcoming and the hotel itself looks interesting and pretty (it's an old coaching inn) - a few old, sprawling buildings. However, the room looked tired and the bathroom looked like a homage to the 70s (and not in a trendy, retro way). It was poky with lino flooring and there was rust all round the bottom of the radiator. The shower was a bit underwhelming. We had free wifi but it was a bit spasmodic in the annex (though better in the main hotel building). We were also a bit disappointed in the bar food - it took ages to arrive and when it did it was undercooked - my cousin sent hers back. It was also a bit on the expensive side for bar food - around £10 for a Caesar salad that actually wasn't very big. The breakfast was great, though, although again the dining room felt a bit like a retirement home.
The price wasn't bad for what was a perfectly good night's sleep, so if you're in Market Harborough it's definitely worth considering. As I said, the rooms in the main hotel (where some of my family stayed) were a bit more atmospheric. The location is great - right in the centre of what is a really pretty little town so handy for exploring - we only had an hour or so to wander around as we were going to a party, so appreciated the location. Once again I must praise the staff, who were really friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    419
    137
    57
    29
See reviews for
252
401
39
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Well not bad. Nice big rooms not cheap. Some rooms in the out buildings not have internet
Parking plenty and is ok Plenty to do in the hotel restaurant right in the centre
Next to many restaurants Very good english break fast buffer. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: One night stay dont know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here on Boxing Day night after a family get together. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean. Breakfast was the usual "help yourself" buffet which we couldn't fault.
If you want a central location in this town you can't do much better.
Would we stay here again..............yes, most definitely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Three Swans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Brian S
Thank you for your recent feedback about your stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. I will ensure your nice comments are passed on to the team and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Neil Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Called with a coach party on 2 evenings in November/December. Friendly warm greeting from Anthony and his staff. Restaurant laid out in festive decor, Meal excellent served quickly by courteous staff, who even fetched drinks from the downstairs bar. Good thing also was a parking space for the coach which is often the criteria which swings us to visit or not.
Certainly be calling again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showcoachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Three Swans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your great feedback following your recent visits to the hotel in November & December with your groups. I have shown them to Antony and his team, and they really appreciate your comments about all their hard work in looking after our guests over the year and particularly during the Festive period.

We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Best Regards
Neil Gray
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

It wasn't terrrible but I had expected better. The double bedroom was pokey and the shower a dribble. Ingeniously they had managed to get an ironing board and iron inside the room but you would have blocked your way into the ensuite if you had lowered the ironing board. the ensuite was so small that once you had taken down the towels there was just the hook on the back of the door on which to hang them. There was no way you would have anywhere to hang the 4 towels made available once you had taken them down. Disposable plastic cups rather than glass or heavier plastic. The bottle bank is round the corner and got replaced at 7am so no need for an alarm clock then! We opted for this over travelodge - it came with breakfast but not sure it was worth being twice the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Three Swans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear John G
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay at the Three Swans and I am sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. I am pleased to be able to tell you that following the recent purchase of the Hotel, the new owners are starting a refurbishment and expansion programme commencing with the hotel bedrooms from mid-January 2014. Many of the points you raised will be addressed during the next 12 months as the rooms are completed. I hope you may decide to return in the future to see the benefits of their substantial investment in the property. Thank you for your valued feedback and I wish you a Happy New Year.

Best Regards
Neil Gray
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Seem to visit this hotel once a year due to family Xmas get together! This year we stayed in room 68 which is a good sized family room in an annexe. Comfy room with a much warmer bathroom this time around! Bed was a little hard so a mattress topper could be a good idea! Nothing fancy but a comfortable place to be for a couple of days.

Breakfast is quite good, a buffet both hot and cold.

Lovely staff especially Rosemary on reception who's a credit to the Best Western.

Good value at around £70 a night, a bit less if you skip breakfast. Free wifi throughout which is a big plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Harborough
0.1 mi away
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#4 of 5 in Market Harborough
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Market Harborough
Travelodge Market Harborough
#3 of 5 in Market Harborough
240 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
19.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,045 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Swans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Swans Hotel

Property: The Three Swans Hotel
Address: 21 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Swans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Three Swans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The 3 Swans Hotel
Best Western Market Harborough
Market Harborough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing