We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Takeaway generally delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cinnamon Lounge

The Cinnamon Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cinnamon Lounge is an award winning fine dining Indian restaurant based in the lovely town of Market Harborough. We are a small family run business offering traditional Indian food with a modern twist. Proud winners of the 2016 English Curry Awards, we aim to make your visit a memorable one. The Cinnamon Lounge also offers a take away and delivery service and is open seven days a week. For those new to curry, we offer a modestly priced Sunday buffet (12-5pm).
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Takeaway generally delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Please note - we have not visited the restaurant.

We moved to Harborough just over 5 months ago and quite quickly decided this was our fave curry house. We have had several takeaways now, with different groups of friends, and most often just the two of us. We've never really had any complaints. If food has been slow, we've been given extras, and I've generally found the staff on the end of the telephone to be very helpful even when clearly rushed off their feet in house. The only time I've not had good telephone service was when calling to get some info on the Sunday Buffet when the man that answered gave one word answers and was not at all helpful hence not having visited (we have two small children and can't risk a bad experience!).

As I said the food has generally been absolutely delicious. The last couple of curries we've had, especially the chicken masala have been quite watery which has been disappointing as that is all my husband eats (he likes others, but is a creature of habit!). The korma I have always found to be a bit bland but everything else is delicious - especially the onion bhajis, the chicken biryani and (previous to the last couple of times) the chicken masala.

Prices are good, and it is very local to us, will continue to try takeaways, and hopefully get to try a meal in the restaurant soon as do believe everyone has bad days. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a good curry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    47
    22
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good quality Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

visited restaurant a few times in the last 2 months with various friends and have always been very pleased with the service and especially the quality of the various dishes we have had, I live leicester and it's worth the extra distance as it's now our favorite Indian diner 10-10. well done cinnamon lounge

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigelhill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday buffet - avoid it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I'm sat in the restaurant at this minute, we've been here over an hour and the buffet is empty and has been for ages, they top it up minimally every half hour, just avoid it. What food was there was really nice shame there were too many people in the restaurant for it to go between. I am a Harborough person and like to support local restaurants, came here with my family for my husbands birthday and will not come back again. The waitress was lovely but back of house really let her down.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“1st Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great service,good food nice restaurant the only down side no bitter but the larger was alright cant wait to go again

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ago750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“restaurant great; takeaway yuck!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

on the strength of two recent excellent meals we ordered 3 takeaways. I wonder if a different chef prepares the takeaways , lesser standards are applied or they cannot guarantee consistent standards but the food could at best be described as disappointing and more accurately as appalling. Such a pity as recent "in house" food has been superb with great service and I cannot understand the difference. No more takeaways and careful consideration to be given to returning or back to the town centre restaurants

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulc301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul B, Manager at The Cinnamon Lounge, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
We are sorry to hear that you have found our takeaway food to be a disappointment. Unfortunately, you have not given any specific details so it is impossible to tell exactly what it is you feel is poor about the food you have received. We can only presume that it is to the main curry dishes that you refer. In which case, all of our main curries and starters are cooked by the same chef , whether for consumption in or out of the restaurant. Produce is supplied daily and there is certainly no difference between the ingredients used for dining-in or take-away customers.

If we do not know that there is a problem we cannot do anything to try to resolve the situation - if you felt that the food was unsatisfactory after the first and certainly second order, it would have been helpful to mention this when ordering the third so that we could attempt to rectify any issues. However, if you would like to give us some further specific feedback this would be much appreciated (thecinnamonloumgemh@live.co.uk). We hope that this will not put you off in continuing to dine in with us; we hope to see you inside again soon and guarantee that the food will not disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cinnamon Lounge also viewed

Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Cinnamon Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing