We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly staff”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angel Hotel
Hunenberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, the room was a large family room, the mattress on the double was not very good but they replaced it for the 2nd night. The staff where really friendly and extremely helpful. I would stay again without a doubt. Great value for money, the food was good for breakfast and there dinner menu was good basic British food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    93
    46
    26
    21
See reviews for
38
88
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Yes, it looks as though it needs a refurb, it's a bit fusty and oldish, but it has a charm about it that says 'this is the real England', take it or leave it!
I went with my mother of 82 and partner of 60 for Sunday lunch.
Despite their ages these ladies know a bit or two about food, style and service and have been to the most modern and classical establishments in the land so can't be type cast! They both took it as was, and enjoyed the afternoon with the associated banter.
First impressions were the staff, all ages and very individual, all very pleasant and helpful, they didn't put a foot wrong in our view all service, despite their odd take on uniforms!!!
The trick is being pleasant, gets great results!
The menu was quite varied for a Sunday and my mother chose chicken with a mushroom strogonoff. She normally doesn't eat much but 'scoffed' the entire and generous portion!!! She remarked that the chicken was cooked to perfection, soft and succulent, the stroganoff a savoury delight, marrying well with the chicken and vegetables.
My partner had the roast lamb and did the same!
Fish pie for me, pretty good too.
To think we all thought we were going for traditional beef!
Deserts were superb and this goes without saying but here's the thing, it was just £12 per head for three courses!!!!
Unbelievable value.
We have eaten in every restaurant in Market Harborough and this is one of the best, not just for value but for heart warming food served with a smile.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinteastwoodsbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great location in the heart of lovely Markert Harborough. Staff very attentive and friendly but..
The Angel is now looking rather sad and in need of extensive remedial attention. It is clear there is a lack of investment, rooms have adequate amenities but lack taste and really are not what they should be and if nothing is done soon The Angel will continue to decline.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Angel is steeped in history - unfortunately some areas appear to have been left alone throughout that history! Rooms are spacious and mid-20th century decor (but comfortable). The Ostler bar is the best bit of the hotel - very comfortable and friendly, but the drinks offer is poor. The restaurant is really nice and the food is excellent (especially Sunday lunch), but on the last occasion wewent the service was truly abysmal, with the staff chatting to each other and pointedly ignoring the clients. Overall it has great potential but needs a firm hand to bring it into line.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room available - price differentials are not extreme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSmiith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lovely room, lovely friendly and helpful staff and in a perfect location. Room was massive with a brilliant spacious bathroom. Free, secure parking at the rear. Bar area was really quaint. Food of a high quality. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Perfect location in centre of Market Harborough, free parking, lovely spacious rooms will all amenities, excellent food in the restaurant, also take the tastecard which made it even cheaper. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budd1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I visted the Angel hotel with my partner and 2 teenage daughters, the purpose of our stay was to attend a family wedding. The bride had suggested this hotel , however upon arrival after a 3 hour car journey we were advised the room was only available at 2.00pm, considering the wedding was at 2.30pm and a further 20 minutes away this did not leave us much chance to get ready. The hotel did have the room ready by 1.00pm, however this was with some reluctance. When the booking was made is was clear that we were part of a wedding party, common sense should of told them that we would need the room earlier. I stayed in an executive room which was very large and airy with a spacious bathroom, what let it down was the cleanliness of the room and the public rooms. Breakfast was a rushed affair and when we asked for more fruit juice the reply was it had all been put away! It was a pity about the hotel, because Market Harborough appears to be quite a pretty town to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Market Harborough hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Harborough
0.1 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Market Harborough
Travelodge Market Harborough
#3 of 5 in Market Harborough
240 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel
7.1 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothwell
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Property: Angel Hotel
Address: 37 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Market Harborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing