We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia personified.”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Angel Hotel
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nostalgia personified.”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Angel Hotel is very special to my wife and I, because on Saturday 2 October,1965 we came across this establishment by chance and spent our wedding night there. Living 60 miles away, this is only our third repeat visit, but on Saturday 31st March, 2012 we came for a special birthday celebration, having booked a room through an online booking agency. We were dismayed on arriving to find that there was no record of our booking, which apparently has happened several times before with this particular agency, but the situation was saved by the very helpful reception staff, Eileen and Gemma, and we were allocated a room although they were very busy.

We had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant, at a reasonable price and really enjoyed the experience again.

The floors slope, the floorboards creak, but the general ambience is lovely, and there is a large car park at the rear of the premises.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front which overlooks the road as some of the rooms at the rear overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    93
    44
    25
    20
See reviews for
38
85
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is a really beautiful hotel, conveniently situated on high street , close to all shops and restaurants. The staff are really friendly and professional . I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shobsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We went for dinner at the Angel a few weeks ago. It is not as 'up market' as some other places in the town but the staff were helpful and polite. The food is good and wholesome and very well priced. The bar is lovely to relax in with comfy seating and large sofas. For a nice relaxed dinner or an afternoon drink, you could do a lot worse

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipcarobeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

A comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Market Harborough is an interesting old market town with great shops.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The website site showed some pleasant refurbished rooms and was expected a good standard of accommodation at the Angel; however this was not the case and potential guests should be made aware that not all the rooms have been refurbished and of a high standard that is depicted on the website.

The reception welcome was friendly; was not shown my room just given directions but this is the norm these days at many UK hotels.

The room itself, a single ensuite, was very cramped, the chair was a dining room style seat which was not comfortable, you could not sit at the desk as the bed was in the way; the only plus point was the flat screen TV. The bed itself was old, did not benefit from a duvet but old blankets and a bed spread, not very warm or comfortable.

The bathroom was very tight, was not easy take a seat on the toilet and the décor was tired. The bath had mildew growing in the corners and the shower temperature was difficult to regulate. The towels were not the best, of sandpaper texture.

The heat in the room was always a problem; from walking into find the window open on a very cold January day to the small radiator which was covered by curtains when closed; heating the window and not the room; very stupid, given the curtains did not even fit the windows on the sides as it was. However the most annoying aspect of the heating was it being turned off in the night; not nice as I say on a very cold January night.

All in all terrible nights stay, the only plus point was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main road and a newly refurbished room if they exist?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Market Harborough hotels

Innisfail, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Fortunate indeed are the travellers who elect to stay in the Angel Hotel in Market Harborough, Leicestershire. Even the briefest of stays would inspire accolades and superlatives of praise for this superior hostelry. The very essence of a comfortable and informal English hotel has been cleverly captured by an astute management. The dedicated and competent staff ensures a relaxed and cosseted experience since a pleasant sense of order is always in evidence within its precincts. Clean, comfortable, well- appointed bedrooms, a spacious cheerful dining room and consistently excellent food always available in various localities and the very evident adherence to a high standard of service defines the Angel Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel and firstly I had to book online as when I phoned the hotel they couldn't give me the same deal that was on their website. When I went to my room the bathroom shower was disgusting( mouldy and dirty).

The receptionist gave me the keys to another room which by her admission was not good. She then brought me the keys for an upgraded room which was much better although there were still hairs on the floor.

Overall the hotel just needs a little tlc

Room Tip: Room 4 was an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmfl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca M, Public Relations Manager at Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems during your stay with us but pleased to hear Reception was able to rectify the problem for you. We are starting a refurbishment in early 2012. I hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Harborough
0.1 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Market Harborough Hotel
8.4 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel
22.4 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,113 reviews
10.1 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Property: Angel Hotel
Address: 37 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Market Harborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing