We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions aren't always right”
Review of Boston West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boston West Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First impressions aren't always right”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

On arrival a guy was checking in. He went off to his room and came back a few moments later to mention a burn mark in the carpet. Check in was easy the receptionist was polite. In entering the room I was really impressed. Then I sat on the bed. What I thought was a king sized bed turned out to be two single bed with the mattresses zipped together. one mattress had obviously been replaced as it was slightly higher than the other. So one mattress was extremely hard the other had a big dip in the middle. Like other people have said, the walls were thin and I could here the tv from the next room until it was turned off in the early morning. Apart from this the room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mumand3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    105
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
69
100
21
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Smallish out of town great hotel. I have stayed here often, and have never been disappointed. If you want somewhere out of town where you can stay in pleasant surroundings. Free wifi has now been upgraded and offers speeds as expected in the area. Golf course may be a bonus for some. Restaurant is adequate with a limited value for money menu.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great....but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here overnight as needed an early start nearby. Hotel is part of a golf club, though a few hundred yards from the clubhouse. NB the post code sends the sat nav to the clubhouse on main road whereas the hotel entrance is up a side road.

It is set a few miles outside Boston and so no other facilities close by.

The hotel is a smallish modern block, built as part of the developing family business which owns the golf club. It is fresh and decorated in modern and clean decor. We had asked for a double bed but were allocated a twin room. This faced the golf club and private drive, and was quiet. The window didn't open far and would have been hot in warmer weather though a desk fan had thoughtfully been left in the room. There was good free wi fi in the room.

The bathroom had evidence of a leak from above in the ceiling and the bedroom had an odd drawer without a handle.

We only ate breakfast there, first checking out as it was an early start and at a distance i.e. we drove over. The price was the same for continental or cooked breakfast: the first beginning at 7.00 and the latter at 7.30am, the continental should have included pastries but we saw none, though the cooked breakfast did appear, buffet style, at 7.30am. The continental was somewhat expensive and would have been extremely so without pastries - our breakfast time enabled us to have a cooked buffet meal, and this was tasty, but the cold continental parts less interesting. The coffee was rather weak.

There was no atmosphere in the restaurant and there were four large round tables set for people to use, and the decorations from the previous day's wedding.

Friendly receptionist and at breakfast, including a very cheery cleaner.

Room Tip: Some first floor rooms had balconies overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The boston West hotel is located in a small village a little way outside of Boston and is evidently part of a golf club. It is easy to find, with brown signs pointing the way.

The rooms are spacious and finished to a high standard, with the normal facilities you would expect at this price point. Free wifi is a bonus, although I did not use it for my brief stay. The bed is a superking and gave me a very pleasant nights sleep.

I turned up later in the evening, and rang the night porter, who zipped over to reception on a golf cart within a couple of minutes, and checked me in swiftly.

It would recommend it as a place to stay if visiting the area for work or pleasure (or even golf!). Whilst not a destination in itself, it represents excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Set in beautiful golf course we had a room in the carpark with no view and it was noisy next to the road our duvet had stains on but rest of the room was cleaned everyday and bed made. staff were pleasant restraunt very reasonable food delicious just a way to walk to the complex from hotel. Room was very basic but functional not much to do with a baby as its in the middle of nowhere but ok as a stop gap

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kma92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We had two very relaxing days here. The view from the balcony was great. We even had 2 glorious sunsets. All the staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable and the food was excellent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a one night golf break for four ladies. Starting with the hotel, it was a decent 3 star hotel. Our rooms were on the ground floor, much better if you were in a room with a balcony.
The window only went out so far, and it was a hot night, so we were roasted. size was adequate. Room very clean and comfortable. No room to sit after a meal. Restaurant was small, and very noisy, as it is in the golf club. Meal was good, breakfast was also fresh and none greasy. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and obliging. No complaints with staff or cleanliness. The golf course was excellent, especially the back nine. We thoroughly enjoyed our two games of golf, and would recommend it for low handicaps or high. Not hilly, but challenging, very well manicured. We would go back to the hotel , for a golf break, as it was perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: room with a balcony, on second floor, overlooking the golf course. All rooms quiet, as any weddings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marden17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
3.7 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
265 reviews
3.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
13.2 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The New England Hotel
12.8 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
379 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston West Hotel

Property: Boston West Hotel
Address: Hotel Boston Road, Boston PE20 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, Golf Club, Conference and Wedding Venue in Boston, Lincolnshire Set in the Lincolnshire countryside, Boston West Hotel, Golf Course and Events Venue is the perfect location for a short break, golfing holiday, wedding or conference. If you're looking for a great round of golf in Boston, Lincolnshire, then you will fall in love with Boston West. Boasting an 18-hole golf course, a 20-bay floodlit driving range and a six-hole, par-three academy course there will be plenty to keep golf enthusiasts entertained. But a fantastic golf course is not all Boston West has to offer. Boston West is a three star, AA accredited hotel in Boston, Lincolnshire - with 24 comfortable bedrooms set amongst the stunning Boston countryside and golf course. Boston West offers a wide range of facilities, including a multi-purpose venue ideal for business meetings and conferences, through to that once-in-a-lifetime wedding or celebration. As a Lincolnshire wedding venue, Boston West understands that your wedding has to be perfect. Boston West is a beautiful rural wedding location in Lincolnshire that offers wedding breakfasts and evening receptions that you, and your guests, will always remember. Amongst the hotel, golf course and stunning events venue, Boston West is also home to Lincolnshire restaurant, Westwoods Bar. In a modern brasserie style, Westwoods Bar offers fine cuisine for lunchtime and evening meals - all at prices that are fantastic value. To top it all off, Boston West is just a short drive away from England's scenic east coast, in particular the popular seaside destination of Skegness. A little closer is the idyllic British town, Boston, Lincolnshire, which offers the perfect day out with charming markets and historical buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boston West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston West Hotel Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing