We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Hotel in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New England Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A last minute booking so wasn't sure what to expect. Very pleasantly surprised. The member of staff who took my booking was very courteous and helpful. When I arrived there was plenty of available parking. Staff on duty were excellent, very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and quite large. Ate in the restaurant and the food was superb, they have a new menu with plenty of choice. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Very friendly Staff. Made Welcome and very clean.

DEFFINATELY would recommend this Hotel.

I was going to stay in another Hotel but called in as I was passing through. It looks well presented from outside and clean.

Thanks to staff and management.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalesrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the New England Hotel 16 April and was upgraded to to an Executive Double Room was fabulous. The Hotel is nicely centrally located in Boston, friendly staff and the accommodations were clean with easy parking on site.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura191982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was the most horrible hotel I have ever stayed in. How does it even exist in this day and age. We checked into our room and had to leave as someone was a sleep in the bed. I put in chair in front of my door for the couple of hours I managed to sleep as it was so loud.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Having traveled to Boston by boat we decided to look for somewhere new to eat so found the restaurant in The New England Hotel. The food was very good, sensibly priced, the staff were efficient and helpful. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank davidzmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

With chains like Premier Inn, Travel Lodge and Holiday Inn Express, I'm surprised places like this exist!

My one point goes for the fact they served a decent pint of Guinness and the WiFi worked.

Otherwise I was transported back to the worst that 1970's England had to offer in terms of accommodation. Arguably then we didn't know any better. Today is a different ball game.

Upon check-in there was a little confusion over the availability of one of our rooms as there was no key available. The receptionist escorted us upstairs to let us in and then find the key. Not surprisingly the reason there was no key at reception was because someone was already in bed as he went in to check!

The room offering is simply not good enough. The bed was old and cheap, the bed clothing mix and match and the duvet I'm sure had been introduced to a can of Febreze so it smelled clean, otherwise I found enough long hairs on it to make a wig!!

Cold air swept in from the old windows, the shower had two temperatures, freezing cold and super chilled and I couldn't get heating for love nor money.

The fact that we didn't check-in until after 10.00pm and left at 5.45am was a bonus.

I won't be going back!!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NormanFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Although the downstairs of this hotel was nice once in the bedroom it was a different matter. The shock of seeing a room in such a condition with shabby furniture dull walls with wallpaper bubbling on the walls and so dark in the room. No hot water to shower and most off all no heating in the room, Services and breakfast was good . Do not consider it value for money would suggest that the rooms need refurbishing and to bring it up to a modern standard instead of the 1950/1960s would not reccommend this at this stage.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
6.7 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#3 of 6 in Boston
301 reviews
3.8 mi away
Boston West Hotel
Boston West Hotel
#4 of 6 in Boston
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Boston Hotel
6.6 mi away
Bricklayers Arms
Bricklayers Arms
#8 of 17 in Boston
26 reviews
7 mi away
Boston Lodge
Boston Lodge
#5 of 17 in Boston
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New England Hotel

Address: 49 Wide Bargate, Boston PE21 6SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: £68 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New England Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New England Hotel
The New England Hotel Boston, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing