We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for groups of people to meet up”
Review of Mercado Lounge

Mercado Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mercado Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment. Outdoor area for dining, 40 covers. Large party bookings taken at no extra charge (sorry, no full private hires). Open from 8am weekdays and 9am weekends (we need a lie-in too!)
Market Harborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for groups of people to meet up”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I organise a brunch here for large numbers of people every 4 weeks as part of the Market Harborough meetup group. It is our most popular event that we do, and the Mercado Lounge is a perfect place for groups of people to meet. There are plenty of tables so we never struggle to find anywhere to sit.

There is an extensive and varied menu, with something for everyone. It's also great because you go up to the bar with your table number to order food, which means that everyone can go and order and pay for their brunch separately, and there's no confusing bill to split at the end.

There is a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and we are always made to feel very welcome by the staff. The manager Ed is always very friendly, and surprised us all by treating us to a complimentary bottle of Prosecco to thank us for our custom at our latest brunch today. You can't get better service than that!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercado_Boss, General Manager at Mercado Lounge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Morning Sam W,
thanks for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. It's lovely to know we are a favourite choice of your Meet Up group, and its a pleasure having you guys here, as well as seeing the group grow in size on each occasion!
We are now expanding quite rapidly in the East Midlands, so if you ever fancy trying one of our other Lounges, we have a new one in Rugby, Bacco Lounge and are opening Kino Lounge in Kettering at the end of August...we also have a beautiful Cosy Club in Stamford if you are after a full restaurant experience in picturesque surroundings!
Thanks again for sharing the love and we are looking forward to seeing you again in a few weeks' time.
Regards
Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    91
    38
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and food...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is only the 2nd time I have eaten here but both times it was as part of a large group...(quick plug for Meet Up group of Market Harborough) ...and both times there was nothing I could find fault in. The staff were polite and helpful, and the food was hot and tasty. Looking forward to coming back again and trying further dishes off the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1953Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercado_Boss, General Manager at Mercado Lounge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello, hello!
What a cracking little review indeed! Thanks ever so much for giving us a slice of praise pie!
Lovely, as always, to see you all and we're looking forward to seeing you all again in a couple of weeks' time. If you'd like, we can set up the same area as you had last week, arrange the tables, have some pre-ordered wine chilled and waiting, or some yummy tapas waiting for you to arrive? Anything else you think of, do drop us an email mercado@thelounges.co.uk or give myself or one of my minions (Chubby Ronan Keating, anyone?) a call and we'll do the rest.
See you soon and thanks again for leaving us such lovely feedback.
Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great and family friendly”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Regular visitor to Mercado Lounge. Good choice of food and drink, and friendly staff. Prices aren't bad - no more expensive than any of the coffee shops in town. Also very family friendly and more accessible than some of the coffee shops in Harborough if you're out with the pushchair.

Helpful?
Thank tgl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercado_Boss, General Manager at Mercado Lounge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Morning tgl84,
firstly thanks for taking some time out of your day to give us a bit of positive feedback, it means a lot to all of us here at Mercado to know when we're getting things spot on!
Glad you found the pricing just-right, we try to be a Goldilocks kind of business; not too cheap, not too pricey, but juuuuuuuust right. Hopefully our team we have here also fit into that description (well, most of us arent cheap!), not too chummy, not too pushy, bob on in the middle!
Thanks once again for the review and hopefully we'll see plenty more of you in the future.
Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feels like being abroad”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely laid back feeling - for all ages - lots of great choices for food.
We love the tapas, especially having a special gluten free menu. Staff helpful and polite

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scotthoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercado_Boss, General Manager at Mercado Lounge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi scotthoh,
aftrer just being away on holiday myself, the memory of it is still fresh in my own memory, so I was very pleased to see your review that, for us, hits the nail on the head for what it is we try to do each day here at Mercado.
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us the review, as I said, it lets us know that we are on the right tack and steering our team in the right direction.
All aboard the HMS Mercado for many more tasty adventures, garrrrrrr! (I seem to have gone a bit piratey towards the end...oooh, you MUST try Kraken Rum next time you're down, yo ho and all that)
Thanks again
Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We like it!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We moved to Market Harborough five months ago and we have been to the Mercado Lounge a few times for breakfast and for lunch. We have never been disappointed so far, I am quite surprised to see some bad reviews. Food has been good with quick service considering it's always very busy during the week-end. Last Sunday there was a jazz band, very much enjoyable!

Helpful?
Thank Lory76Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercado_Boss, General Manager at Mercado Lounge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Gooooooood morning!
Apologies for the delay in getting back to you, I 've had the luxury of a holiday in the past couple of weeks! Thanks ever so much for leaving this smashing review, we love it here too!!!
We try our very best to meet and surpass our guests' expectations, so its lovely to hear that we are doing a bang on job, especially when its from one of our repeat customers.
Happy to hear we're getting it spot on for you, and we look forward to having you back again (and again, and again!).
Many thanks
Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercado Lounge also viewed

Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Mercado Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing