We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dingley Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Three Swans Hotel(Market Harborough)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel Hotel(Market Harborough)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Market Harborough(Market Harborough)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilworth House Hotel(North Kilworth)
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
47
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was deliciouswonderful hostseasy access to markettea and biscuitshot showerone nighta lovely place to staylovely settingbruceloungecountrysidebedroomweddingensuite
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Christine and Bruce really do go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and to ensure you enjoy your stay. This started with the offer of tea on our arrival, which was a nice touch. The building is old and interesting with some stunning views, which we appreciated more on our second day when the rain and wind had subsided! There is an old fashioned feel to this small hotel, which means you get a larger than average room and electric blankets on the beds. The rooms are also warm with additional heat provided if you want to use it. The lounge has a lovely log burner too. The evening meal and breakfast was good home cooking and very pleasant. We had a busy schedule of visits to complete so didn't get to appreciate the immediate area or any walks but hopefully we'll return in better weather sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunsetLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thankyou Sunset for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We realise that we can't compete with the facilities that many bigger hotels might have to offer but we do try to offer a more personal service to compensate. In return our guests seem to appreciate the small touches like a cup of tea and being able to sit beside a roaring fire.
We look forward to meeting you again when, hopefully, you'll be able to take time out to relax.
Thankyou for coming to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were booked in to Dingley Lodge by a couple that we were taking wedding photos for.

We had no idea what to expect and were advised that it was no problem for us to check in late. We arrived at 7pm and met the one of the owners Christine who was lovely. We had a great chat whilst she showed us around. The authentic fireplace and grand feel of this Victorian building was really inviting and we couldn’t wait to relax in our room.

The room was well equipped with coffee and tea making facilities, a good warm shower, TV with lots of freeview channels and a really comfy bed.

We slept extremely well and got up early for breakfast. The selection was great with fruit salad, cereal and a freshly cooked breakfast by Bruce who took our order. The breakfast was the best we have had in a B&B and it was made even nicer by the nice atmosphere and friendly chat with Bruce.

The views around the house are simply stunning and we would have loved to explore more and gone on some walks.

When it was time to leave both Bruce and Christine came out to say goodbye.

We would not hesitate in staying there again and thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is travelling through or visiting the local area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BohemianWeddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thankyou Travelshutters for your warm words. We remember your visit well and were interested to chat with you about your photography. I hope business is progressing well

Unfortunately your time here had to fit around the wedding you were attending but you said that one day you'd like to come back and we look forward to welcoming you again.

If/when you do return you'll find that this area is one of the UK's best-kept secrets as far as tourism is concerned; there's plenty to do and see, some excellent places to eat and drink and, if you don't want to do much, you can always just sit outdoors and soak in the view. We love the fact that the locality isn't heaving with visitors and that those who do come tend to show appreciation of and respect for the local environment.

Thankyou again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The family re-union was once again held at this wonderful hote. As always, Chris and Bruce went out of their way to make our event a great success and made us all feel so welcome. The rooms were clean and well decorated and the views across the valley were stunning.

Well done Dingley Lodge! You make it a pleasure to stay away from home.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are excellent but one overlooking the valley is a must.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonylucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thankyou Tony for another great review! It's good to know that, when accommodation space is limited at home, so many folk in this area choose Dingley Lodge as a good over-spill place for family and friends to stay.

We've now been here over 30 years, have been 'in business' for 25 of these and can proudly say that some of our guests have now been using us for decades! It's also true that over 90% of our guests have stayed with us at least once before and that some of them have stayed literally hundreds of times. Hopefully it's not just because we're convenient for Market Harborough.

Thanks to this support, during a period which has seen the closure of lots of small businesses like ours, Dingley Lodge has managed to survive the onslaught of the cut price multi-national/corporate lodges and inns which have sprung up - not just in Market Harborough but right around the country - in the last few years. Hopefully we'll be able to continue just as we are until we're ready to retire.......... bring it on!

Thankyou again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Decided to have a weekend away from it all and chose Dingley Lodge at random.
Could not believe our luck when we got here. The friendly reception by Bruce and Christine who made us feel at home with tea and biscuits before showing us to our room which was very clean and airy with lovely high ceilings and large windows, as well as very comfortable beds and excellent en-suite, offering phenomenal views over the surrounding countryside.

The house is very spacious with a good sized lounge and open wood burning stove which gives a very homely atmosphere. The meals are proper meals (not that Master Chef nonsense), freshly cooked (No re-heats) and of excellent quality prepared by Christine who knows what she is doing. This is more of a Guest House than a Hotel where the guests are virtually part of the family.

In the grounds there are some very friendly chickens which come to have a chat - asking for something to eat, no doubt - and if one has some biscuit handy will pick it out of one's fingers with very sharp bills. So, be warned.

Thus, if one is in need of some civilised living whilst away from home, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryandNesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

It's great when people who live not too far distant decide to have a weekend break, away from it all, and then choose.... Dingley Lodge!
Thankyou HarryandNesta for such glowing comments. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you here.
I've previously mentioned on Trip Advisor that guests really seem to appreciate personal service and, because Dingley Lodge is relatively small, Christine and I are able to give more time to this aspect than, say, a manager of a larger enterprise or an employee whose time is measured in cash terms.
We're grateful that in many cases reviewers are happy to overlook our failings in other areas because they value this service.
I'm glad you enjoyed Christine's cooking too and it's interesting that you mention 'no re-heats'. We did have a microwave for defrosting but it gave up the ghost a couple of years ago and we haven't bothered replaced it........ yet!
We hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Having been invited to a wedding in Market Harborough, my girlfriend and I spent 3 wonderful evenings at Dingly Lodge. In addition to all the expected stuff (comfort, cleanliness, functionality, etc.), it was the unexpected stuff that stood out. For starts, the welcome was wonderful – we felt as if we had arrived at the house of old friends. We were really made to feel at home. As it happens, we watched the start of Olympic Games opening ceremony on TV at Dingley Lodge and were grinning so much; it’s as if Danny Boyle had been around to Dingly Lodge to get inspiration for his “Green and pleasant land” depiction. We too had the sheep and the hens and the pheasant roaming around on the surrounding lawns. The beautiful sunset and the distant lowing of cattle.
Breakfast was wonderful – delicious and copious with very good coffee (important!). Unfortunately we did not eat there any of the evenings, but walked by the dining room with envy when we saw what the others were having.

All in all we were very happy and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Onthemove360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thankyou 'onthemove380'. This must be one of the best reviews we could wish for.

Fortunately for us all the conditions were just right when you came to stay. The weather was good, the Olympics were just beginning and there was a general feeling ~ not just at Dingley Lodge ~ of well-being.

We're delighted that this feeling spilled over onto your stay with us and that you enjoyed your time here. Hopefully, when you're next over, you'll be able to stay with us again and, without the distractions of a wedding this time, be able to visit some local attractions and enjoy a relaxing time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews