We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Westwood Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwood Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Reading through the reviews for Westwood Lakes you find it hard to see any bad reviews and that is because the place is great. From the moment we arrived the staff are warm and friendly and the whole place is immaculate. The lodge we were in was amazing and much more than expected, the cleaners must work really hard as everything is spotless. A truly amazing place that really does deserve the fantastic reviews, will be visiting again very shortly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    18
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
45
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We just keep comong back here because it is so good.

The whole place is so welcoming and relaxing and nothing is too much trouble for all involved on the site. The cabins are well equipped and maintained, the grounds are a pleasure to walk , the onsite cafe handy and serving good food and the place is perfectly suited for exploring a bit further afield.

You dont have to be a Fisherman to enjoy the top class lakes and choice of differing lakes and ponds. If you are, it has to be some of the best fishing around and new lakes mean that all have more choice an oppurtunity I never fished before I came here and a few years later I was bagging 31 carp in 5 hours from Skylark. The staff are more than willing to help new starters.

There is so much to do in the area , from th hustle and bustle of Skegness, Mablethorpe and Ingelmolds, the shopping at Spalding and Boston, the history and heritage of Alford , Boston and Lincoln and lots of other small attractions. The Parrot Zoo is a must vist as is the delightful Claythorpe Mill.

We had family with us ranging from to 2 to 69 and all had a terriffc stay .

Room Tip: Get a VIP cabin with a Hot Tub , a perfect way to relax .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned from our second visit to Westwood. Accommodation and surroundings are fabulous but, if like me, you are a very keen pleasure angler, I am afraid the complex falls well short of its publicised aims. I had an expectation that after paying a premium rate I would have the convenience of availing myself of all the lakes advertised. Clearly this was not feasible given the amount of match fishing taking place on the lakes.
It is not apparent in the marketing information that at any one time several of the lakes are not accessible to the residents due to pre booked, and in some cases, reactive match bookings. If I had pre knowledge of the amount of matches taking place I would have been in a better position to make an informed choice regarding the booking. I would also not have paid the extra £25 for a weekly fishing ticket.
The whole experience made me feel as if the needs of residents were secondary to the needs of the "regular" match fishing anglers.
Having spoken to a number of cabin residents they all reflected my views regarding the accessibility to fishing particular lakes. The WiFi connection did not work within the cabin, in fact the only place it worked effectively was in the reception a minor irritation you might say but not when added to the angling frustration.
Very poor value for money with regards to the whole package I am afraid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Love this place, stayed a few times and love it!
Fishing available if you like fishing but peace and quiet is available too... Perfect for romance, lodges to a high standard and price not too bad either - has a low hot tub you climb down into rather than step up to

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladwinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

1st off the weather was terrible but that didnt stop the fishermen : )

4 adults and 2 kids stayed for a long weekend, i was a little disappointed that we couldn't check in till after 4pm but hey ho it is what it is
we really enjoyed drinking in the hot tub when the kids had gone to bed and the lodges themselves are fantastic, the site itself is lovely and the place would look great in summer.

we do not fish and it seemed to us that this place was 80% full with fishermen and the remaining 20% just there to relax and have family time/fun

id go back sure, but just be aware that if you are a couple/family/group you may find that you are a minority and the neighbors will eat fish, talk about fish, think fish and dream fish

like i said the weather was bleak and perhaps if it had been sunny id be a bit more upbeat but looking out of the window to rain and a lake full of miserable looking fisherman isnt really a fun time imo

the tv was pretty basic with no HDMI so the video games we brought for the kids to play on couldnt be used and they couldnt go out as it was raining,

that said, its a lovely place and we were welcomed by a lovely woman on the desk,

4 out of 5 maybe harsh but lets be honest, its a fishing holiday place and there isnt much for kids to do, especially if the weather isnt up to much

Room Tip: all the lodges look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adlufc1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lovely clean, well stocked, spacious log cabins
Hot tub maintained and cleaned daily
excellent fishing for the men folk, rest and relaxation for the ladies.
Cafe serving excellent food

we had 6 adults in a cabin and only a shower in the ensuite and a bath - a second shower over the bath would have been excellent
Beds were very comfortable - sofa space bit tight for 6 adults

overall a lovely week

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just returned from our 10th visit over the last 4 years. Just love it. We always stay in Skylark 16 and feels like home. The park has grown since our last stay in September with 3 more lovely lakes over a huge area adjacent to the original park. The fishing is fantastic, the staff so helpful and friendly, accommodation absolutely spotless - what more can I say? Looking forward to the next 3 visits already booked and to lots more in the future. Thank you to everyone. - especially Bev. See you soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nottingham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
4.6 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
271 reviews
1.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
2.8 mi away
Boston West Hotel
Boston West Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boston
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Tattershall Lakes Country Park
5.7 mi away
Boston Lodge
Boston Lodge
#2 of 16 in Boston
110 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
The Kings Arms Inn
#3 of 16 in Boston
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lakes

Property: Westwood Lakes
Address: Westwood Lakes 5 Five House Lane | Wyberton, Boston PE21 7JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Westwood Lakes Hotel Boston
Westwood Lakes Boston, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing