We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly home from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AA Y-Not Guest House
Ranked #5 of 16 Boston B&B and Inns
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Super friendly home from home!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our stay at the Y-NOT was organised at short notice by a friend and as I normally do my homework before choosing a guesthouse, I was a little nervous about what sort of place he might have chosen. I needn't have worried - he had picked up our keys in advance and we arrived after midnight to find a super large room, perfectly clean and tidy and with our own kitchenette and en suite shower room - a good strong hot shower as it turned out, which is always a bonus. I don't often sleep well away from home but the double bed in our room was wonderfully comfortable and warm, resulting in the best nights sleep for ages! Breakfast next morning was excellent with a choice of cereals, unlimited fresh juice and an excellently cooked full English which set us up perfectly for the day ahead. All this was great but what really makes the Y-NOT stand out is the friendliness of the lovely hosts Margaret and Pete who chatted to us as though we were old friends and even ended up helping us find a good local tradesman for an ongoing project - a genuinely nice decent couple. We visit Boston a couple of times a year and good, well located accommodation can be hard to find but now I've discovered the Y-NOT I probably wouldn't want to consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandDiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
6
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Margaret treats her guests as family friends and goes out of her way to make new guests welcome. I stayed at Y NOT for over two months whilst working in town and have been very well looked after throughout that time. A comfortable room with access to kitchen facilities meant that I could look after my own cooking during the evening. The house is in a quiet location just out of the town centre but close enough for access to shops etc. An ideal place to stay with those little touches that make a stay pleasant such as drink facilities/TV in the room.

Room Tip: Quiet at the fron of the house..... V quiet at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed at the Y-NOT guesthouse for one night during a cycling trip. It was an ideal location, just off the Sustrans route and there was secure accommodation in the garage for the bike! Mrs McGarry was friendly and welcoming. There was more on offer than at a standard bed and breakfast, with bread, milk, fruit juice, etc available in the evening and kitchen facilities to cook my own food. The breakfast was good too - all at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My husband and I wished to visit family members in Boston and had been recommended by a family member to stay at the Y-Not Guest House. I contacted Margaret at short notice and she was only to happy to accomodate us. Our room was clean and well presneted with many additional extras such as shower gels and shampoo (which I have had to pay extra for at other hotels). My husband and I both enjoyed a lovely home cooked english breakfast with views of numerous wild birds feeding in the guest house garden.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siteseer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have been staying at the y-not guest house for one year whilst on a contract at the hospital.I have found the proprietor margaret extreamly freindly & helpfull. The guest house is very clean & comfortable with free veiw telly & drinks facilitys in the room. The dineing room has comfortable chairs & tv which you can use at all times. There is a fully equiped kitchen which you can use so you can do your own meals which is great. I have already told workmates about the guest house & they have also enjoyed their stay & returned for further visits.I fully reccomend this guest house to anyone staying in or around boston. In finishing i'd like to thank margaret & staff for their warm welcome & for makeing me extreamly comfortable over the last 12months
Rob woodhall - Kidderminster

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The location of the b&b is perfect for the town centre with Asda just round the corner if you are ineed of a midnight snack!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewalkerofthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed at the Y Not Guest House for over a year due to relocating for work and have to say I thoroughly enjoyed my stay as Margaret and Pete were very welcoming. I can honestly say I couldn't fault their hospitality and they really made my stay very pleasant. The guest house is very central and a short walk from both the train station and the centre of town. The rooms are very clean and all have tea/coffee making facilities. I stayed in a room with an adjoining jacuzzi bath and what I appreciated the most was being able to use the kitchen to cook my meals. The rooms are very reasonably priced and I would definately recommend the guest house to anybody wishing to visit Boston.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jemini_Lakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
0.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
2.9 mi away
Boston West Hotel
Boston West Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boston
338 reviews
5.9 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
1.0 mi away
The New England Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
The Kings Arms Inn
#3 of 16 in Boston
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AA Y-Not Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AA Y-Not Guest House

Property: AA Y-Not Guest House
Address: 10-12 Langrick Road, Boston PE21 8HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AA Y-Not Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are close to Boston Town Centre, railway and coach stations. We offer guests the use of a kitchen and drying facilities. We have an alarmed garage for cycles & motorcycles. We offer home from home B&B with self-catering options if preferred.We have a well stocked complimentary fridge for all guests also trays in all rooms, televisions ,towels are provided in all rooms. Our family room is on the ground floor with its own entrance and upstairs we have 2 basic singles and 2 Twin/Kingsize rooms ensuite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AA Y-Not Guest House Boston, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing